Defected!

DriftR_33

i have my fc controller mounted similar to jasons, when ever im getting pulled over i stick it under my floor mat, or down the side of th drivers seat.. has worked so far. except one time when i forgot & the cop asked about it, i just said it monitors engine temps & other info and he didnt say anything else. :laugh:

• Replies 97

I got through Regency with a locker, no worries :laugh: . Mind you, it wasnt a defect it was a import inspection to get it registered. but it should be the same.

Just make sure, as someone said before, you put some friction modifier to make it slip, if it is not noisy you would be allright!

It is better than taking the diff out.

Good luck mate

Fark...can't someone buy some food and eat in peace these days?!! It was the interior that would have caused the trouble, hand controller and Turbo timer just sitting there like that. Height looks (looked) fine from what i can see. That is bullcrap. And the fact that police get away with the presumption that they make Money from pulling over skyline rather than protecting people really shows what they're after!

Can always look at getting engineered for coilovers, dont know how much will cost but they can set it so that it cant be lowered and will get thru, a mate got defected coming out of autotechnica in a modified 34 and he is getting engineering done. If not good luck fella.

They are the GMax rims M078 i posted up earlier in the year arent they in the hyper black, machined lip?

Also have a single din shelf if you want to borrow to cover up all those wires underneath the stereo.

Edited by gts33t

i have my fc controller mounted similar to jasons, when ever im getting pulled over i stick it under my floor mat, or down the side of th drivers seat.. has worked so far. except one time when i forgot & the cop asked about it, i just said it monitors engine temps & other info and he didnt say anything else. :)

yeah thats what i did just put it down the side of my seat just before they look in, BUT i had no time!

He was on me so fast...

thats ok about the ecu. i have a stock one thanks Darren.

with the fc if i disconnect do i need a re-tune?

from behind my car you could see the apexi boost gauge stereo fc ect. glowing colors. that would be why they looked, he said to me "angine manegement? does that mean its chipped" i was like its just for data. :)

i think they would have found the fc. because they searched my whole car!

HAHA!!! :)

yeah, i used to own a rx7 s3 and around the corner from regency i packed the mufler full of steal wool :)

got off defect, then flattend it down the street it had a moment then BANG!

she come back to life :D

just try and make car stock. it wont be much work.

just disconnect everything etc.

they defected your exhaust for being to lound i presume? go to exhaust technology just of goodwood rd, im pretty sure they will test ya exhaust to see how loud and give ya document for free. thats what they said when i thought i needed one before i went to regency. That way they wont test ya exhaust at regency. or ya could just stuff muffler full of steel wool haha...

for sure, steel wool in the muffler, however if you are taking off the turbo the stock dump pipe etc is a 5min boltup job, for piece of mind that the zaust isnt an issue.

either way, best of luck with regency etc.......... damn what a stress/nightmare. Its just not right.

man, my Stagea is a 10yr car no doubt. Next mod will have it around 200awkw, fully sorted. Im fairly sure she wont have a problem being picked on, as they just look like a discreet car IMO. A nice & safe family wagon :D

I feel Skylines will forever have a 'bad name' attached to them in the eyes of the law, unless the practices of the law enforcment agency changes for the better and focus to more important matters. Yeah right. All my early cars were deathtraps - build & quality matters :( Top all-round performing cars should be encouraged as the car of choice; slash the road injury toll.

and have like a * class licence system the less speeding fines you get and accidents the more stars your earn meaning the more powerfull exotic car you can have

lol

or perhaps the less you pay on rego....................

:D agreed

i heard in germany and sum european countries rego is paid with your fuel so everytime you fill you car up its registered hence no car driven on the road is unregistered...

but in saying that fuel prices would be a little dearer cause its pay as you go but i think thats a good idea instead of paying $1.00 a litre pay $1.50 and thats your rego too

i also own and EA falcon, its in ok nick.. BUT it brakes very slow, floats over the road.

it is obvious that the system is not in place to take unroadworthy cars off the road,

focusing police resorces on defects that have no "unsafe" effect to road users, whilst it is "legal"

to purchase these items and have them fitted.

i used to have alot of respect for the police force, and have kept out of trouble since my younger years.

we are all targets for a scorce of revenue :D

I had the biggest attempted intimidating stare from a cop in an undercover car today...

I was sitting smack on the speed limit in the left lane with cars passing me. When I realised I instantly felt anger which simply isn't on. They shouldn't make you feel that way towards them when your just cruising along minding your own business.

Do remember mine is 100% stock looking from the outside, hell even the exhaust looks stock and its super difficult to see the fmic and I putt around like a grandma everywhere.

But it is the minority as I had passed 4 other cops and they didn't bat an eyelid.

Then last night.. lol I was frekin road raged by some ugly punk in his VT 250i Commodore... Cruising along on the speedlimit (80km/h) when he decides to boot it out in front of me with no blinker off the dirt. He litereally just yanked it out in front of me, I jammed the brakes dropped to 50km/h and still had a good 2 car length gap, he accelerated to speed limit as did I, still not tailgating or flashing etc.. Then he pulls over, I pass he swerves at me as I pass then boots it up my arse with the high beams on.

Gotta love the skylines fold in mirrors... Fold them in slightly flick the center revision mirror and no more bright lights. :D

Then thoughts started running through my head.. "what if that prick reports me for hoon driving or some crap when I clearly haven't lmao..

thats ok i almost got cleaned up by a landcruise comming down the hill from nuemans horseradish place @ TTG he was like 2ft on my side of the road just checking trafic or sm shit and it wasint even in a place he could pass was like double corner :(

if it wasnt for quick minded ness and car with agility would of got cleaned up

Well I did the right thing last week & stopped at an intersection when ther lights were out instead of risking taking off in front of other oncoming cars & guess what? SMACK hit from behind.

The car was only a Mazda 2 with this big softie of a guy behind the wheel, seemed like an alright bloke (after I'd blasted the *&@# out of him), but simply just didn't know how to drive to the conditions.

I also saw a middle aged woman in a VN only the week before tailgating a Landcruiser on my way to work. I thought to myself "It's only a matter of time before this stupid woman runs into the back of someone & guess what? Only a few minutes up the road, there was a thud followed by headlight glass & crap flying everywhere around her car, she hit him.

I was following just behind with tonnes of room driving as smartly as required when you have a tailgating idiot in front of you.

Personally I think we need to come up with a way of making us (as well as other fellow car entusiasts) more credible when it comes to our cars & how well we drive them, because the current system completely fails.

They set the poor standard (honestly who here though it was really hard in hindsight to get their lisence?), we need to prove we're well above it.

^^ agreed i hate those monkey drivers that say where allways in the wrong then u see them on the phone smoking going around a corner while giving you the finger oh and a drink in there hand too :)

but yes sumthing needs to be done...

i got pulled over once by a motorcycle cop and he said to me why did u take off fast (this was like 1 week after Drews accident) funnily enough i car pull out accross the both of us requiring me to check my speed then 200m he pulled me over... i said i like to be in front so i can clearly see clowns like that and adjust my driving as nessasery