this is a r33 series 2 i bought damaged and have been slowly fixing it up :)

this is it when it first arrived from the tow truck

DSCF0076.JPG

pic of it getting pulled apart

DSCF0083.JPG

engine been removed

engine%20out.JPG

engine%20out1.JPG

i then purchased another skyline series 2 for the parts which the whole car was f**ked accept the front end

parts1.JPG

i then got my car ready for trial fit of the front end ( doing cut and shut to firewall )

r33%20no%20front%20end.jpg

now i have it all clamped into postion and trial fit everything

front%20end%20trial%20fit.JPG

front end is currently getting sandblasted, followed by priming it, then welding on :)

thought some people might be interested anyway enjoy !

• Replies 40

How will you be rewelding it?

Are you taking it from the seem at around where the seats are?

did you unstitch it at the seem and slide it into the chassis rail?

The reason why I said it looked like a death trap is, I hope you're not just literally chopping off the damged bit and welding on the new front?

How will you be rewelding it?

Are you taking it from the seem at around where the seats are?

did you unstitch it at the seem and slide it into the chassis rail?

The reason why I said it looked like a death trap is, I hope you're not just literally chopping off the damged bit and welding on the new front?

those cuts on the rail are with the oxy as if im going to join to that

ive unpicked the rails to factory joins by drilling the spot welds abit under the firewall

i will be plug welding them back up with the mig as i cannot re spot them in that postion

no im not cutting near the seats which most people do

i am qualified panel beater btw.. :(

Well from what i've been told by VicRoads, they're illegal...

If they are in fact illegal, panel shops doing them all the time doesn't make them legal

that is a stupid thing to say.. i dont recall saying anything about panel shops making them legal

and as i previously said i dont know the vic laws nor do i really care.

To my understanding of metal properties, once you stress metal ( ie smashing the front end ) you loose alot of the metals strength then cutting and welding the chassis with a vertical join I dont see how it will be stronger.

Being a qualified panel beater just means you can do the job on the sly , My dad and brother are both qualified panel beaters and they both said its illegal straight away .

You would have been better getting another car where the chassis is okay (maybe a roll over ) then build from there.

im not here to question you or flame you mate. Hope your car turns out well. Wish i could be bothered taking two wrecks and making one car hehe. is it working out cheaper for you than buying 1 good one ?

keep the progress updated :D

Much respect for the sheer amount of work! Not my cup of tea though. I seriously hope that you will inform the potential buyer should you wish to sell in the future.

In relation to the chassis will there be any compromise in the chassis structual rigidity?

Edited by Remix-

Coming along well!

The thing i cant understand is if this is so "dangerous" as others have put it, how the hell do hot rods, utes, limos etc which have had an altered chassis mods still get rego and drive on the street??

I assume everything in this case will be strengthened and done properly

I think when people hear cut and shut they think backyard job automatically? Bit of a stereotype methinks