Hi guys,

I have a proposal for the NSW members out there. I was just about to donate $50 to SAU/Prank in appreciation for all the help/time saved/money saved by SAU and SAUers.

Then I thought, how about a Sydney tool library. No nothing like you'd find in Fyshwick, I mean automotive tools that you can borrow for the week/weekend/etc.

We could charge a small fee (few gold coins?) when you borrow something and put it towards expanding the library and some back to the NSW club. Sign out, sign in, you break it, you bought it. ;) Tools purchased would remain property of the club and could be taken out to club events for club use.

The tools I thought would be handy to borrow would be those rarer, one-off ones like a 400ftlb torque wrench or a steering wheel puller or a timing light (and so on). We could create the library based on a call for donations and perhaps a little financial love from the club.

I would be more than happy to throw in $50 of appreciation money plus I have a spare metric socket set (10-19mm) plus misc tools that were going on eBay but could easily go to a NSW tool library. I'm in Blaxland and would be happy to be the custodian/'librarian' ;) but I imagine somewhere more central like Castle Hill or Homebush might be preferable.

For NSW members that are outside the Sydney area, perhaps pay for postage each way and the tools could be mailed out?

On the unpleasant note of potential theft, NSW execs already have names and addresses plus you'd sign for the tool(s).

Anyways, I'd love to hear some feedback on the idea, positive or negative, and would be happy to do the legwork because I really appreciate what this collection of Skyline brains has done for me. Basically, if it weren't for SAU, I couldn't afford to maintain my GTR and I'd like to give something back.

Mark

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/103957-sau-nsw-syd-tool-library/

• Replies 43

sounds a bit hard to get off the ground and blaxland doesnt seem to be central..

my suggestion would be a thread where people can state what tools they need for a weekend or what they are willing to lend out..

PM the person with the tool and go pick it up themselve from the location, and if the tool is worth alot of $$ leave some $$ with the owner and when they return the tool to get their $$ back..

sounds a bit hard to get off the ground and blaxland doesnt seem to be central..

Don't worry about the difficulty, I'm happy to organise it myself. And I agree that Blaxland isn't central, which is why it'd be great for someone closer to Homebush way to volunteer to host the tool shed.

my suggestion would be a thread where people can state what tools they need for a weekend or what they are willing to lend out..

I was more keen for a club-based scheme as then the member who borrows the tools are responsible to the club and not to another member. More accountability that way and if it's a club tool library most of the hire/loan $$ will go into purchasing more tools.

This way there is another incentive for SAU NSW membership. More members means more events/improved relationships with retailers/potentially higher subsidies on events too. You want to borrow a trolley jack plus stands? Then you'll need to join! ;)

PM the person with the tool and go pick it up themselve from the location, and if the tool is worth alot of $$ leave some $$ with the owner and when they return the tool to get their $$ back..

I like the idea but I personally would prefer to only loan my own tools to someone I know, whereas if it was a tool library, I'd be more than happy for a phonecall to sort a time for signage and pickup. Only because it then avoids problems later such as "why is my rattle gun now broken?" "it worked when I returned it" but if it's a club tool, then the club can take the hit and purchase a replacement.

To the guys who may be keen would you be happy to contribute $20? Funds could be sent to the SAU NSW account and then the club have a member purchase some tools at trade?

Would anyone have any sparies to donate?

Blaxland guysRB 20 ED rings a bell... might have seen you on the M4 dude but can't pick when. I have a grey R32 with 18"s and boring slimline plates, pics are in my gallery.

Vijay we should organise a mini-cruise up to Winmalee and down Hawkesbury Rd :) Maybe then take the Driftway, lunch at twin servos then M4 to Blaxland...? Grab some of the Western Sydney guys too, like benm and anyone keen. I love Hawkesbury Rd.

Edited by cowie165
Hey mate that sounds like an awesome idea :ban:

just on a side note, i too am from blaxland, perhaps u have seen me around...32 gts4 plates RB 20 ED?

And g'day Chris! I'll keep an eye out and a hand on the horn button :) I'm down behind Blaxland shops (the IGA/True Value/etc.).

Hey Blaxland is as central as it gets for us Western Sydney people (no ryde is not west, neither is Bankstown and nor is Parramatta).

PS. RB20ED I followed you down the GWH end of last week in my work van, very clean car.

wicked, ive finally been spotted, yay lol

yeh shes not a bad 32, from afar, get up close and u can see some age showing, but all good

hey mark, im on the other side, old bathurst rd side, near east blaxland shops, theres a black 32 just round the corner from me somewhere, ive also seen a canary yellow 34 getting round up here too...

id be up for a cruise, but im a chef, so...i cant really do weekends

i saw the title and thought you wanted to draw up a list of wankers on sau... lol

:ban:

Bad Richard! Bad Richard! Why am I not surprised? :) Stop playing with your lightsabre, you'll have to go to the Wasteland for that

Mark - cruise sounds good. You have any dates in mind?

Still reckon we should head down to Panthers one day for some KK and Aquagolf too...

No dates, haven't thought that far ahead. My preference would be early Saturday morning to increase our chances of no traffic down Hawkesbury Rd. We could head down to Castlereagh (sp?) Rd. then Penrith for KK late breakfast and home. Nothing serious or time consuming, I'm just keen to meet a few locals as I've only recently moved.

Never tried Aquagolf, I hope it's less *relaxing* (read: stressful) than regular golf :ban:

Aqua Golf is fun, the only target I aim for is the grass at the back whilst trying to clear the water with a Pitching Wedge :ban:

Edit: If im out its generally thu/fri/sat nite in the Panthers region..

Edited by benm
Aqua Golf is fun, the only target I aim for is the grass at the back whilst trying to clear the water with a Pitching Wedge :)

Edit: If im out its generally thu/fri/sat nite in the Panthers region..

Isn't that where everyone hits for? Unless the boat is out on the lake then it's open season on that boat :ban: ..

That poor boat - they really should leave it away...its just too hard to resist

Same as the golf cart at maq uni golf range - my mates and i go there late at night (due to work ) and usually hes just starting to clean up. Prime example of another person that should wait before going infront of people with golf clubs/balls

Well this thread is going nowhere fast.

I like the way you are thinking Cowie.

I live in Ryde which is way west if you ask me. :rofl:

I'm not yet convinced it would work but perhaps we should draw up a list of appropriate tools and then consider their pros and cons in relation to them being in a library.

For instance; I can't see why everybody wouldn't have their own jack and stands as they are so cheap these days. Same with a socket set although if you are donating that changes things. An engine hoist might be alright although I know of a member who bought one recently and is hoping to rent it out for not too much to other members. Maybe a decent air compressor and bits would be good but again the "it's broken" "it was fine when I gave it back" issue might raise it's head.

The club doesn't really have money to invest in this at the moment so the whole scheme would have to be cost neutral. Could we really afford to risk having to replace a $500 broken spray gun or something?

How much to hire out Duncan or Merli for the day? They are tools after all :rofl:

I'd be happy to put some coin in and drive a little out of my way to hire the an air tool or tig welder if I ever need it while I'm at my parent's place.