hey people...

Just wondering what are people ideas / views on buying locally vs. Importing cars.

Currently looking for an R34, people who have imported one would you help me out with some info, things such as quality of the car from what was desribed to what was delivered , all those sort os little things.. Just let me know about any problems you encountered.

For those who bought 1 locally, was it an easier choice because you were able to see and touch , again some feedback would be greatly appreciated

many thanks in advance buys and girls...

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/120516-r34s-buying-locally-or-import/

buy one locally. if u import u might save a couple of grand, but being able to get up close n get a good look at it is definately worth it. you can also get it properly checked out if its already here

There are a lot more around locally now than there used to be and the prices are good. Speak to SS8_Gohan for R34 import tips as he has done it. Personally I would buy locally now as there is a good selection.

Local, the dealer i got it from had only just imported himself.

I wanted this one becuase he was a RAWS member and this was his first 34 so it was his test car to get approved to compliance and sell 34's.

It had to be 100% perfect because people come down from canberra and test it over and over to see if everything (including compliance) was done correctly and running right.

IMO, buy local, and make sure the dealer is RAWS approved.

Local, the dealer i got it from had only just imported himself.

I wanted this one becuase he was a RAWS member and this was his first 34 so it was his test car to get approved to compliance and sell 34's.

It had to be 100% perfect because people come down from canberra and test it over and over to see if everything (including compliance) was done correctly and running right.

IMO, buy local, and make sure the dealer is RAWS approved.

Quite right - the first one that is approved by canberra is probably the best one to get.

Importing is good if you want to save money, if you can wait atleast 2 months and if you want to choose from a very very wide selecting of cars, colours etc. But locally is also good in the sense that if you buy one thats already here, you get to test drive it, check it for faults etc. Plus its also good if you cant wait (like i was when i was looking for my car :)) Where are you located? The guys and girls on the forum will be able to help with dealers/importers you can check out.

When going for a dealer, take Merli's list of things to check: http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...showtopic=35129

This is what I used when I went looking for the car, and boy did it help heaps (thanks merli!)! But having said that, I would also suggest you talk to the guys at j-spec and allblitz, they know their skylines as well. Perhaps go on one of the cruises or meets and see the cars that have been imported by them.

As for getting the car tested by RACV etc - you have to be careful. Sometimes they dont understand japanese cars. Hence, before you decide to buy or import, test drive a few - listen, feel, see - how the car performs.

Hope this helps. Let us know how it goes :P

M

I have imported a car but its a lot easier when the other country speaks the same first language as you and if you can do it all yourself. i.e see it that end, put it on the boat, meet it at customs. By doing this, you minimise the time that anyone else would have the opportunity to tamper with it and also ensure the car is what you want in the first place.

I wouldnt attempt a Japanese import on my own personally though.

I imported myself, its not hard. As long as you read a bit (search on this site and you will find heaps of info) its pretty straight forward. If you use a trusted supplier in Japan you can even cut out using people like J-spec etc and save the 1000$ fee they charge.... Although using people like J-spec may give you much more range.

PM me if you would like info + help.

i was trying ti find a late model white Supra TT in immaculate condition and there arent too many of them going around in Aus. I really didnt wanna import but it would have been my last resort if i couldnt find one in Aus. I was so lucky to come across the car that i wanted. It was in Syd and flew up there in a heartbeat and drove the car back

hey mate, you still keen on getting a 4 door? when we going looking? :)

btw, its about time you got rid of that girly 4 cylinder :D

wasss up... hey mate yea still getting rid of the S15.. its not girly just not as tuff as a 34. hahah

Not looking fro a 4 door now i think. Just gonna get a whitw 2 door instead.

justin0 - hey mate find out some details for me about the 1 for sale .. cheers.. hey did u go to the 666 premier the otehr nite ??? was pritty decent...

thanks to every 1 else for the input.. Leaning more towards locally now i think.. but ill look into importing ...

For sale: S15 ---> pm me for all the glitzy bitz...

I imported my 33 and my 34 myself, it's not that hard at all just a lot of waiting and look at it this way, if you want mods buy it local. You'll have to buy a DEAD stock 34 if you import one, mines for sale at the right price :(

y0 Adz... why r u selling? what's next? got the EVO bug too? :dry:

Toby - 666 vid was pretty good. The footage was a bit old but some real good riding. That wall ride Ruban did at the end was the best thing ever lol.

Not a fan of the BMX scene at the momment, too many try hard newbie riders around.

No worries ill get some more info 4 you, why? are you selling the S15.

haha, thought you'd like the girly call.

you know we are gettin on the booze tonight magguire... i'll ring you later

yea.. u know it... good times..

justin O - yea was rather nice.. yea tehre are a few wanks getting about these days...

The radivo section was good.. but yea was alot of footage from glasses.. but still was something 2 do for a bit.... selling the S15 becasue im sick of the lack of room .. tall guy u see.. 34's are a touch bigger inside...

plus the sound of an RB is nicer than an SR