• Replies 111

Legally I believe you can't film anyone without their consent

exactly - and if you kept filming after being told not too - youd be arrested pretty quickly. same goes with recording voices........ there is a topic on this dicsussion in the General Automotive section. edit, here: http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...topic=99211&hl=

best thing is to write your OWN notes (dont go by their little black book, dodgy as); you can write down their badge numbers (on their shoulders) and their car numbers (rego or # on top of roof), and write down all the details, as they are writing down their details.

remeber, if they ask you to sign the little black book (if it is a serious offence) you arent held liable to do so, but if you dont then you will go to court......... I did, and won!

Edited by Tangles
Guest Miss_Nismo

so do these new laws only attack 16-30 year old drivers with an imported car? Or if i dob in all the 90 year old fossils that drive around in there 1973 piece of shit and drive on the wrong side of the road will he get a letter? What if i dob in the 45 year old snob in his mercedes who was in the turn right lane only to try and go straight and cut me off at an intersection - will he get a letter?

I'm all for targetting hoon drivers who endanger other peoples lives - particularly now that i travel with my young son in the car with me - but i am questioning the motive of this law and whether it is genuine, or just a ploy to target a particular age group/car owner.

Edited by Miss_Nismo
hahahaha i would love to be in the car at the time your mate said that vange, it would be priceless

lol if u come 4 a drive, im sure he will say it again next time he gets pulled over

we abuse cops when they park in disabled zones when they go get maccas

i also deny when they accuse u of doing somthing.

currently im waiting 2 go to court for going though yellow lights. my fine said 'faliure to stop on yellow signal' im like wtf i must b breaking the law a few times a day when the lights go yellow as i drive. the cop only pulled me over cos of my car but ignored the other cars next 2 me that went through as well. im sure ive posted about it b4, but at first he said i went through red lights, and i said no they turned red when i was 2/3 the way through the intersection, then after 10 min of arguing he agreed they were yellow and booked me for a stupid fine. the other officer (female) then asked to 'pop my bonnet' (she said it like she was cool or somthing) i told her no at first, then thought fk i dont want more shit, so i opend it and she had no idea wat she was looking at and asked me if i had a turbo timer. now what kind of a question is that, do u think id answer yes? she didnt find anything. i then tell the female officer that i will be disputing this fine, n she goes to me, i didnt see the offence so its between u and the other officer. im like yes he has no witness, and i have my sister in the car!!!

EDIT:

and yes i see so many ppl doing dodgy things on the rds, if the cops picked on them then there would b less accidents. i had this guy yesterday turn right from the left lane right accross me, would have hit if i didnt have new breaks!

Edited by vange

But when you think about it, apart from being a good driver, what else do you get from being curtious, patient, etc etc. on the road? The thing is you end up getting pinged anyway by the cops either for making the slightest mistake(one which every other driver who passes you on the side of the road whilst your being fined does), or your car gets defected and u get to be raped by regency. You really cant win. Only way to avoid this would not to have the car in the first place...But that isnt happening.

Your damned if you do...Your damned if you dont :P

I guess its just something we'll have to live with, and its only going to get worse.

seems to me that if you admit anything to the f**kers when you get pulled over prepare to get ass reamed, the old saying DENY,Deny,deny. DO NOT under any circumstances admit you were speeding, hooning etc, coz if it goes to court THey have to prove it, i know court can cost a fortune but if you have the dough and a good lawyer you may very well win..

Ive only just come across this thread and i'll ad my 2c worth

I live with me folks. They're cool with my car and my mates cars. They dont care what they get up to. As far as they're concerned, whatever we get up to is our responsibility (ie we get caught doin illegal shit we cop it on the chin - simple).

Theres a lady that lives about 2 doors down, her husband was a traffic cop until about 6 years ago (they've always lived in the same house too, and we've known them the whole time we've been here). She's a bit whacko in the head, fark knows why. My mate across the road has a 180sx, usual deal - exhaust, mags etc (tim's mate gavin). He's had the old cow go off at him about his "irresponsible driving" and that the car is "as loud as a jumbo jet" etc etc. The car was on defect for 6 or so months and got cleared recently. He's changed the exhaust again, its not loud like it used to be but it has a nice note. He hardly boots it around here (purely for the one reason of that mad cow). He's had a visit from the ex cop to say "oh i wonder how long it'll be before ya car is defected again".

I copped a serve from her the other week. I was comin home from work on a thursday arvo, turned into my street a few streets up from normal (usually come off the main road but i decided to come a different way). She's out the front, doin gardening or something, ive HARDLY put the boot in (the RB20 still spools loud especially bein auto), didnt even get over 40kmh, had to pull wide to turn in me drive (cos of me neighbour's truck out the front of his house). I backed off the throttle and it popped a bit (nice lil pop, nothing major). I heard her yell something out but 1. i had my stereo up a bit so i didnt hear exactly and 2. i tend to ignore her most of the time anyway

i get in the drive, turn the car off, start unpackin the car, mum's come out to help me and she comes storming up the drive. She starts roundly accusing me of being a hoon. she starts telling me i was speeding up the street. also then says that i ALWAYS speed up and down the street. My mum turns around and challenges her. "What times of the day does this happen?" She just goes off on another tangent, sayin something about "oh there's little kids that live in the house two or three doors down and one day you're goin to hit and kill them". My comment was "what would the kids be doing playing on the road?" apparently according to her that's "not the point". Then she starts rabbiting on about "oh my husband's an ex cop and he'll get his mates onto you and get u defected". Straight out im like "Did you hear that, sounded like a threat to me?". Afta that she stormed off.

Needless to say in the weeks following ive been

1. Followed by a marked patrol car (5 times)

2. Been pulled over by a marked patrol car (3 times)

3. Been accused of reckless driving (1 time)

The times ive been followed i aint been doin anythin wrong. Either been driving to work, home from work, or just going out.

The times ive been pulled over they've done a licence check, done the torch on the tyres and rego, and commented that ive got a unique car.

The one time of being accused of driving recklessly. Turns out they'd mistaken my car for a similar car (who'd been actin like a tool) in the same carpark i was in about 2hrs prior. Some of the guys from the 31 forums would prob kno the car im talkin about.

Here's a tip if you didnt know it either

You cant get defected on private property. That being your own driveway, a service station etc. One of the times i got pulled over was at the bowser at the local servo. Cant do shit as they hav to list the road the defect was found on.

Here's a tip if you didnt know it either

You cant get defected on private property. That being your own driveway, a service station etc. One of the times i got pulled over was at the bowser at the local servo. Cant do shit as they hav to list the road the defect was found on.

i would beg to differ on that ive had a canary slapped on my old Rx7 in the Elizabeth South mobil servo in 1992-93 i forget i was a long time ago now

Total crap and a common misconception.

If a car is registered it must be roadworthy. Full stop.

Car park, street, car yard, your own driveway, anywhere - it can be defected.

A defect is only a suspicion of non compliance, you have to prove something DOES comply, not the other way around.

matty tonkin, i feel for you mate. on my street, there is a definate hoon who is the bf or something along those lines across the road from me. he has the loudest exhaust, screams up and down every time the car is driven. but since its not an import, xr6 turbo, i bet its just a matter of time before the blame for his actions is placed upon the cars i have at home. i respect my neighbours and all that, only to have a tool be a tool which destroys my good intentions.

"oh my husband's an ex cop and he'll get his mates onto you and get u defected".

Needless to say in the weeks following ive been

1. Followed by a marked patrol car (5 times)

2. Been pulled over by a marked patrol car (3 times)

3. Been accused of reckless driving (1 time)

The times ive been followed i aint been doin anythin wrong. Either been driving to work, home from work, or just going out.

you gotta make a written complaint, seriously.

take them up to the challenge mate

my next door neighbour complained that my car is to loud cos when i get home usually after 10ish he is asleep n his bedroom is 5m from my driveway, so as i pull in slowly, not speeding or anything n just leaving it there 2 cool down, he goes mental., he came out 1 nite n had a spew at me n im like, its my fkn driveway ill park my car here! the funny thing is my mums bedroom is 2m from my car n she doesnt even wake up! lol since then i pull in slowly and then (if my mums awake) ill rev it a bit 2 piss him off more haha.

Yeah its really quite annoying the amount of "Older" people who really get annoyed at some of the slightest things. Coming home late with a loud car i can understand why they wud get pissed off...but as u say its your driveway, its completely up to you. But accusing people of hooning just because they have a loud car, or it looks "hotted up" is bollocks. Whats more is the power cops have to defect cars, if its a suspision of a defect, then why shud we have to pay to go thru regency?! All about money these days...