Yeah but what can we do about it? Once the other side get in, they'll be just as bad, if not worse, in this aspect possibly not the others (eg hospitals et al).

They give us stupid forums like this:

http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/youngdrivers

How to have your say

* Complete the feedback form in the young driver's discussion paper (PDF 950kb*) and post or fax the completed form to:

Queensland Youth - on the road and in control

Reply Paid

PO Box 673

Fortitude Valley Queensland 4006

Fax: 61 7 3253 4422

* Complete the online electronic feedback form which returns your feedback via email.

* Attend your local Community Forum to discuss the possile changes with independent road safety experts. Forum locations are listed below.

An image of the front cover of the young driver's discussion paper

Provisional drivers have the highest

crash risk of all drivers

Young Driver Forum Location

Toowoomba

Wednesday 1 February, 6:30pm

Doyle Room

Cathedral Centre

123 Neil Street, Toowoomba

Gold Coast

Wednesday 8 February, 6:30pm

Tatiara Tallawalah Room Holiday Inn

22 View Ave,

Surfers Paradise

Mackay

Thursday 23 February, 11:45am (noon start) - 2:00pm

Lynette Denny Space

Entertainment Centre

Alfred Street, Mackay

Townsville

Thursday 23 February, 6:15pm (6:30 start) - 8:30pm

Barbara Bricker Room

Level 1, PCYC Aitkenvale

Wellington Street, Aitkenvale

Cairns

Friday 24 February, 11:45am (noon start) - 2:00pm

Brothers Leagues Club Auditorium

Cnr Anderson and English St

Manunda, Cairns

Brisbane

Monday 27 February, 6:15pm (6:30 start) - 8:30pm

Murrayfield Room

Queensland Rugby Club

Ballymore Rugby Stadium

Clyde Road, Herston

Caboolture

Wednesday 1 March, 6:15pm (6:30 start) - 8:30pm

Caboolture & Districts Services Memorial Club Inc (RSL)

Cnr Beerburrum Rd & Hasking St

Caboolture

Rockhampton

Thursday 2 March, 6:15pm (6:30 start) - 8:30pm

Gardner Lounge

1st Floor, Rockhampton Leagues Club

Cambridge St, Rockhampton

Sunshine Coast

Monday 6 March, 6:15pm (6:30 start) - 8:30pm

Innovation Centre

University of Sunshine Coast

Sippy Downs Drive

Sippy Downs

Logan

Wednesday 8 March, 6:15pm (6:30 start) - 8:30pm

Logan City Recreational & Sporting Club

4 Alba Lane

Kingston

But even if we did go, all they would do is push the fact that they reckon more speed camera's and bigger fines will fix everything, meanwhile in the real world it doesnt and the road toll rises!

If people cant read and write properly, they are offered education to help them, why should driving be any different?!?!?

good point my good man!

Also, I say bring on the fixed cameras.....do you honestly know how hard it is to beat a bike cop with a bat when he's moving around....it'll be so much easier when the camera is fixed to the ground.

.....THWACK!....ding...ding.....ding

Just like doing mailboxes again.

After further reflection I am still quite angry...

The minimalistic approach to "cost" items like improved roads and education is sickening at the very least.

Seems the focus on the Beattie government is "revenue" items will cause people to better handle unexpected situations and conditions on our roads.

I too am counting the days until the next election, Mr Beattie your days are numbered you incompetant fwit, the main things that you proclaimed being able to fix, transport and hospitals, and all you have done is f it up more.

On a side note your son definitely follows in his father footsteps...

and yet another emergencey department in the hospital is about to close down

but i ask mr beetie hmmmm lets see put all fund and all stops on the hoon bullshit or pay doctors the right money or allocate more money to keep hospitals open that go on a witch hunt with speedstars

but funding more money to hospitals is in the too hard basket for the beetie government we go for option 2 as our pockets are lined more if we make speeding fines go up :P

Edited by boot_it
Also, I say bring on the fixed cameras.....do you honestly know how hard it is to beat a bike cop with a bat when he's moving around....it'll be so much easier when the camera is fixed to the ground.

if they are anyting like the ones in nsw, u will have a hard time removing them from there posts. they are pretty big boxes. B)

the q's is there is never enough funds to go arounmd all areas, so if u take from one area (I.E health) it will suffer obviously. no matter what government is in, there will always be sumthing they cant fix. so when the next government gets in (if they do) they might fix health and roads, but the education system will suffer etc. its a never ending problem.....

Yeah i heard this and just about cried wolf. This is utter bullshit, it is just a way they can make money to fund whatever they like, if you want people to stop speeding :dangerously" then open up more places where we can speed....nondangerously....speed cameras wont stop people speeding, it may stop them speeding in those spots, but it wont stop em speeding.

Grow a brain you cocks in the government, and listen to the people who do this as they know what they will do.

Dude, that is suck a caveman style of breaking something. You need to think outside of the square a bit more. Remote explosives are the way of the future!

Personally I reckon if we all sit back, work out what to say at these forum things. Have ONE person go to each (thats local anyway) one with others to form a group. Go in dressed up nice. And that one person make sure they are seen and heard. I think we will have a better chance of getting something done (or not done as the case might be with fixed cameras). By going to each one you drum it in we are somewhat serious, more people hear the same thing from the same person, AND if media is there :domokun:

Oh Oh Oh! Pick ME! Pick ME! I certainly know how to cause a scene :)

Was seriously thinking of going to the logan one and quoting bob's great point about costing more to bury then educate people.

I wonder if there will be any media there at all.......?

We should try to organise a radio debate or something. Get that fat f**k Beattie on Nova and get our best arguing SAUer...(SKA)...Sick em rex!

Cyrus would sort em out.

Oh, and Dave...nice thoughts on the remote explosives mate...I'm trying to get some good deals on some as we speak.

Oh Oh Oh! Pick ME! Pick ME! I certainly know how to cause a scene :)

Was seriously thinking of going to the logan one and quoting bob's great point about costing more to bury then educate people.

I wonder if there will be any media there at all.......?

Ford did some sums with that back when the Pinto was out. Ford worked out it would be cheaper to pay out 'x' number of death claims from their cars being fuel tank exploding time bombs than to fix the problem. Eventually someone found all this paper work when sueing them for the burns their son got. They then had a rather massive pay out, and had to remove the car from the market. I believe this to be the same!

POWER TO THE PEOPLE!!! AND UP THE MIGHTY DATTO!!!

We should try to organise a radio debate or something. Get that fat f**k Beattie on Nova and get our best arguing SAUer...(SKA)...Sick em rex!

Cyrus would sort em out.

Oh, and Dave...nice thoughts on the remote explosives mate...I'm trying to get some good deals on some as we speak.

Me best arguing, HELL NO! I reckon someone like Squizz or Charly would be best suited for this role. Someone who has a higher IQ than mine, which is about 50 :)

C4 is where it's at! Or just just ask chuck, I'm sure he would houndhouse kick them all if he ever got a camera ticket!

Me best arguing, HELL NO! I reckon someone like Squizz or Charly would be best suited for this role. Someone who has a higher IQ than mine, which is about 50 :)

C4 is where it's at! Or just just ask chuck, I'm sure he would houndhouse kick them all if he ever got a camera ticket!

Monday night eh? It's near my house, might be worth the drive and check out what's said.

Anyone else going?

Really pissed tonight!

I was cruising it along moreton bay road coming home tonight and this cop was fully staring me down as he crossed the intersection in front of me at mt cotton rd. I just ignored him as he fogged up his drivers window. I thought nothing of it and as I drove up mt cotton road his car was approx 2-300 metres in front of me. I drove at 50 just to be sure. Then I turn into the street near my house and before I could get to the bottom of the hill (about 100m) this cop was coming along the street I was about to turn into. He had come the back way and was doing around 90-100km/h. He was going that fast that his ABS nearly didn't pull him up in time for the corner that I was turning at.

Was there any need for him to be going this speed in a local street where the speed limit is 50 but most of us drive around at 30?

Fixed cameras suck, when I lived in NZ they put one on my way to work on a main road and even though I knew it was there I still got done by it twice , kicked my self, some guy pulled it down with a tow truck but they got him as he was the last one on it.

So anyone going to the Logan one. I'll think I'll go just to see what all the hub-bub is about, doubt they'd listen to anyone's suggestions though. They probably already have tabulated up all these new crappy laws, just going through the motions of public consultation to make them look like they care, bunch of money grubby bastards.

Dude, that is suck a caveman style of breaking something. You need to think outside of the square a bit more. Remote explosives are the way of the future!

Check out this site: www.speedcam.co.uk

Have a look through all the pics of destroyed fixed speed cameras :)

Really pissed tonight!

I was cruising it along moreton bay road coming home tonight and this cop was fully staring me down as he crossed the intersection in front of me at mt cotton rd. I just ignored him as he fogged up his drivers window. I thought nothing of it and as I drove up mt cotton road his car was approx 2-300 metres in front of me. I drove at 50 just to be sure. Then I turn into the street near my house and before I could get to the bottom of the hill (about 100m) this cop was coming along the street I was about to turn into. He had come the back way and was doing around 90-100km/h. He was going that fast that his ABS nearly didn't pull him up in time for the corner that I was turning at.

Was there any need for him to be going this speed in a local street where the speed limit is 50 but most of us drive around at 30?

Report it Dan, that way they might actually get a clue.

Also include comments such as I feared for my safety, and that of other road users and potential pedestrials that may have been out waking in a suburban area...