$3000-$5000 per year.

Cost to insure a fully worked Aristo ???? About the same.

Resale value - Much better with the Porsche.

Market - not the same as a Skyline / Supra / Aristo. 40+ yo guys that have no objection in spending $$ on their prides and joy.

BTW - It's a rare manual ! :D

Can you stretch the old budget to a GT3? :D

• Replies 139

Damn it's sold !

Who the hell would by a Mighty Boy for $11K - nuts ! Nuts ! Even nuttier than buying a Porsche 928S - Beautiful piece of engineering - Style Class - 220rwkw performance from a 20 year old car - that WILL pul the chicks.

V8 POWA ! !

I wonder if you can get and HKS twin GT-RS kit for a 928S ? Yeah Baby !

deat set i would have paid $11K for that mighty boy if I'd had the time to organise myself! bargain i reckon.

928 is a much hated porsche though. front engine.... V8.... porsche???

but they are quite a pretty car. If you are looking old school though i reccomend:

Alfa GTV 105

10000988co.jpg

or look at an old 70s or 80s 911. or even better and old skyline :P:D

because 911 is one of the greatest cars of all time. 928 is a nugget with a porsche badge!

get something fun to drive. a 928 is not really that unless you are tom cruise in risky business. hey if it weren't for that movie i doubt they would have shifted more than about 10 of those things.

seriously go for the mighty boy.

Have you driven a 928 and a 911 Richard ? I'd like get some user feedback on the differences.

AKAIK they are totally different cars. The 911 being a much trickier to drive being rear engined. Whilst the 928 is front engines with near perfect 50:50 weight distribution.

911's are a classic, yes. And the 928 wasn't what Porshe was hoping for. Porsche poured billions & billions (OK it migh millions and millions) into R&D for the 928 as the president at the time had a vision that the 928 would overtake the 911 as being the super car of the future. Unfortunately the public still craved the 911 - so 18 years after the first 928 hit the streets, the 928 was phased out. IN 1995 a 928 GTS sold for near on $250,000. Of the cars I have seen and the owners I have spoken to, when I ask the reason for sale - 100% of the either have upgrades from a 928S to a 928 GT or 928GTS or are in the process of upgrading. These are all club cars and have been meticulously maintained.

When the 928 was introduced - it was the fasted GT tourer in the world. The engineering was leap years ahead of the competition at the time.

I think the workd views 928s as a 'nugget' (as you put it) due to the pooer marketing and lack of accpetance in the market place - Doesn't mean they are a bad car.

Yes you can get lemons - cars that have been poorly maintained - but you can lemon 911s to - or for that matter any other type of car.

The Style appeals to me - The V8 appeals to me - They sound awesome with the rear muffler removed. They are the right price for me. They are a classic no longer in production. Yes, parts are expensive (so are all Porshe parts). They don't sound like a VW either >_<

there are alot of air cooled 911 (1996) models selling for around the 50 mark

and they are ausi models no imported ones

would be a far better buy than a 928 clangger

Fatz - you are dreaming mate - just did a search on carsales.com. Cheapest 911 that is post 1995 is like $90K. More like 120K-140K.

911's that are <50K are 1970's models as har as I can tell

Porsche's post 1995 between 30K and 60K are only Boxters. (everyone has one of them)

fair enough never driven a 928 but i've been in a couple. have driven 911 including a 911 GT3. it sounds like you are set on the 928. i don't hate them but i just think it may be a poor choice. hell i loved them as a kid, but looking at them now they look very dated and by all accounts their engine isn't all it's cracked up to be. a nice 70s or early 80s 911 would be a better choice of porsche i think, but if you want it, get it >_<

UPDATE !

Well, for those of you who said that 928 owners are wankers ! YOU ARE CORRECT !

I looked at a few and spoke to a fair few owners - they are all up themselves and think the 928 is God's gift to cars - And after driving a few - they are definitely not !

So - Project Porsce is scrapped ! I have yet again come to my senses. Well at least for the minute.

Anyhoooo.

Since I have gone off the style of the Aristo - Yeah, they do look like a Camry - I contemplated what to get. I didn't want a Skyline again (sorry boys) - been there done that - twice......

I wanted a good performer - good looks - not too much attention ....

so

Today I bought this:

JCESE100972b.jpg

JCESE100972e.jpg

Yeah - I am crazy !

But it is a very very nice car !

And, yes - it is a 20B twin turbo !

COSMO POWER !

It's a ripper !

Tripple rotor - twin turbo.

Leather - like new.

Low, and stealth !