I've picked up a 1980 Datsun 200b GX, 4 speed manual. Its totally imaculate. Its white with a brown cloth interior. It's not quite right in every way. Its an aussie one, not an imported SSS.

The lows kays (68000 today) are for real, and it was bought from deceased estate by a family friend, then by me for $2000. It was stored on and off - thus the low kays. I bought it for myself to run around in while I was finding a GTR, however its just in too good a condition for what I wanted to do.... The dash isn't even cracked.

I thought it was rougher than it turned out to be.

In fact, the biggest issue is that the gloxbox lid is cracked (it got stuck closed at some stage). I don't think that'd be hard to replace. Only one hubcap has minor gravel rash, and a minor press on the top (between the bonnet and screen). One piece of side trim is missing, and being granny spec the corner of the bumpers have all been kissed. I think you can just straighten them. People give parts for these things away :D

I'll get some photos up later in the week, but imagine going back to around 1984 and looking at one.

I just did the head gasket, had a full service done and put new tyres on the front. Engine, gearbox and running gear seems totally imaculate (clutch is a bit slippy - been ridden a lot I'd say, but I've got a new kit for it). I've done hoses, flushed the radiator, and that sort of thing. I've been using it to get to work for a month or so, and am very happy with it. Always starts, uses 10L/100km in town.

Its been driving most days for the past 2 months or so. So its not all sized or the rubbers all about to go. The old L20 is a very heathly little motor.

Rego till Sept 06.

I spent a total of $2800 including the car over the last 2 months.

Will sell for $2200 NEG. I don't know if datto's with ever be collectable, but this would be the one to do it with. Living inland its whole life its got NO RUST, even the paint is ok - not worth repainting.

**EDIT** I found a little bit of rust on the top lip of the boot surround. Its surface only and has been treated.

Cheers!!!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• I think you're missing the point here Duncan, I was trying to say that if you want to go fast around and have a spare $80K to $100K, easiest option is to just buy another car instead of modding your Skyline. Sure blowing $80k to $100K would make it fast, but then you'll have a car that you can't drive on the street comfortably. But use that $80k, buy a fast factory car, spend like $7K on AliExpress pipes, email tune, tyres, pads and you can be fast, not to mention now you have two cars.
    • You're 20 years too late mate. Used to be 80% skylines back in team trackday days
    • There's a lot of drug money on that side of Sydney. Just sayin'.
    • At SMSP, I mainly see Hondas, M cars, A90 Supras and of course, plenty of Evos. Have not seen a single R32 ro R34 Skyline on the night sessions that I've been to. That's really saying something.
    • I like mine. Much better than stock. Like i said before the reverse/parking cameras look even worse than normal, still useable. When you buy one make sure it's the latest version. Heaps of cheap ones that run the old hardware and software. Got mine from AliExpress. Mine is quick no lag, boots up 1-2 sec. Menu is fast. Netflix is fine and so is YouTube. Android Auto is random taking 3sec to 15sec. Most of the time it's quick. Very rare it doesn't connect. But that could be a phone thing.   Now I think they use a Pixel 3XL to run this whole thing which i guess is fine, but the problem is that some apps will not work on old hardware like Disney Plus  Maybe Prime Video too 🤔. they will not update. Iv'e tried getting the APK Disney + but i still couldn't get it working. I have a Data sim installed so i have internet all the time. You can't Hotspot off your phone and connect Android Auto at the same time. Not that you need too, if you want you can hotspot off your phone and run any internet map app (google maps) and you can run the Spotify app on it's own (the app runs better than android auto) You can still access the INFINITI intouch system for all the o.g stuff    P.S i got new non Polarization Sunglasses too 😎