**** i just came home with no skyline

really bad stuff happened today

remember how i told some of you guys i was getting these knocking sounds from the engine bay? well that sound turned into disaster tonight.

was driving up to reservoir with my friend to vickii's place. the sound was getting worse and we just thought it was the black plastic guard under the front bar was loose and was getting knocked by the wind or brushing against the wheel making the knocking noise. So we think thats ok, shouldn't harm the car too much, its just plastic.

we arrive at vickii's place and i'm startin to get paranoid of the knocking sound because it is becoming so obvious so i borrow some sticky tape from vickz and try and tape the plastic guard to the front bar to stop it from moving. Well after that Vickii decided we go to maccas at collingwood to meet up with her friends. i'm like ok, its sorta on the way home, why nots.

So we are on our way, i'm driving normally along the road trying to bear with the noise and half way there bang! left side of car crunches into the ground, i didn't even need to brake cos the car just scrapped to a stop. I look across and see my wheel bouncing along the foot path on the other side of the road. I'm like ****!@!@! this can't be happening! no ****IN way!

I get out dreading the worst. ****ing left front wheel is on the foot path and my skyline is sitting on its front bar and the axle. Some good blokes in another car stop and try and help me out but doubt the could but they fetched my wheel. I'm almost freaking out but i try and stay calm. Look at the axle (or whateva its called, the brake rotor) and there are 4 screws for the studs and one hole missing meaning it must of broke off.

I quickly phone vickii (who drove off thinking where did i go) and told her bad shit has happened to get back now! I need help! She comes back and is in the same shock as me. I was thinking what the **** am i going to do? I'm like 50kms from home and my car is still on the road, how the **** am i gonna move it.

I start to panic and tell vickii to call some friends out to help me do something, anything! She calls out her friend Alvin (sorry if thats wrong) who also drives an R33. Well we started getting the jack under the car and start to raise it. I go and search for the studs which are few metres down the road, manage to only find 4 of them(better than none i guess). Alvin comes and he gets his jack and we raise my poor skyline up.

We manage to put the wheel back on with only 4 studs. I was too freaked to help out! (sorry vickii, alvin) Felt so helpless. well got the wheel on drove it into a street hoping it would stay on. All seems ok so we start to drive back but then after 20 metres the knocking sound starts again, we pull into the petrol station and the nuts have gone loose again. Tighten them back up. We drive off again and pull over again to tighten them again. So then we decide to go home slowly at a steady pace of 15km/h. Imagine 3 skylines in left lane with their hazard lights on going at 15km/h. Copped alot of horns from other drivers, hehe bastards!

Anyways after about 3 ciggies and an hour of driving at constant speed of 15km/h we finally reach vickii's place. Then i parked the car at front of her neighbours house and took everything from car and locked it. Then Vickii drove me and my friend home (thanks vickii!)

Now i'm finally home, still trying to take it all in. Still can't believe it happened. I'm gonna ring up the guy that sold me the car and get him to tow the car back and fix the damn thing under warranty! I hope he does it under warranty or else i would be pretty pissed off since i only had the car for not even a week.

Front bar is gonna have to be replaced, its still looks solid but i reckon its gone, cracks all over the joints, left side skirt is also gone, chipped and ripped open by the bitumen. I reckon the brake rotor also has to go since that got eaten by the bitumen too. The 16" wheel looks ok, not too bad, jus hope its not bent.

I'm pissed off and depressed. I was really looking forward to saturday drive ins. can't believe this happened. Was really lucky didn't cause any accidents, especially with the wheel which flew off across the road.

Can anyone explain how this could of happened? And it should be covered by warranty right? Cos i'm screwed if it isn't. I would like to say thanks to Vickii and her friend Alvin for helping me out cos if it wasn't for them i would be sleeping in Reservoir tonight with the car stuck on the road.

Well that is all. Really bad experience.

moral: if you hear knocking sounds coming from engine bay, tighten those wheel nuts....

:P:);) ;) ;):(:P :eek:

P.S: sorry about all the swearing

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/12547-really-bad-shit-happened-tonight/

• Replies 64

Hey chop:)

i just got home, nearly had a car accident tho

went to sleep while driving lucky there was no cars around woke up after i drive up someones driveways:D

its tragic what happened today, i feel sorry for u...i feel sorry for the car....i came home took another good look at it, and tears wont stop coming out:(

but its ok chop, its not ur fault! get that van guy to fix everything up!!!:P

me and Elvin is willing to help:)after all u are my fren and i am his fren:D

thats what friends for: we will stick up for friends when there is a need for it:D

dont think too much

rest a bit:)

man...me gotta leave too...3hr to go to pick up classmate and have class...nitez:)

ps:dont thank me! coz we are friends and i am willing to do so!:P

Chop,

Was looking forward to meeting you at the drive-ins! Soz about the car, they should fix it under warrantee, unless you have put other alloys on or done anything else to your car wheels-related (changed brakes/brake-pad/etc.)... If the car is in the same condition as when you bought it from them... and if they're not a bunch of complete A-holes, they should fix it for you under warrantee.

Would say that the brake-disc will need replaced, body-kit aswell by the sounds of it (no amount of 100 mile-an-hour-tape will fix it if it is as bad as you say).

They may just fix the brakes/wheel though... and not worry about the kit, since it was the wheel that came off and the kit was just a conciquence (better than nothing i supose)!

Keep us all posted... i'm eagar to hear what they say about it!

Once again, soz to hear about the car!

Chop,

Just wondering... did you feel any difference in the cars handling? If is was the lug-nuts that came loose, that means the wheel would shake around and put your steering off, and your car would seem twitchy/rough when driving straight!

It is quite possible that they didn't have proper self-locking lug-nuts on the car when you bought it from them... these lug-nuts have some form of plastic fastening on the inside where it makes contact with the 'screws' that you refered to.

It is also possible that the 'screw' that broke off was the only one that didn't come loose and it alone couldn't hold the wheel in place and broke.

This is more for me to try and work out what is happening... but also for you to give it some though, and quitely reflect on the dog-of-a-night that you just had!

Soz to rub salt into the wound, GOOD LUCK!

i had same sorta incident but the wheel never actually came off

i got a defect on my car so i changed my rims over to the stockies

well my dad did it for me.. but he didnt realise he had to take the spacers off before putting the stockies back on

so the screwws werent put in all the way

anyways if your wheel was comming loose ur steering wheel shoulda been shaking like all ***kkk

i never got any knocking sound

just my steering wheel shjakingg really badly

and i assumed it was because i ahd the stockies on the front and the 17's on the back

anyways the shaking got soo bad that i eventually pulled over to see what was wrong

only to find my front left wheel almost about to fall off

called my mechanic up he came down had a look

the bolts had bent and had sheared the threads

managed to get the car home safely and my mechanic worked on it that day

im sorry to hear about ur incident :)

thats veryyy dangerous

glad your safe but!

yes at the start of the day it wasn't that noticable. it only happened when i turned the wheel left side at like 10 degree angle then the noise would come. it puzzled me so i kept driving like that the whole day and towards later in the day it got worse. i kept thinking it was the engine guard flapping against the wheels. If i knew it was loose nuts it would neba have happened!!!! I feel so stupid now. Couldn't figure out the knocking sound. I'm surprised i survived all day.

Cos originally when i saw this car it had 18" chromies and i told him to change it normal 16" for me when i bought it. Guess he didn't do a very good job at it.

How much does towing cost? My mechanic should pay for the towing right?

phorj: yeah i reckon one of the nuts broke off therefore the other nuts started to become looser and looser. But the freakin wheel jus flew off my car, surprised it didn't hit another car or pedestrian. But yeah my car is completely unchanged from the day i got it cept for air freshner which i doubt they would use against me.

feck i also had a bad dream last night. Dreamt the guy wouldn't do it under warrantee and wouldn't tow my car. Woke up feeling shit. Just called my manager and told him i won't be coming in today.

Oh well this is an opportunity to iron out all the other bugs in the car.

lol above.. .he mighta added some dirt to tha carpet too - unauthorised modification!

lucky it wasn't worse.. it coulda bene a lot worse.. imagine if that happened at 100km -=- you wouldnt be here talking about it now at all.. you coulda been talking about it to the angels! That guy who sold u the car has a lot to answer for, and well if he doesn't fix it i'd be getting the law onto his ass BIG time. He could'a killed you. Kick his ass !

aw man that sux dude! i guess ur not coming to the drive ins then? :) oh well at least ur ok and it didnt come flying off when u were on the highway doing 100 or something and at least the wheel didnt fly off into oncoming or parked traffic cause that would have cost u heaps!

i almost got hit by a flying wheel once lol

yeah but im in deep water now

i gotta figure out how to get the car from reservoir to springvale

and thats feckin ages away and its gonna cost a bomb to rent a tow truck to tow that far

i'm wondering if i can drive it on 4 studs slowly down to maybe glenny or something and leave my car there.

Can someone escort me?

thats my only problem now. i still haven't been able to contact the guy. Hes really hard to get a hold of.