phunky_monkey Posted September 3, 2006 Share Posted September 3, 2006 Hey all, Was having a good look at the rear wings off of a Holden V8 supercar over the weekend and wouldn't mind trying to get my hands on one for my car. Does anyone here have any connections to sourcing one of these secondhand/not using anymore/last years wing etc?? Thanks Dane Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTRgeoff Posted September 3, 2006 Share Posted September 3, 2006 Sorry mate, my contacts are with Ozemail and Stone Brothers so Ford only. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2460043 Share on other sites More sharing options...
phunky_monkey Posted September 4, 2006 Author Share Posted September 4, 2006 ahhhh drats!! Geoff, do you think that they'd have any of the wings off of the older cars, or development series?? I saw some of the utes had the T wings, which is what I'm looking for... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2460159 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beer Baron Posted September 4, 2006 Share Posted September 4, 2006 i've got a sard 3D GT wing (JGTC style) sitting in my office that I want to flog if you'r keen. It's suitably massive, and light and looks pretty serious. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2460169 Share on other sites More sharing options...
phunky_monkey Posted September 4, 2006 Author Share Posted September 4, 2006 Hey Richard, yeah mate I may be interested. Can you send me through some pics?? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2460235 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowman Posted September 4, 2006 Share Posted September 4, 2006 Dane - Benno's wing is off a V8 Supercar. Perhaps give him a call. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2460488 Share on other sites More sharing options...
phunky_monkey Posted September 4, 2006 Author Share Posted September 4, 2006 Depending on shipping costs I'll probably go for Richard's wing, but if it falls through I'll give him a buzz. Thanks Snowy Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2460502 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan Posted September 10, 2006 Share Posted September 10, 2006 Ford wing would be better it is mounted at the sides not middle so it will be more firmly mounted. Richard I need your wing for the new car. As long as it is bigger than John P's. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2478906 Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTRgeoff Posted September 10, 2006 Share Posted September 10, 2006 My, we are on a shopping spree tonight Duncan........ Dane I didn't think the Utes had wings. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2478959 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan Posted September 10, 2006 Share Posted September 10, 2006 shhh...I think Kel can see us talking..... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2478978 Share on other sites More sharing options...
phunky_monkey Posted March 13, 2007 Author Share Posted March 13, 2007 On the lookout again, just thought I'd see if anyone had seen one for a decent price floating around? Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2976854 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roy Posted March 14, 2007 Share Posted March 14, 2007 Ford or Holden? My 2c...if its for your car jsut stick with a late model 180SX rear spoiler. Be more functional then most you buy and look cleaner Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2977154 Share on other sites More sharing options...
phunky_monkey Posted March 14, 2007 Author Share Posted March 14, 2007 Holden Yeah, functionality is the reason I want a supercar wing, at least I will know it will do something. The type X wing I'm not sure about... Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2977178 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beer Baron Posted March 14, 2007 Share Posted March 14, 2007 my advice is don't listen to troys advice. get the biggest, nastiest wing you can. sadly my JGTC wing is gone now. finding a home on a silvia. I regret selling my big nasty one now as it would not look too out of place on my car anymore with the new rims, and cage, and seat, and winglets etc. oh well. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2977183 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beer Baron Posted March 14, 2007 Share Posted March 14, 2007 just volunteer as a marshall at a race like adelaide or indy. there is bound to be plenty of carnage on a street course. then when one gets knocked off, run out, grab it, then keep on running!! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2977189 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roy Posted March 14, 2007 Share Posted March 14, 2007 HoldenYeah, functionality is the reason I want a supercar wing, at least I will know it will do something. The type X wing I'm not sure about... Functional. They are a pretty big wing, and they run in combination with undertrays on V8 Supercars. Sure give one a go. But i think you will find Nissan didn enough homework on teh Type X wong that you will be ok. All gut, no real science, but i know of two cars that are slowers around Sandown and PI with aftermarket wings Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2977218 Share on other sites More sharing options...
phunky_monkey Posted March 14, 2007 Author Share Posted March 14, 2007 That wing would have been good Richard, but I figured Duncan had got it anyways. I like this biggest, nastiest wing I can find idea, hence the supercars At least they're suitably wide enough for my car, and cheaper than a big f**koff C-west carbon job. Troy, I'm planning on running an undertray as well. I'm also aware of it possibly making me slower, so I was going to try just an undertray to start with to minimise the drag of a big wing, and if I'm not happy then invest in a wing. I feel that I need something on there, and ideally it would be some sort of lip/ducktail, but I'm worried that something like that may throw my aero out of whack. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2977285 Share on other sites More sharing options...
West Posted March 20, 2007 Share Posted March 20, 2007 Didnt' one of us have an ex K-mart racing wing? I think it was Garreth he is, maybe ask him! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2992886 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beer Baron Posted March 20, 2007 Share Posted March 20, 2007 there is a JacK daniels V8 SC look a like at sports bar atm in crown complete with rear wing. I say down a few beers to enlarge the balls and shrink the brain then get in there with your tool kit. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2992914 Share on other sites More sharing options...
KamikazeR33 Posted March 20, 2007 Share Posted March 20, 2007 zziinnnggg Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/132822-v8-supercar-rear-wing/#findComment-2993040 Share on other sites More sharing options...