• Replies 139

Do remember he did let you off for an EBC.

His intentions for pulling you over obviously changed once he saw possibly you were not the person who he thought you were.

Quite possible... Especially as he decided not to defect which I still can't believe he didn't as an EBC is an instant defect in the majority of cases.

Hide that ebc as next time he see's you...... especially if a complaint is made when there doesn't appear to be any real harassment. :wave:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/123632-targeted/page/6/#findComment-2340765

Yeah I don't like the fact that he singled you out in the first place, but you are lucky to get away with the EBC none the less.

The main reason you probably got away with it is because they stuffed up in the first place. Had they pulled you over for something else maybe you wouldn't be so lucky.

Just remember if you don't complain about a cop who let you go then the next import that he pulls over he may be just as willing to ignore what he saw. If you do complain though he may not be so lenient next time.....

Edited by Electro
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/123632-targeted/page/6/#findComment-2341651

heh, good luck with the complaint, ive made a fair few regarding police in my short time on the road, most just get shrugged off, my last one was a cop that almost ran me off the road on my way to school near the end of last year, after about 3 weeks of conversing with the head copper at gawler, i got "we dont believe that yourself, your passenger, or anyone else on the road was put in danger by whatever happened, if anything happened at all. all of our officers are very well trained drivers and would never make such a stupid mistake." yeah, right....

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/123632-targeted/page/6/#findComment-2341742

update,

got pulled over twice on weekend for same reason above....car registered to no one. this time i had my rego papers with me and that i called transport sa and my rego was fine n its their problem. if i get pulled over 1 more time im gona spew.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/123632-targeted/page/6/#findComment-2350303

i cant understand why you all get pulled over so much.my skyline has tint so dark u can hardly see thru it has huge muffler altho it;s not very loud and the car is lowered .it is a daily driver and ive never been given a second look .maybe just maybe it's your driving habits that attract the attention in the first place.i know i will get done for my tint sooner or later will i get on here and cry about how ive been picked on no bloody way .trouble is you buy these cars and you know your a target .u modify the cars with mods that arnt legal then dummy spit when you get done weather you like it or not the laws the law you go outside the boundries ie the way you drive or mod your car u got to expect to be done it;s a fact of life if ya dont like buy a laser or something

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/123632-targeted/page/6/#findComment-2350695

i cant understand why you all get pulled over so much.my skyline has tint so dark u can hardly see thru it has huge muffler altho it;s not very loud and the car is lowered .it is a daily driver and ive never been given a second look .maybe just maybe it's your driving habits that attract the attention in the first place.i know i will get done for my tint sooner or later will i get on here and cry about how ive been picked on no bloody way .trouble is you buy these cars and you know your a target .u modify the cars with mods that arnt legal then dummy spit when you get done weather you like it or not the laws the law you go outside the boundries ie the way you drive or mod your car u got to expect to be done it;s a fact of life if ya dont like buy a laser or something

Well i'd like to see that apply in my case. Pulled over for a random breath test in what would have to be one of the most stock looking R32's GTS-t's around, after being followed for couple of minutes, sitting on 50km/h in a 60 zone following my mate with his dad who is a cop (off duty) to a 21st. And was sent to regency due to an 'assumption' of having a turbo timer, when I clearly told the cop to turn it on and off if he didn't believe me, and he said he didn't need to. Not one ounce of attitude, and those who know my can tell you I never say a word if pulled over. So in some cases it does happen, and it is these cases where people feel 'targeted'. I'm not going to disagree that part. style of driving is going to attract attention, and they get they're just deserves. Just don't make an assumption that there aren't cases where people are pulled over for no reason. My brother has had similar experience, with the same cop over and over and has filed 2 complaints in which at the moment is being put into court. So it does happen.

Edited by DC_GTST
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/123632-targeted/page/6/#findComment-2350714

How long have you had your 33?

I've been warned once in 4.5years and yes I drive like a grandma, just ask AM-Performance lol. I too knew one day I would be pulled up for my tint, the small issue I had was the way I was picked out of a bunch of cars that too had tint, look around the majority of cars that do have tint also have it on their front windows. I know the inlaws commodore and bmw both do, as do my parents 100series landcruiser, prior their patrol and prior to that their 80series landcruiser, the old mans work truck too has tint on the front windows as my sisters vl and my other sisters festiva. :P

that last little bit on buy a laser... yes its sad but true.. There are nazi coppers out there that simply do not like imports, there actually are a hell of a lot of people that do indeed hate the imports, this became aparent when shopping around to rebuild my short motor. Many many people were close minded and said they either are not interested in building jap crap or went on to rant how they all should be defected as they are dangerous plastic crap. My old man, uncles (apart from one) initially called it jap crap, hell I even used to call them jap crap.

4.5years of reliability has opened their eyes.. I'm still on my standard power steer pump while their new commodores have chewed threw one. :)

I wonder if you will come on here and cry if you get picked out of a bunch of cars cruising with your other half and son in his baby seat when there are family commodore/falcon around you that too have tint on their front windows.

I am still a little shocked with how the cop stopped all of the traffic, walked through it up to me and then instructed myself to stay put while the traffic cleared, only then was I instructed to move to the side of the road. My other half claims when he saw the bubs he smiled, prior to that he did have a bit of an attitude, possibly what saved me.

I must admit I have thought about selling the car for a larger car that suits a baby better, the one thing stopping me is the unknown, I've owned commodores and fords before, every single one requires constant repairs, if its not the power steering pump is the rack, if its not the rack its the crappy auto's they run, if its not that its the a/c if its not that its some thing else, it just goes on and on and on and on... a bit like me now so I think I'll leave it at that.

</rant>

lol... :P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/123632-targeted/page/6/#findComment-2350725

in response to mid life crisis, its not my driving habbits that give me attention...and i wouldnt complain if i got pulled over for that.Ive had my car since nov last yr and never got pulled over, or even when drove next 2 cops, had cops come up 2 us in car parks they didnt say a thing. even b4 that had my non turbo 33 for 2 yrs n never had a complaint.

first time i got pulled over this week was in the middle of the day while i was heading 2 an appointment in town wearing my suit. wasnt doing anything bad, n the cop even said so. 2nd time got pulled over was driving past the cop station on wakefield st where there was a cop parked n i was following my mate in his HSV GTO LE n as we passed them i saw them start following. same thing, didnt say i was doing anything bad just a 'random' rego check and came up as not registered, so i can understand them having a good reason 2 pull me over, but the 'complaint' part of my story is y they checked my rego over every other car on the road. im sure a holden has a higher chance of having being stolen or doing burnouts than my car.

anyway, my car isnt low, isnt that loud, isnt tinted, so other than being a skyline, thats they only reason they have pull me over.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/123632-targeted/page/6/#findComment-2350997

anyway, my car isnt low, isnt that loud, isnt tinted, so other than being a skyline, thats they only reason they have pull me over.

they just wanted to meet the infamous Vange but were to shy to say so :P so they make a storey up :)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/123632-targeted/page/6/#findComment-2351039