Hi Guys

My front tyres are scrubbing out a lot on the insides and I need a wheel alignment.

Anyone had this done recently or recommend a place to do it. How much to expect to pay?

Also will I need a 4 wheel alignment done? are the backs adjustable? Never done one on a skyline.

I'm in doncaster east so anywhere on the east side is close.

thanks,

Russell

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/108058-wheel-alignments/

any tyre place should be able to do it mate....

especially the more common ones like tyrepower etc

dude, Never take your car to a tyre shop to get a wheel alignment!

Take it to a proper suspension/wheels alignment shop - eg. Centreline Suspension in Thomastown. etc.

My mate works at a certain tyre shop and he openly admits that they don't exactly try their best to do a perfect job. They go by the idea that "as long as the steeringwheels straight its good enough"

Hi Russell.

I have always taken my Car to Euen At Pedders Ferntree Gully. They continue to set the car up excectly as I want.

We have discussed differnet setting on my car, and we'll trial them. He is willing to take the time if you know what you are talking about.

If you have any adjustabiltity in your setup, discuss with him how you want the car to handle, and what you do with it. Ie, road, track, drag, etc.

Can't recommend him enough.

Computalign in Nunawading, right next to bunnings.

Do it once, do it right....Donnellans did my first alignment... was pathetic!

how much do they charge for a 4 wheel alignment? I go past there a lot and haven't noticed them.

Hi Russell.

I have always taken my Car to Euen At Pedders Ferntree Gully. They continue to set the car up excectly as I want.

We have discussed differnet setting on my car, and we'll trial them. He is willing to take the time if you know what you are talking about.

If you have any adjustabiltity in your setup, discuss with him how you want the car to handle, and what you do with it. Ie, road, track, drag, etc.

Can't recommend him enough.

Is Euen a mate of yours? Can I say that I was refered to him by you?

Thanks heaps for the advice. I have Cusco adjustable suspension and I would like to learn more about the adjustability I have with them.

I did the motorkhana at deca last weekend and I'd like to be able to set it up for that a bit better.

Thanks for the help.

Russell

i just got my gts-4 some new shift 18's last weekend got a good deal 1700 and 20 for the wheel alignment i said to the dude i that i didnt think they could do it they did for 20 bucks and now its worse than it was real bad at 100 do not get wheel aligment at the tyre factory(dandy) i live at inverloch south gippy so now i have to make another trip to melb

that's dissapointing! :D Maybe take some advice from the other post on this topic. Take it somewhere that has a good reputation like the places above. >_<

Thanks heaps for the advice. I have Cusco adjustable suspension and I would like to learn more about the adjustability I have with them.

I did the motorkhana at deca last weekend and I'd like to be able to set it up for that a bit better.

Thanks for the help.

Russell

If you have all the good gear in there, then id say its worth payign that littl ebit extra to get it all sorted properly. Questiuon is what is properly, street sdriving, track , or a a balance in between????

My 2c, whilst plenty of places are capable, places like Centreline if you are north way or TechSport in Bayswater are great places to go. Both do majority of their work on club cars, Targ cars, adn sporty street cars. Id suggest talking to both and seeing who you prefer. My 2c though is the drive to Techsport is worth it.

If you have all the good gear in there, then id say its worth payign that littl ebit extra to get it all sorted properly. Questiuon is what is properly, street sdriving, track , or a a balance in between????

My 2c, whilst plenty of places are capable, places like Centreline if you are north way or TechSport in Bayswater are great places to go. Both do majority of their work on club cars, Targ cars, adn sporty street cars. Id suggest talking to both and seeing who you prefer. My 2c though is the drive to Techsport is worth it.

I'd have to go something in between. I don't want to be up for tyres all the time coz of lots of camber. At the moment only 1 tyre is scrubbing out so I doubt it's just 'toe out' or camber. I think it's just wrong.

Thanks for the advice.

If you were near the city I would recomend Ralph at TRU TRACK in Nth Melb.

I think Levinson St.

He has been setting up Skylines for many years - Steet and Track.

Dont remember what it cost but it was probably not cheap.

Neithers my Life, so it all adds up to pay a bit more.

how much do they charge for a 4 wheel alignment? I go past there a lot and haven't noticed them.

Is Euen a mate of yours? Can I say that I was refered to him by you?

Thanks for the help.

Russell

I met Euen a few years back, when I started playing with cars. He hits the track occasionally, too. They used to do all the work for the Pedders Rally car, before they decided to drop out of rallying.

If you do go there, mention that Scott with the Red Turbo Telstar sent you. He should look after you.

centreline in thomastown are skyline specialists

my car is going there tuesday for camber, castor and pineapple kits and balance/alignment

Centreline are awesome, very honest guys & excellent work. They're not young & stupid, been in the race industry for years. Wouldn't trust anyone else with my cars (except ben@RPM). And I think it's about $90 for a 4 wheel alignment.