• Replies 40

soarers run 2 different sized turbo's, and they just change over. you can set them up so that the bigger turbo is constantly spooling. is a little bit laggier down low, but gets rid of a fair bit of the dead spot.

Interesting to hear that stock cars actually have 2 different size turbos running.

I wonder what would happen if you were to run a small turbo while the bigger turbo is still spooling like for example a T04z. Just the thought of this type of project is interesting. Even though it would seem unreasonable on the money side of things.

Wouldn't it be possible to cancel out lag if this was done? Just thinking of track purposes say in trying to keep maximum power as possible on a turn and also on a straight.

soarers run 2 different sized turbo's, and they just change over. you can set them up so that the bigger turbo is constantly spooling. is a little bit laggier down low, but gets rid of a fair bit of the dead spot.

What model soarer is that? my mate has a 91 1JZ and both of his turbo's are definately CT-12s

The only factory cars I know of running the sequential turbo system (as opposed to parallel) are the S6+ RX7, TT Supra, Mitsubishi GTO and the Mitsubishi Gallant. Not to say there aren't others though...

sorry, my bad, got mixed up with 1jz and 2jz. if the 2jz are the same size, i just assummed that they weren't as a common mod is to wire the turbo control so it keeps the rear turbo spooling the whole time.

and i wasnt' aware that the mitsubishi GTO was sequential. i just thought that it was like a 300zx, since it is a v6, not a straight six, the exhaust flow would be less on the side with the turbo.

and what model gallant? i always thought that they were the 4g63b motor, unless there is a late model with it.

Yep, you're right, I was thinking it wouldn't be possible to run a sequential system on a V6. The GTO runs twin TD04-9b turbo's. I was talking about the VR-4 Galant's but think I was wrong about them too (also V6).

The others I mentioned should be right though :blush:

Assuming you did want an RB26 with sequential turbos, I'd be surprised if you could fit the extra exhaust piping in there. Think of your traditional lowmount single setup, then try to imagine fitting another turbo in there?

Ah well. Whatever makes him feel good about himself.

Funny you mention that I had a BP servo attendant who asked me if I could turn my turbos off at will, and then asked if they would turn off by themselves when the car turned off....i had to hold back the laughter so hard.

Ha, another Autobarn d*ckhead. Reminds me another stupid quote by Shell servo attendant who tells the dude in fornt of me "mate you should use Optimax, you'll pick up HEAPS of power & get another 100klms out of your tank".........he had a stock standard Hyundai Excel.

youll get a little more power.. and u should get more fuel economy but it wont justify for the extra 10cents per litre he will pay.

u hear alot of crazy shit originating from teenagers mouths. im a late teen myself and all my friends go put pods on ur gtr. MORE POWER. no u dickhead. but being an ex-apprentice mechanic i know better. kids will learn in time. this is their learning process

the late model 1996- VR4 galant is a V6 TT uses small lil TD04 or 03s.

youll get a little more power.. and u should get more fuel economy but it wont justify for the extra 10cents per litre he will pay.

i have had plenty of people tell me that they get better fuel economy from premium (not on my skyline). i have tried it on a trip and around town and never made any noticable difference. might be beacuse they are in older cars. i did it in my magna with a trip computer and with regular from here to brisbane i'd get 9.0L per 100k, with premium i'd get 8.9. thats an extra 200m per litre.

and you don't really gain any more power from premium, you tune the car to give you more power though. you can change the timing, which gives more power, but if you just fill up with premium and don't change anything you won't notice it.

u hear alot of crazy shit originating from teenagers mouths. im a late teen myself and all my friends go put pods on ur gtr. MORE POWER. no u dickhead. but being an ex-apprentice mechanic i know better. kids will learn in time. this is their learning process

What you say is true but I reckon this fella was at least 28 y.o......!?

also my mate got a brand new 06 astra just the shitty 1.8 or 2.0L thingo. he put a pod on (he got me to) and he started to run premium as a test. and he says that he got more power. my mate also had a RB30DE R31 siloette (burnout machine) and he started to run premium cause he says it runs smoother and better. good enough for me

dyno proof of the power gain?

the rb30 is built as a performance motor i'm guessing, so it would run better on premium. premium is a better fuel, don't get me wrong. but on most new cars they are only tuned for regular unleaded, so unless you tune them for premium it isn't going to make a difference. and to notice a power difference the difference has to be about 10hp minimum. if you were to do 2 perfect runs at the drags and had 5hp extra on the second run, you would be about 1mph quicker at the end of the run, and do a time 0.1 of a second quicker. so i think it would be pretty hard to notice a power gain through using different fuel.

Edited by mad082