195rwkw

2.3 second 60 foot

13.6@105mph

Launched at about 3 grand sliping the clutch with a little wheel spin any more revs or a dump of the clutch would relult in to much wheel spin and similar times to what you got. To little a revs would result in the car bogging down and getting similar times to what you got. Im pretty quick though the gears but struggled on the launch for a start. The last run was about as good as I could do with the 235 tyres I had.

Ive heard that if you can take 0.1 of your 60ft it results in .2 or .3 at the end.

I attatched the time slip I was racing a stipped out BMW M3 with simi slicks, with a 1.87 60 ft time he managed a 12.9 at the same 105mph.

With better tyres and better 60 footer a 12 would be possible with a 190-200rwkw GTS25-T

keep practicing

post-28325-1159227178.jpg

Edited by Munna1

Cheers Munna1 can you talk me through the slipping of the clutch trick as im not quite understanding how this is done.

and y would my car Bog down when i jam it into 4th gear. is that a clutch problem. ? (i still have the stock clutch)

I thought Nickr33 explained it well earlier in the thread.

3,500 is too much in my opinion... try about 2,500 and when the light goes green dont drop the clutch, ride it out slowly as you keep your right foot pinned to the floor... if you feel too much wheelspin ease the clutch out slower, if you feel it start to bog drop it quicker etc etc... change at 6,500 - 7000 trying not to hit the limiter, changing slightly early is better than smashing the limiter... your power curve flattens out at about 6,000 anyway... make sure your changes are nice and crisp and you should see the 13's no worries

I do much the same thing exept I usually launch at just under 3000rpm, and slip the clutch while squeezing the gas peddle in rather than keeping it pinned to the floor. Its hard to explain but you learn to feel when the wheels are going to spin, you want to get just a little bit of wheel spin, too much will have you bag up the tyres and you will go no-where, to little and you will bogg down its a very fine line.

If feel its going to spin to much I give it slightly less throttle and slightly more clutch, If I feel its going to bog I give it slightly more throttle and slightly less clutch.

Track condition, suspention, and tyre all play a part in what revs I start at and how much gas/clutch slip I need. Takes me a few runs to work all this out.

Im a novice (2.3 60ft is shit), theres probably better ways to launch but thats what worked best for me.

Id be interested to hear how some of the more experienced drag races launch.

Not sure why it bogs down in 4th by the look of your dyno sheet you have a nice wide power band I change into 4th at spot on 150kmph which is very close to the rev limiter, maybe you change a little early? If it where your clutch you would notice it in other gears easpecially lower ones. I have a exeedy heavy duty its a great clutch with an exellent feel.

Edited by Munna1

2500rpm is way to low to launch with. you are leaving the line off boost. my mate was launghing his 33 at 3500, then i told him to go to 4500 and he ran his quickest time of the night, and his 60ft times dropped from 2.4's to a 2.2

Well thats exactly it.. It comes down to tyres. It really is amazing what a decent set will do to traction.

yes. 'hard as' 205/55/16's trying to put down over 200kw + 1st gear @ WOT = sideways instead of fowards

I remember the rb20 with with 160rwkw running 205's.. They would light up and skate around in second. :pirate:

They were near the end of their life though. :O

How worn a tyre is makes a huge difference to its traction levels.

2500rpm is way to low to launch with. you are leaving the line off boost. my mate was launghing his 33 at 3500, then i told him to go to 4500 and he ran his quickest time of the night, and his 60ft times dropped from 2.4's to a 2.2

i did a 2.0 60ft taking off at around 2500rpm but suppose different setups, take off techinques etc all are factors affecting launch & somethings work for some but not for others

This was mine... first time ever.. 1.. 2... 3.. GO.. *SHIT ITS GREEN I NEED TO GO*

R/T = 0.870 <---lolz

60" = 2.438 <---lolz

330" = 6.560 <---haw haw

660" = 9.696

mph = 80.76

1000" = 12.318

ET = 14.535 <-okish

MPH = 102.52

km/h = 164.99

Just for interest the tyres I used where hankook Ventus Sport K104 with about 80% tread, 235's on a 17" rims 25psi tyre pressure. It was a 30 degree day at heathcote, traction got better when the big boys came out and layed down heaps of sticky rubber.