i nominate blitz or prank :D

but yea i would say if a car was done it would have to be a 32 gtr mainly because they are as cheap as. Buy a run down one and build it up from there... but as stated the trouble is getting one in the first place.

SAU doesnt have enough sponsors to start with.

Loz has dedicated a lot of his time and money towards the project...

So who's gonna do that for SAU?

• Replies 52

if we did it like NS.com itd have to ba a R33 with an R34 front :D

compare the amount of sponsors on NS.com to SAU... it would take some oraganisation to obtain more sponsors to fully support a project car....

we do have the member numbers for it tho...

speaking of holdens, i was at the news agent flick through car mags and spotted the street commodore mag had a vl and a RB26 in it! on the front page!

id love to rub that in some bogans face and ask them to count the cylinders.........

anyways, i say the r32 should be the promo car cause its the orignal godzilla!

steve

compare the amount of sponsors on NS.com to SAU... it would take some oraganisation to obtain more sponsors to fully support a project car....

Do you know how easy it would be to get sponsors on to SAU.

How many members do we have, how active are our buying and selling forums...

We have MORE members and MORE posts then NS.com and MORE mature members too.

I've run a very succesful E-business (which i have recently shut down) and i'm currently making some healthy money online from a "not for profit" music fan site. Thats right, money can be made from a "not for profit" project, which SAU is all about.

It would not be hard to gather sponsors in a similar fashion to NS.com - what performance part business would not want to be a part of a VERY active message forum, dedicated to a common performance car group.

Believe me when i say it can be done.

Hey all just wondering if there would be interest in a promotional car for SAU, Nissan silvia have one and it seems like a great way to keep everyone involved with a build and see something that represents SAU out there

Should we also drive around in it without our seatbelts on, so when someone else crashes into us we can put our heads into the windshield?

Because that would be an awesome way of promoting SAU as a place for responsible Japanese Import enthusiasts....the kind of reputation that NS.com has earnt.

Members of NS.com thinking something is a great idea is one of the best arguments against actualy doing it.

hmm i dont see the point tho..

We dont wanna see as hoons do we now.. Esp if we advertsing sports cars..

for example, if we did have a sau car.. the driver might get carried away one day at some set of lights.. rips it up and beats some idiot.. someone would see the car, with sau.com.au written across it.. Next thing u know, today tonight doin some hoons show about us..

But unless the car is for promotin the site, but im sure there are better ways of that..

SAU car? Enter drift events.

I nominate Majanal!

But yeah part of the not-so-many-sponsors etc is why SAU is good. Don't need to commercialise it. Can do it cos it's cool, but really SAU doesn't have a need for it. NS.com is about traffic and money. Car is promotion. That's their goal, not necessarily SAU's.

Are you telling me you wouldnt want cheaper parts because the sponsors get so much business out of us that they feel the need to give us good deals.

What is "commercial" on a message forum. If you dont like what the sponsors are offering, just dont visit their forums. Simple. You can get away from sponsors online, its not like TV where you have to sit through the ads.

is anybody at all for a promotional car? any car with with the SAU sticker has the potentional to give us a bad name but we allow the stickers anyway im sure many sponsors would be more than happy to help a community such as this as much as possible. funny that a 33 with 34 was suggested as im currently building one ;)

Hi guys, Im new here and ive recently caught the skyline flu. I stumbled by this post and thought id introduce myself aswell as a little idea.

Im 17 P plate, anti hooner, and im about to get a 32 at the end of this year which i hopefully will get to show room condition.

oh and my name is fong if any of you want to call me by real name. (well its Phong but i prefer fong...easier to type)

back to the topic, i have a feeling id b a proud sau member so to be able to drive a skyline with sau on my car would be really nice to have. ofcourse u cant excempt the hoons that will try to buy the car and reck sau's reputation so maybe only selling to members. or sign an agreement with the buyer sayin something along the lines of we do not believe in hoons and if this driver is a hoon then we will not be held responsible. that way if the driver is a hoon and is caught on tape. the news wouldnt be able to blame it on us.

im only 17 btw so if i am a little naive, dont mind me.

if you were gonna build a promo car it should be for something off street that it completely legal and you can "hoon" all you like without making the club look like a bunch of idiot drivers

the police and the media cant turn that against us can they?

but then it also raises the question..... drift car OR drag car??

It doesnt have to be the latest car, it could be any of the skylines, the NS car is an s14 with an s15 front, but mods are beside the point its an icon of the club.

in that case, it needs to be a r33 coupe :lol:

too much hassle with who owns it, where the money comes from, where it lives, who pays for rego, who gets to drive it, what happnes if its crashed or when its sold..

ok just some points about the "promo car" idea discussion so far...

NS.com promo car was owned and funded by loz, and the only thing sponsors did was provide parts/services to finish the car off at a discounted rate.

NS.com car was also written off shortly after completion (not loz's fault tho). What happens if something disastrous and unforseen happens to the SAU promo car?

SAU dosen't have as many sponsors as we hand pick who we allow to advertise on the site. We try to filter out businesses who aren't well established, or are trading out of their back yard etc.

Anyhow... onto the actual SAU promo car...

The only way it'll work is if its actually a car owned by and funded by an SAU member. This member will have to be someone that is well known in the SAU community, not some n00b.

This eliminates the forum's input into the actual choice of car, as it comes down to the preferance of the person who's gonna fund the car. Mods to the car are also not up to the forum, but the owner.

its just well too much headache, as the owner is not only accountable for not just his car, but the forums' car as well, as well as the investment of whoever chooses to sponsor it.

As others have said, there will be lots of bitching about what is done to the car, who drives it, who's accountable etc. Its just easier if a member just does it and we dub it the SAU car. maybe have a regular in each state build one, and make them all look similar... eg: R32 sedan drift car from SA, R33 GTSt dyno queen from QLD, R32 GTR drag car from NSW, R34 GTR track car from VIC etc, all painted in similar colours or even just simply decaled similarly (with different sponsors per state). Would look pretty cool and represents what is popular in each state.

That said automotive forums in the US have a promo car, an R34 GTR that is funded, tested, tuned and raced by a small group of individuals, and they're goin great guns.

Ok, I'll nominate my 34 for the VIC track car. Once I replace the flywheel.........lol

Seriously, I've given this a bit of thought & how does everyone feel about a members "donation" from each state for their respective car.

Once the car is bought is it possible to register it in the state clubs name, eg: Vic Club buys car & registers it under SAU - VIC? State pres. would proberbly know if this is possible, Snowy?, also if we have enough members in each state to fund a car purchase, if not then maybe one car for SAU as a whole.

Just for figures.... $10000 car with 100 members is $100 donation/member. I realise everyone would like to spend their hard earned on their own car, myself included, but I'd like to think we have more than 100 members in each state, so $100 is just a guesstmation.

With the car purchased, it's up to the sponsers in each respective state (if we have enough sponsors) to see what can be done with parts, etc. Leave it up to contributing members to decide which car & what direction the car goes (drift/drag/track). Who drives it?.... well I haven't got that far yet. Maybe state pres? or member nominated driver? or club championship winner from previous year? Dunno.......

Just food for thought people.....

I dont think SAU-Vic would really look into something like this to be honest.

Who stores the car?

does it have street rego?

insurance?

drivers?

There is a lot of stuff that needs to be looked into.

What if it breaks something, what if the money runs out, who gets the car?

Its not really an investment for the Clubs themselves like merchandise or other stuff.

Thats just my view that i would put forward at committee meeting

Yes, I hadn't even considered repairs.

Also the point you made re: not really benefiting the club is true too. It would just be spending money, doesn't matter whose money, with no benefit for the club apart from signage.

Think this is gonna fall by the wayside.....nevermind.

i nominate blitz or prank :laugh:

but yea i would say if a car was done it would have to be a 32 gtr mainly because they are as cheap as. Buy a run down one and build it up from there... but as stated the trouble is getting one in the first place.

interesting, except I find it amusing how some people assume it cost less $ to do up a 32GTR as apposed to a 33 or 34.

I'd do up a GTS-T as they represent the majority of the Skyline community.

Either way every car that has a SAU sticker of some description is promo for this forum. My car has about 4 SAU stickers on it...

I think the idea has both merits and drawbacks...

The merits would be that sponsors get to advertise their products, and we get an awesome car to drive :laugh:

The drawbacks would be, as has already been mentioned, bitching over whats done to the car, who drives it, what its built for, who pays for what etc etc...

however, i do like the idea, and i do think its possible, we just have to sit down and have a bit of a brainstorm as to what we can do etc etc...

i like the idea of allocating a promo car for each state, one that is already done or currently being built, there are many issues but the drag car for here or drift car for there is a reasonable idea we are all modifying our cars anyway im sure there are willing participants who will slap an SAU sticker on it and be the promo car.