Hey guys, the time has come to road reg my R32, so I need to find a stock airbox. It's roadworthy right now, but I'd rather not take any chances with the rego as I'm only in town till friday to do the rego and getting a second appointment could take forever.

I just need an R32 GTSt airbox (apparently the GTS one dosen't line up properly but I could be wrong) for the rego check and I'll have it back to you as soon as I'm done.

If anyone has one lying around I can come and pick it up anytime before Wednesday.

Shan

wow... thanks guys... i can feel the love :pirate:

Gonna borrow Kaz's sometime before Wed arvo as she's not far from my place (just worked out that its 3 left turns and a right turn).

I'll see you all on Sunday morning for brekky tho. Hopefully with my newly registered car.

Altho I just found out the engineer's cert I had expired not long ago and the engineer who issued it is in New Zealand atm :O lets hope they accept the older one.

wow... thanks guys... i can feel the love :pirate:

Gonna borrow Kaz's sometime before Wed arvo as she's not far from my place (just worked out that its 3 left turns and a right turn).

I'll see you all on Sunday morning for brekky tho. Hopefully with my newly registered car.

Altho I just found out the engineer's cert I had expired not long ago and the engineer who issued it is in New Zealand atm :O lets hope they accept the older one.

hehehe. good luck with that :O

they wouldnt register my car because he left RB off the engine prefix...Had to get a re write on the RWC, new appointment etc....

the car's already had an inspection, and it passed everything, cept I couldn't pay the rego as I had just paid the rego on the cef and was $50 short. How embarassment.

Then I went to syd for interviews n stuff, so left the R32 here. Now I'm back to get my car, I rang VicRoads and the guy asked me if I had already rego'd it under my name, coz the VIN and my details were already on it.

So lets hope they're a lil more leniant as it's already been inspected with that engineer's cert. I've got a current roady, so it shouldn't be that much of an issue, unless they're real diligent.

Otherwise I might have to extend my stay in VIC for a lil while until the engineer's cert's gets redone.

Im local ;) - come get whatever you need from my R32 when you're up here

Airbox etc.....

I would... cept I'm keepin my cars all with VIC reg :D sif get a roadworthy cert every year and deal with multicoloured slips for different things.... most. confusing. registry. process. ever.

Hey Kaz, do you mind if I come pick it up tomorrow morning? I'll give you a call beforehand.

Redid the booking for monday, gonna get the engineer to redo the cert on friday, and should be 100% fine then.

Which means I'll be comin to the breakfast meet in a Hyundai :D

I have nothing to offer you of any help, i didn't even read the thread, I just thought i'd take the opportunity to tell you you suck, and you look quite at home in a hyundai.

Eat me!! :(:dry:

sorry only just saw this, had no net today.. networking issues!

Anyway should be ok, going to city nissan again at some point though, about what time?

I was going to try and see if I could drop it over to you last night but I blew a hose in the city in peak hour, had to get a tow home from jack. :)

Eva fell asleep in jacks truck LOL. Smooth ride I guess :D

you suck, and you look quite at home in a hyundai.

Eat me!! :(:)

Just for that I'm gonna come knocking on your door with a bottle of scotch and something for you to jam under my cluster.

Anywho, turns out the roadworthy guys, VICroads and the engineer didn't need the airbox fitted, so I went ahead and got it all sorted out.

Thanks for the offers in any case guys.

COOL I'm sleeping in then :) (hopefully!)

Oh probably a bit late now, but don't ever go to Carlton Vicroads.. that old grey guy in the 'drivethrough' is an utter (& bitter) prick. Greensborough Vicroads are fairly reasonable/nice though.

Burwood Vicroads is where I got it done... they're pretty easy going, although he did give me some hassle about the VIN number being stamped on the strut tower instead of the firewall.

Other than that, all done and ready to go.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• Hi guys, has anyone either purchased or built themselves a rotisserie for their car before? I can only just justify the need for one hence why I should just make one but at the same time, if I make one I can kiss another 4 weeks of potentially productive car working time goodbye because I'm building a bloody rotisserie....  I mainly want it for the application of the body deadener.  Cleaning the old stuff off, priming and then colour over the deadener doesn't worry me, it's just the application using the Schutz Gun that I feel would achieve a significantly better finish painting it side on and keeping the Schutz Gun upright.  I don't think they would work well on the side let alone almost upside down for some areas.  If the product I use (Terosun, etc) could work through a HVLP ok then it might be ok to apply without the rotisserie.   I can get one of these style ones for about $1200 which is pretty good value-     I reckon if I made one it would cost around $500 but it's more the time that it would take is more of a killer than the cost.  They look to hold their value pretty well second hand so I could always sell it after using it and realistically only lose $200-$300 at worst.  Or keep it and buy another project when this one finally sees the light of day... Anyone selling one...? Cheers!  
    • While it is a very nice idea to put card style AFMs into the charge pipe (post intercooler, obviously), the position of the AFM and the recirc valve relative to each other starts to become something that you really have to consider. The situation: The stock AFM is located upstream the turbo, and the recirc valve return is located between the AFM and the turbo inlet, aimed at the turbo inlet, so that it flows away from and not through the AFM. Thus, once metered air is not metered again, neither flowing forwards, or backwards, when vented out of the charge pipe. When you put the AFM between the turbo outlet and the TB, there is a volume of pressurised charge pipe upstream of the AFM and there is a volume of pressurised pipe downstream of the AFM. When the recirc valve opens and vents the charge pipe, air is going to flow from both ends of the charge pipe towards the recirc valve. If the recirc valve is in the stock location, then the section between it and the TB doesn't really matter here - you're not going to try to put the AFM in that piece of pipe. But the AFM will likely be somewhere between the intercooler and the recirc valve, So the entire charge pipe volume from that position (upstream of the AFM, back through the intercooler, to the turbo outlet) is going to flow through the AFM, get registered as combustion air, cause the ECU to fuel for it, but get dumped out of the recirc valve and you will end up with a typical BOV related rich spike. So ideally you want to put the AFM as close to the TB as possible (so, just upstream of the crossover pipe, assuming that the stock crossover is still in use, or, just before the TB if an FFP is being used) and locate the recirc valve at the turbo outlet. Recirc valve at the turbo outlet is the new normal for things like EFRs anyway. In the even of a recirc valve opening dumping all the air in the charge pipe, pretty much all of it is going to go backwards, from the TB to the recirc valve near the turbo outlet. But only a small portion of it (that between the TB and the AFM) will pass through the AFM, and it will pass through going backwards. The card style AFMs are somewhat more immune to reading flow that passes through them in reverse than older AFMs are, so you should absolutely minimise the rich pulse behaviour associated with the unavoidable outcome of having both a recirc valve and an AFM in the charge pipe.
    • Yep, in my case as soon as I started hearing weird noises I backed off the tension until it sounded normal again. Delicate balance between enough tension to avoid that cold start slip and too much damaging things.
    • I'm almost at a point where I feel like changing the alternator. Need to check the stuff you mentioned first though.