Law Changes For P's & L's.

alex1991s

don't take this personally......

so you are still admitting that when you were on your Ps and Ls you were stupid and irresponsible and so was the person sitting beside you if you were doing these speeds on your Ls.

You also showed very little practise on the roads before your got your licence, and although this is a joke for Vicroads, it's also a joke to yourself.

The comments you have made are the PRECISE reason that these laws are coming in.

Yes, you can still hoon in a low powered car, but it's much easier and more tempting an a high powered one.

• Replies 72

Okay for everyone interested this is the VICROADS link to the changes.

- The new learner requirements will apply from July 2007.

- The new high powered vehicle restriction for P drivers will start in July 2007.

- The new P1/P2 probationary driver requirements and a new driving test will apply from July 2008.

"compulsory 120 hours of supervised driving experience"

now what exactly does that mean, supervised by who?

Did i mention i got my P-Plates with only 15 hours driving experience in one car and no paid lessons? (even im admitting that thats a joke)

do u want a medal? cause ill give u one if u want it

don't take this personally......

so you are still admitting that when you were on your Ps and Ls you were stupid and irresponsible and so was the person sitting beside you if you were doing these speeds on your Ls.

You also showed very little practise on the roads before your got your licence, and although this is a joke for Vicroads, it's also a joke to yourself.

The comments you have made are the PRECISE reason that these laws are coming in.

Yes, you can still hoon in a low powered car, but it's much easier and more tempting an a high powered one.

Nah just kidding around on the driving 170 on my L's. Was on my P's, on the stuart highway so it was quite legal.. and fun

As for it being a joke to myself, im almost 20 and am yet to get 1 parking ticket, speeding ticket or into a crash, (not counting the trees i used to give a nudge to from time to time in the golf). Actually i thought it was good to be able to laugh at yourself, go figure

Just for my own interests sake how is it that comments on me driving faster and more dangerougly in a lower powered car related to power restrictions.. Because thats what i said and you seemed to think it was "PRECISE"(ly) the reason for there being brought in

My golf had 110 HP.. My skyline has what 200 ish? My golf accelerates from 90-110 in 4th a hell of a lot faster than my laggy skyline does..

Power doesnt equal speed... Driving does.

And if its reduction in road deaths that make you so anti-P-Platers then its quite absurd. Wipe off 5 and save live... How about "LOOK BEFORE YOU WALK"... and perhaps for drives, "INDICATE BEFORE CHANGING LANES" and "GIVE WAY TO YOUR RIGHT AT TOUND-ABOUTS".. P-Platers generally have no problem remembering to do these things... Its the wanky 30 year old business men or the middle aged hatch driving women who seems to struggle with these so much.

But oh well there not even gonna apply to me because im already on my P's, its just everywhere i look i see the "KIDS THESE DAYS" attitude from any one off there P-s (or going through a mid-life crisis) and it sickens me.

Humm as for the medal.. i would like one.. And my name engraved on it.. Vicroads is a joke :)

Edit- I would prefer a new alternator - if youd be so generous

Edited by r32 gts-turbo

Anyway,

I have a philosophy in life.

If there's nothing you can do about it, don't worry about it.

So remember, anyone who runs down my son, fiance, mate or whatever because they are being stupid or irresponsible in their cars.... Well, there'll be nothing you can do about the sledgehammer which will be impaled in your skull, so don't worry about it :)

Anyway,

I have a philosophy in life.

If there's nothing you can do about it, don't worry about it.

So remember, anyone who runs down my son, fiance, mate or whatever because they are being stupid or irresponsible in their cars.... Well, there'll be nothing you can do about the sledgehammer which will be impaled in your skull, so don't worry about it :)

I think you're spot on the money Pete.

Nobody here is "anti P platers" we were all on them, some of us more recently than others. We're just anti-idiots. Most wouldn't care if you're in a 200rwkw car or a tarago, in the hands of an inexperienced driver, any car is dangerous.

Its good to hear that you haven't had a ticket or an accident, we should all hope for that, but does your attitude change when you jump out of the skyline? Just because the golf isn't as powerful doesn't not mean it can't do damage. "Accidents" happen

I think you're spot on the money Pete.

Nobody here is "anti P platers" we were all on them, some of us more recently than others. We're just anti-idiots. Most wouldn't care if you're in a 200rwkw car or a tarago, in the hands of an inexperienced driver, any car is dangerous.

Its good to hear that you haven't had a ticket or an accident, we should all hope for that, but does your attitude change when you jump out of the skyline? Just because the golf isn't as powerful doesn't not mean it can't do damage. "Accidents" happen

Well said mate but not entirely correct, I wasnt ever on P's :teehee:

1L cars should be the only thing anyone in the first 3 years of driving gets their hands on, including learning. That gives you mobility but teaches you respect. Gives you an insight into running a car so at 18 you are not forking out for repairs, fuel and insurance on a 300bhp car. Anyone who argues they dont have enough power for overtaking/pulling out needs to think again. The idea of a new driver is you take even more time than anyone else as you are inexperienced. So it might take you an extra minute to get out of a junction, learn and add that minute to your journey time. So you might not be able to overtake a B Double as frequently or with as much ease as a 4L but you will bide your time knowing you have that lack of power under your right foot.

IMO there are not enough low low power cars available on the market here cheaply

Not having to have pay for insurance outside of rego doesnt help as anyone can get anything if they are prepared to face the consequences in the worst case

Driver training and testing is inadequate and this is where clubs like SAU Vic step into their own by providing safe places for drivers and IMO need more Police support and credibility given to them.

My 2c

eh, fair enough.

Admittedly, im young and that but my other reason for disliking vicroads is that there current laws will let me drive my 13 second gts-t and not the 18 second 69 valiant we've been restoring. 2 years is a helluva long time to wait.

Does any one know i the policies on modifying cars will change? Because as far as i know at the moment you are allowed turbo upgrades and other legitimate power increasing modifications as long as you dont engine swap. I guess they will change this? Or will there be no change, in which case there will be a whole lot more hotted up 4 cylinders burning around. (not to mention there goes mods to my skyline)

thx

Edited by r32 gts-turbo

I'm a p-plater driving an R33....never had a speeding fine etc etc etc....

I've always been one to say that an idiot will be an idiot in any car, but agree 100% that an idiot in a 200rwkw skyline has a FARK LOAD more chance of writing himself and others off. its common sense.

I'll be off my p's jan07, so bring on as many restrictions as possible! lol

I agree with ads about blanket banning. If restricting the power of younger drivers is to be done, then I think that the power weight was a good way of governing it. The blanket bans, I think, are purely political and are only around to increase votes. The point is clearly proven about the 13second skyline and the 18second valiant......

If they wanted to tighten things more then they would lower the power/weight ratio again, instead of the BS blanket banning..

Saw that car last saturday. Original price was $19,000 did you haggle it down? :O

Was looking for a r32, the dealer sat inside his office eating a kebab and didnt come out...

Yeh kinda got it to $19,500 on road with a imoboliser. So thats not to bad I guess. Its stock as a rock but :laugh:

ok...so admittedly i believe that the new power restrictions are a load of scare-mongering, vote gathering bull-fsck...

that said.

does anyone have ANY idea what the new restricted car list is going to look like at all? i'm betting that i won't be able to drive my beloved '32 any more but i'd like to know for sure so i can sell it asap if this all does go to the dogs.

if you already have your license, i doubt it will apply to you...

if not, the site says v8's, turbocharged or supercharged cars, and high powered sixes

so chances are your shit out of luck

if you already have your license, i doubt it will apply to you...

well i am on my P's now, but wouldn't that make the system super confusing if exsisting P-platers could still drive turbos etc? should get on to vic roads about it now i think of it...though they tend to be USELESS in the information department

......f******ck i my dad just got the car today thinking that i will be able to drive it on my P's, what is a high powered 6?