gday guys

looking to splash out a bit of cash on some toolage..of the automotive variety

basically after a set of those spanners that are open ended one end, and ring the other end with wratchet inside the ring

repco have set for $199. metric, with from memory, sizes 10,12,14,15,17,19

anyway, was just curious bout anyone's recommendations, or who is a good shop to buy tools from

cheers, mark

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/126974-anyone-recommend-tools/

snap on make very good tools. I used to have a set, but they were stolen from my shed. grrrrrrr.

i've actually got a couple of the repco spanners. I tell you what, I cannot fault them. They are very good tools for their price. The do the same thing as my snap ons did.

The most immprotant thing I have found when looking at tools is to bring a selection of bolts of various sizes and see how tight the spanner fits onto the bolt.

Crap spanners seem to slip a lot. I was trying to install a dump into a friend's car and was using his spanners. they were shit. didn't fit onto the bolt properly.

If you like the repco ones, go have a look at supercheap auto. I personally wouldn't use any of their jacks, electrical equipment, nothing. all that stuff is a joke. it's always recalled. but funnily enough, their spanners are pretty good. not the normal ones. they're called superworks gold. they come with a lifetime warranty. you break it, you get a new one.

I have a set of the superworks gold now. very good tools. it has the needed sizes in metric and imperial. comes with ratchet and sockets too.

My particular set only has a selection of the needed sizes. $179

Honestly, get down to supercrap auto and have look. BUT DO NOT BE TEMPTED TO BUY ANYTHING ELSE. It will either blow up. poke your eye out. chop your hand off. or just not work. I bought a trolley jack, and basically, it exploded and dropped the car.

snap on make very good tools. I used to have a set, but they were stolen from my shed. grrrrrrr

they make the best as far as many mechanics are concerned ... but do you want to pay the price of them.... theu do come with a lifetime warranty ... but you certainly do pay for it...

when i was in in the trade i bought snap on, king crome and sidchrome spanners and ratchets

Edited by akeenan

i still have most of my Snap-on tools from apprentice days and my Uncle had a Van (didnt help on price). Awsome tools but the cost Sheesh!! More better suited as a Tax dodge for business...

Anyway my mate started buying kingcrome and i am really impressed with there stuff as they seem to steal most of the good ideas from the big boys ...

Individual Tools shops are everywhere ! Ask a tradesman in your Area.

Snap on isn't the only one that supply a lifteim warranty.

Sidchrome or kingchrome - can't remember which one.

repco

superworks gold.

BTW, I can't remember which one of sidchrome or kingchrome is the good one. one of them is shit. I think kingchrome is the shit one?

I can't remember this other brand. I've got some oe their tools. They are also very good.

Edited by 97r33gtst-typeM

I would go with the kinchrome tools. Seems to be best bang for your buck in my opinion. You can get them from Bunnings etc.

Really good quality and prices are very reasonable.

Also do a google for transcript direct as thats where I got alot of stuff recently.

first up, forget snap-on. their prices have gotten a lot cheaper and so has their quality. a lot of their tools are no longer made in USA.

if you want good, check out KC or stahle wille. kingchrome is pretty average. fatz tool is no good, it's broken all the time and leaks a bit.

if there's one thing i know... it's tools and you are a fine tool.