• Replies 140

That makes a lot of sense. I mean you're going to have to drop a lot of coin on assembly with the OSG, plus headwork and ancilliaries. Its certainly not a drop in solution like the Tomei.

I'd start saving for a dog box :D Nobody seems to have a particularly high opinion of the getrag box and its one expensive muthertrucker to fix.

Tommy, you could always do the 'wrong' thing and drop a BCNR33 box in it. Strong enough for 700PS with an aftermarket gearset and alot of the Japs do it.

Can we fit two of them in your container?? :)

Tommy, you could always do the 'wrong' thing and drop a BCNR33 box in it. Strong enough for 700PS with an aftermarket gearset and alot of the Japs do it.

Can we fit two of them in your container?? :laugh:

Mik, If tom waits for me we will put it in the back seat of my car, providing it doesnt leak oil and all sorts of yucky stuff over a nice GTR interior :huh:

Guest Mashrock
I dont want to think about the 34 gearbox. if it breaks it breaks. Will do my best not to. Im not planning on having more than 650-700hp, and i think thats achievable on this motor with decent response

Has anyone actually broken a 34 gearbox before? or herd of one breaking?

arnt they also the same getrag that is in the later model twin turbo supra's??

i've gone the way of putting a 34gtr box behind my 580ps (claimed) i have been told by many people it will be sweet and i will not get a problem. i will also be running a transmission cooler and i do have a nismo uprated goodies in the box also

i hope that its going to hold together caus its cost me alot of money haha.

but from what i have seen the "japs" only put in an uprated box in their 34's if they want to shave seconds off their laps etc etc.

Andrew......

sorry to hijack

But whats a PPG dog box worth for a r34 R and how much can you sell the stock 6 speed for?

Dan

from about 4000-6000 i think.. depending.. but i dont think they really sell that often.

you know you want the tomei motor. your mind is made up i reckon. buy it and get a set of GT-RS or even 2530s to go on the side. it will kick ass, i have no doubt. If your worried about the box flog it to a poor 32 GTR owner like me and grab a 33 box, insert OSG gear set and away you go. happy motoring. :P

if you want to have a look at the tomei rebuild process i've got the book at home with pictures of all the steps. your welcome to borrow it mate, just pm me and you can come past and grab it. it also has some info on the different tomei motors.

Guest Mashrock
so you saying the r33 gtr box is tuffer than the r34 gtr box???

the later model 33 box you can pick up brand new from justjap for around 3000 are good. but they are brand new, that could be why they are said to be better. i am unsure about wether the internals are actually stronger than normal.

Yeah, Troy (ylwgtr2) buggered his as did Snowman.

Beat me to it Lucien

Has anyone actually broken a 34 gearbox before? or herd of one breaking?

arnt they also the same getrag that is in the later model twin turbo supra's??

i've gone the way of putting a 34gtr box behind my 580ps (claimed) i have been told by many people it will be sweet and i will not get a problem. i will also be running a transmission cooler and i do have a nismo uprated goodies in the box also

i hope that its going to hold together caus its cost me alot of money haha.

but from what i have seen the "japs" only put in an uprated box in their 34's if they want to shave seconds off their laps etc etc.

Andrew......

from about 4000-6000 i think.. depending.. but i dont think they really sell that often.

OT: What are the engine specs on your car Mashrock? 580ps seems respectable

Hey - someone put me onto this so I'll quickly answer.

The R34 boxes (getrag) are damn tuff as far as holding power goes. The main gears themselves are nice and strong.

What they suck at is the size of the locator teeth (don't know the real term) that you find between the gears and the shift drums.

If you are really unknind to the Getrags on the downshifts if you are doing track work then those tiny teeth break quite easily. Then you will not be able to get into that gear above 3,00rpm (its like killing a suynchro) I busted them twice in 6 months before learning to be nicer. Now that I know how to treat it propperly I haven't had an issue.

For reference both mine and troys cars are probably around 650HP. But I busted the gearboxes back when my car was about 450HP.

Also - as far as the boxes being the same as the Supra - yes the gears are the same but I think the input shafts are a different size. (I fixed my gearbox with Supra parts as Nissan don't sell them)

What they suck at is the size of the locator teeth (don't know the real term) that you find between the gears and the shift drums.

Troy refers to them as the dogs. Some interesting bits and pieces for this thread :

The R34 gtr uses a V160/161 getrag transmission.....as does the JZA80 supra(and i assume that this tranny is used by a number of other vehicles) ....therfore the internals are IDENTICAL....there are two types of synchro's some have 6 tooth and some have 7 tooth....you dont know what you got until you pull it apart.....the gears are about 500 each and the synchro ring vary from 70-120 each....the shift drums are 280 each
Nissan DO NOT sell parts for this gearbox........
heres a pic of the new gear.......the arrow point to the teeth that snowie likes to destroy.....these are the dogs....the shift drum locates on these and locks the gear to the shaft when selected(the synchros job is to "synchronise"these 2 componants by acting as a brakepad for the gear(it rides in between these two parts)....these little teeth transfer all the power!Its quite unbeleivable
on another note.....its not a power rating issue with this particular gearbox....its the fact of getting it into gear in the correct manor thats the problem

In another thread Troy mentioned there is a dude in Japan who does a double synchro kit....

Anyway, sorry TommyK, I've dragged things off topic ;) Lets get back to drooling over that Tomei engine. :P

Mate if this goes ahead you will have a unique skyline in the thousands of other skylines in australia.

Not to mention ive dreamt of doing this many times, twin gt-rs on either hks 2.8 stage 3 or complete tomei engine, running around 25psi-2bar with a 8000-9000rpm redline and all the other fruit.

Tomei is easily one of the very best RB26 builders in the world, after seeing the build process they use, although similar to other builders, they do all the the little bits that make an engine really last and perform. Everything from the ground up is done properly and with the right parts AND tools.

god it would be worth every single dollar when the beast roars into action at the track for the first time, or beating a busa on the freeway for the first time hehe

Not to mention you have a MASSIVE scope for change when the engine is well and truely capable from the start. You could change the gt-rs later for a t51 spl 1000hp and so on :P

btw i forgot the book, been meaning to do a post up for it cos there is some really good info in there, cost me $50 and its all in jap!

Worth it though if you want to know rb26's :O

Guest Mashrock
Beat me to it Lucien

OT: What are the engine specs on your car Mashrock? 580ps seems respectable

lots of unknown but in the rb28 dyno thread i have listed what i know about.

i need to get some split dumps, and i should be sorted.

will even do a test to see how much better they are.

comming soon!