New Traffic Laws Coming In Qld

Spook's_Skyline

yeah, i have had 2 mates choose one of each of the above options..

one needed his license for work, so he got 1 point for six months.. the other accepted the fact he screwed up, and has been riding buses since december..

also, has anyone heard of a 3 strike rule / law / thing..

apparently if you are caught "hooning" 1st time is loss of points / fine.. 2nd is 48hour impound, fine, and you pay for all costs ( towing, impound etc) and 3rd time car is confiscated and sold at auction, so you have the chance to buy it back..

not sure if its a rumour but i am yet to hear of it actually occuring..

yeah, i have had 2 mates choose one of each of the above options..

one needed his license for work, so he got 1 point for six months.. the other accepted the fact he screwed up, and has been riding buses since december..

also, has anyone heard of a 3 strike rule / law / thing..

apparently if you are caught "hooning" 1st time is loss of points / fine.. 2nd is 48hour impound, fine, and you pay for all costs ( towing, impound etc) and 3rd time car is confiscated and sold at auction, so you have the chance to buy it back..

not sure if its a rumour but i am yet to hear of it actually occuring..

Been around for about 2 years.

I think they should have the same penalty for drink/drug driving. That might wake the 'bloody idiots' up.

the hooning laws...

first offence: car confiscated for 48 hours, fine, demerit points

second offence: car confiscated for 3 months, fine, demerit points

third offence: car forfeited to the crown, fine, demerit points

the hooning laws are a load of rubbish i reckon

its up to the descression of the flamin mongrelstable who pulls the speeding driver over if he was hooning or wat have you

The Queensland Transport advertisement in the paper today claims sixty something people have died from "speeding related" accidents. But this includes people who were drunk and speeding, on drugs and speeding, on the phone and speeding... Tthey could even be sleeping as long as they were speeding! How many of these accidents were actually caused by speeding? I think SAU is about the only place where everyone sees through this speeding propaganda. Thanks for keeping it real guys :D

yeah i just got off my one point for 12 months, thank god i made it

we should become a republic so the crown wont get the cars,,,,lol

anywhooo,,, nazi state on road offences,,,,surprised they dont put ya in prison for them hmmm jap car=criminal

i spent a few months overseas in philippines, road rules are awesome,, no such an animal as a traffic cop,,,,

i have alot of stories about there,,, but anyone that has been to asia will know similar circumstances of lawlessness on the roads,, but everything seems to work...lol.. that make sense dont it,, if it works in asia then it should work over here lol ..

horn does not equal asshole,, horn equals comming thru move over please..

anywhooooo, yeh

bahahahahahahaha.....and what if they dont die?? you still going to have an idiot...he'll just be in a lot of

pain for a while

How much pain and for how long are we talking here to call it evens ????? ;)

yer qld is tuff for speeding i moved to qld from new zealand in 2004 and brot a nissan skyline r32 gts-t with a 25det neo under the hood and the cops will just look at my car and pull me over and make me pop the hood were in nz u had to be doing something rong for them to even look at u.

Thay are hard on us jap car drivers but what are thay gana do to stop us we will always push the limits as long as we have that thing called a turbo thay will never stop us speeding.

I've been on one point for 3 years... cant wait till next month :P

also havent been doing much else except work :( I'm ordering fmic, fuel pump boost controller today.

and the best way too get out of a fine, is too drop it into second.

haha, yeah... good one...

i guess you didn't hear about the new penalties for trying to run from the cops?

a) you lose your car immediately (i.e. its taken, and sold)

b) there is jail time (i think they mentioned 2 years)

and

c) $15,000 fine

haha, yeah... good one...

i guess you didn't hear about the new penalties for trying to run from the cops?

and

c) $15,000 fine

isnt it funny how you see most accidents on the media which are commodores with a exhaust and mags that have either killed themselves or someone else and then the government pulls out the old tougher penalties law to make it look like they are doing something when really there is another underlying situation at hand.

codint of said it better my self m8 :bomb_ie:

and

c) $15,000 fine

You'd probably get less for robbing somebody, and/or raping somebody.. Just shows out of whack things are.

If you're going to get done for that much, you just wouldn't stop at all! I think that would actually result in more serious incidents.

It's all insane.

i agree with pred and Karen. There are more people dying each year from smoking than on the roads. Think i should quit but back on topic... i must admit that queensland let alone australia has some of the toughest laws relating to the road. U go to indonesia and people ride around over loading utes and on bikes with no helmets..... u go to Osaka and drift for a night and the cops just tell you to move on. in no way am i saying that these 2 examples are good but the point is why are the laws so hard here? whats the point? I wonder why someone hasn't done something about the legal system saying the laws are pushing down car sales becuase first car buyers dont want a car because their scared of the police.

anyways my 2c if anyone can make any sense of it.... big night last night.

lets all face it thay will never stop us speeding no matter how big thay make the penaltys.

why dont thay look at a positive way of stoping us speeding on the streets (eg opening some of the drag strips and tracks that thay have shut down) im shore that the cops dont need any more new cop cars why not keep the ones that thay have and spend the money from the next car that thay bring out on opening the strips and tracks that people shut down becouse thay did not have the money to maintain them

but lets face it our government (might i add the best one in the world haha jokeing) will never alow that to happen as the cops relly need new cop cars the red hloden monaros are over 3 months old lol

Im in the process of appealing my suspensed licence this does not look to good for me the courts will definitively act tougher on speeding offenders

yer mate thay are going to be hard on you have you ever been to cort befor just look at the worst thing that can happen and if you come out at the end of the day better of then look at it in a positive way if u can under stand that