just took the car down to lorne on the w/e and along the G.O.R, it was amazing!

the car handled like a dream! it was so much fun.

fuel was good too, from altona to lorne, and to lorne and Apollo bay back to lorne, it didnt even use half a tank, i was impressed.

in between lorne and apollo bay, the road gets a bit sketchy, with pot holes n shit, but they are re surfacing, which caused a bit of delay. on the way back home, it was even more fun, i decided to give it a bit, and the tail only wanted to give way once :) but i am really impressed on how good the suspension is set up!!

didnt realise how good the GOR is until i drove it and i love it!

have to go back again!! :(

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/

good to hear mate, it is a very nice stretch of road to drive.

if you're keen to cruise it in the next few weeks with another 50+ skylines, become a SAU Vic member :)

best event of the year and its members only, so join up -

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...showtopic=60590

Edited by thommo
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1964083

the general level of driver down the GOR truly maddens me... do people realise it used to be 100kmh and the roads were much worse!...

not to mention people have no idea of the capailities of their cars... they rush out and by V6 this and independant that but ride the brakes through every coner... cut corners... fail to accelerate up hills making you slow down and have to drop back several gears... and can't safely pass to save their lives!

and if you are just cruising well under the limit and enjoying the scenery, if you see me in your mirrors (oh wait they would actually have to use them first...pffft) or hear me just move over! I will continue on my merry way and you can keep on doing whatever the fu(k you were doing in the first place!

sorry for the rant... lovely bit of road tho... stayed about ten minutes out of Apollo Bay last year, was really great... sure makes driving to the shops a pleasure!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1966051

I'm a big fan of GOR, and indeed most coast roads. The run from Cairns up to the Daintree is also a nice piece of windy road.

I should be down in Melbourne around F1 weekend - I'll find time to take the GOR again.

But yeah, the amount of idiots who can't operate a motor vehicle (whether it be a car or bike) on that road astounds me. Whether its tourists who want to look at every last rock and leaf, and ignore the turn-out lanes, or amateur targa racers that can't stay in 1 lane......I wonder how these people have stayed alive for so long.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1967236

and the motor bikers!

nothing against them coz most of them DO ride pretty well, but i was coming around a big corner and all of a sudden theres this bright orange (ducatti i think) in my lane heading straight for me...fair enough u wanna overtake but not around the corner!

and this old lady tourist in a rental car would fly around the corners at warp speed and then jump on the brake on the straights....bloody lunatic

and they say P-Platers are shit drivers! pffft!!! :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1967367

Nothing against motor bike riders but some have it coming from the way they drive around there! One of my mates one a bike got clipped by a car in the otways, nearly went down an embankment, people just dont care or are to stupid to know!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1969563

gor is the best. also the inland road to apollo bay is insane as well, via moriac i think its called. heaps of dead straight roads where u can just fly! as well as twisty sections going thru rainforest which is excellent as well.

really fun especially when u happen to meet fellow hoons, commodore ss's and other cars where u end up with like 2-3 cars just hammering it in convoy fighting for first position B)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1969616

soon2b33, 'really fun especially when u happen to meet fellow hoons, commodore ss's and other cars where u end up with like 2-3 cars just hammering it in convoy fighting for first position'

I love doing that, heaps of fun!! I did it in a Commo cruise once and another time a mate went on a commo cruise and I met up with them in the line and had heaps fun!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1969814

I've passed people around corners on GOR before. You just have to know when and how.

On the tight coast roads between Anglesea and Apollo Bay, I've used a spotter to check the road ahead. If no-one's come around the corner when you turn on the straight you can initiate a passing move from half way down one of those straights and go into those blind corners.

As long as no-one comes around the next headland you're fine.

Its hard to explain exactly...but lets try drawing some ASCII art. If the road flows like this:

_____...................._________

.........\.................../....d............\

...........\_c______/.....................\____b_____a

Lets say the corner exit is at (a). If you don't see a car come around your nearest bend by the time you hit (B), or have a car appear at ©, you know that "blind" set of corners in the middle of the diagram are free and you can make an overtaking move.

You have a passenger keep an eye on © as you start and concentrate on the road, to make sure that there are no oncomings.

If you can't pass your typical GOR "mobile road block" by the time you're at (d), then the other car is going fast enough for you to not need to pass.

The roads west of Apollo Bay suit our cars a lot more though. Since it no longer follows the coast, the corners open up and it suits our longer wheelbase cars. I had some great times flying through the rainforest towards the Twelve Apostles.

EDIT: Dots inserted in the diagram so it formats properly.

Edited by scathing
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1970219

"The roads west of Apollo Bay suit our cars a lot more though. Since it no longer follows the coast, the corners open up and it suits our longer wheelbase cars. I had some great times flying through the rainforest towards the Twelve Apostles. "

Agree totally! On the really tight twisties even the line feels sketchy!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1970260

gor is the best. also the inland road to apollo bay is insane as well, via moriac i think its called. heaps of dead straight roads where u can just fly! as well as twisty sections going thru rainforest which is excellent as well.

Yeah the back way up through Skenes Creek, Forrest, Birragurra etc etc ;)

I forget the name of the road itself.

SAU-Vic usually cruises home that way.

Its awesome way home, saves a good 30mins too usually without speeding.

Also agree about after Apollo Bay :)

Thats why SAU-Vic now does a split cruise, the 2nd day is filled with some of the best roads in Aust i reckon.

Coming up back through Colac from Pt Campbell is pure gold

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1970279

"Coming up back through Colac from Pt Campbell is pure gold"

For sure!

I love this thread, I feel at home in it as you are all talking about roads I know, and Im prob thinking of roads you guys dont. Like you guys know where you are all going in Melb easy as, second nature for you.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1970306

I'm down on the F1 week and staying for the weekend after. We might have to get a cruise on!

If people are up for a cruise, let me know. I'm also trying to hook up with some of the guys from JDM Style Tuning and 350Z-Tech for some driving.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/106502-gor/#findComment-1970350