cops are f*cked

got a licky in the city during peak hour

why?

because i had a boost gauge and a air filter

stoopid

they shouldnt even be able to give u a yellow for having a boost guage (mounted in a suitable position) and pod filter. when i got a yellow and had to take my car over the pits i tried getting permits for my guage and pod filter and was told they dont issue permits for these items anymore and that cops shouldnt be giving out yellow stickers for having these mods. bummer eh?

• Replies 90

I've heard the rule is that it can't be in a head impact area in the event of a crash, so it needs to be below head/eye level. The thing with this though, you notice those huge screens that are in similar positions in a taxi? They are bigger & go way higher than my boost gauge, so if I got any problems with this I'd be mega pissed!!

post-17137-1145541864.jpg

a 4 wheeldrive cleaned themup :D

Sorry to go back a couple of pages, but I was the driver of the wrecked HR31.

Did any of you guys happen to be there to witness the crash? Because I could really do with as much help as possible in terms of witnesses and such.

Sorry to go back a couple of pages, but I was the driver of the wrecked HR31.

Did any of you guys happen to be there to witness the crash? Because I could really do with as much help as possible in terms of witnesses and such.

sorry i wasnt a witness i heard about it on another forum

/start rant (sorry) :(

cops do disregard permits quite often, i have seen it many a time, even when the person in question is being totally polite etc etc, they say "well the car must have been different when you took it over pits" then what do you do? you try to do the right thing by getting permits and then they just get shoved back in your face, so really some of the time (not all) its a waste of time even getting permits, they need to have some kind of code to adhere by when putting yellow stickers on, cause as it is now i think most of the cars that get yellow stickers (ie: modded/performance cars) are the ones that shouldnt be getting stickers as they are (most of the time) in better nick than 70% of the other cars on the road, why not concentrate on the rust buckets and other sHi* that shouldnt be on the road, surely that would be the thing to do, as those cars are truley unroadworthy, whereas most of our cars are in tip top condition, but i suppose giving us yellows it makes them more money, cant win in the end, as far as im concerned it all revenue raising!!!!!

/rant over

:(:D

Got pulled over last week,the first thing they asked me for was permits for my mods!

Then they asked me lots of things while they spent the next 20mins going through my car...he had the defect book in his hands when he got to my window.

I bit my tounge and remained calm and managed to get off without a sticker.I'm sure if I had not, there would have been a little yellow addition to my window....

LOL cops will be cops. They obtain the magority of their revenue through traffic "infringements" and defecting our cars. Unfortunately the cars we choose to drive are prime targets for harrassment. We knew this before we bought the car and we know it wont cease, whinging wont cause the police to focus on more important things like the rise in breaking and entering or assault.

Surprisingly I get the same attention when driving a BA XR6.

after i got a sticker for my pod i took my car over the pits and also had to change the engine rego from CA18 to RB20. so after spending bulk on my engine conversion, now with the usual mods (pod, zaust, fmic, catch cans, bov, stainless radiator, etc), my car also has coilovers and whatnot, so after he told me he was gonna pull the licky off and rego my new engine (with next to no hassel mind you, he actually called another assesor over to show him why i got the licky and then show him my pod setup, they both had a good laugh and went on about the usual f**king cops sending em bullshit f**king reasons).

Anyway i decided to do the right thing and ask if i could get permits for everything and his response was simple, "nah you don't need permits". Seems like his attitude was 'if the f**king cops are gonna disregard em anyway, why bother writing em out in the first place'.

well guys im off my yellows today was soo happy aye but currently feels like im on a boat hahaha on my line but im happy haha althought kelmscott was crap but welsh was kewl....well yea cops are wierd like i didnt' give no cheek to em they still sticker me its how they feel on the night which make them sticker you lol they can be f***ers if they want aye but we can't do shite so i guess jsut take it on the chin :worship:

Chi

Whats the bet all the cars comming from the drift evet that got sticker'd derserved a yellow sticker.. if so then im glad.. more unsafe cars of the steet.

If you speed or have a bad mouth they will just look extra hard to shut you up for next time.

i got given a yellow sticker on saturday morning at 10am on Marmion St for my dark window tint.

Whilst the cop wrote me up a defect notice, a VN SS pulled out from a side street across from us and peeled through 3 gears up the hill fish tailing all over the place.....

Now im not picking on Commodores here, but come on, is that not what the Hoon Law was for?

To make my yellow sticker seem even more insignificant and revenue-raiser like, the cop said if I dont get the sticker off within 20 days, I can just keep going back to the pits for extentions. He said this as if he was reccommending it??!!

Biggest load of horse sh*t. Clearly, from doing a license check they would see how good a record I have from 5 years driving, but still, Its all about the numbers for them.

My gfs brother is a cop, he advised traffic cops do have competitions between themselves to get as many fines/defects as they can.....

I have the upmost respect for the law and the police, but very little, if any, for traffic cops......

Edited by _8OO5TED_
Whats the bet all the cars comming from the drift evet that got sticker'd derserved a yellow sticker.. if so then im glad.. more unsafe cars of the steet.

If you speed or have a bad mouth they will just look extra hard to shut you up for next time.

Odds on bet most of the cars stickered were done so for having un-permitted mods.

9/10 performance cars that are stickered, are not done so because they are unsafe.

I have heard wild claims from cops that genuine STi wings are a hazard, incase someone is hit and flies over the roof and hits the wing!

I reckon a cop on a trip could sticker every single car from this forum for 1 reason or another and there is nothing anyone will be able to do about it. Its a way of life now, if you want the nice car with the go fast bits, you have to deal with the sh*t thats dragged along with it.

oink oink y'all!

Odds on bet most of the cars stickered were done so for having un-permitted mods.

9/10 performance cars that are stickered, are not done so because they are unsafe.

I have heard wild claims from cops that genuine STi wings are a hazard, incase someone is hit and flies over the roof and hits the wing!

I reckon a cop on a trip could sticker every single car from this forum for 1 reason or another and there is nothing anyone will be able to do about it. Its a way of life now, if you want the nice car with the go fast bits, you have to deal with the sh*t thats dragged along with it.

oink oink y'all!

amen to that :)

more to this issue of cops harassing people in modified cars....

I got pulled over on Leach Hwy @ 11:30pm last night after being at a mates place in Bateman. Now my car ALREADY has a yellow sticker on it.

The cops claimed it was a "random license check and vehicle inspection" they proceeded to look over my engine bay, through my boot, in my glovebox, centre console etc.

He even asked me "what the hell are you doing down this way at this time of night on a Monday when you live all the way up in Claremont??" Am I supposed to admit that I deal drugs so he can pin me on that?

Absolutely pathetic, and its sh*t like this thats makes me consider selling my car because I cant stand the petty harassment from bored law enforcement officers.....

TARGET THE HOONS!

oink oink y'all!

Edited by _8OO5TED_

Cops aren't allowed to look in the places you mentioned though without permission or a warrant yeah?? If I had a yellow I'd tell them to get one & waste their time because there's nothing else they could get you on.

if they have reason to believe you may be hiding something, they can search your car on the spot.

When i got my yellow i grabbed my stash and shoved it in my back pocket as i got out of the car, they decided to search my car while they were at it, thank god for quick thinking!