Hey sau'ers, today I was offered a job on the Sunshine Coast and I accepted it, so in a few weeks time I will be based over there, and of course I will be joining the SAU Qld chapter :P

So I have a few questions to ask first off that might be able to help me out, and some are long-term, so hopefully a few of you can help me out!

Queensland rego - How hard is it to obtain? How hard is it to obtain with a very modifed import? Also if I could get some helpful links that would be great ;) Also, what are the police like over there? (keep it clean!) In Perth I have been pulled over twice in a year and a half, and have never had any dramas at all. I've had a couple follow me but they would have ran the plates & seen I've only ever had one fine, are they similar there?

Workshops/Tuners - Who is recommended & used by people on here? Are there any suitable ones north of Brisbane? I will be about an hour and a half drive from Brissie so obivously something closer (Noosa region) would be better off. (Long term)

Also, what's the cost of petrol there & what is available? Here is only BP Ultimate, I know over east there are 4 to pick from so do Queensland have all 4?? I also enjoy the occasional trip to the skidpan, what's around?? :(

Looking forward to getting there, setting myself up & then joining up as soon as I'm settled, any help with these questions will be appreciated!!

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/142336-im-coming-to-queensland/

Cool bananas! (actually we dont have much bananas atm)

Um, registering your car isnt very hard at all. from what I remember if your car is unregistered you need a Safety Cert. to get it registered. Im not sure how it works when you want to transfer your WA rego to QLD but here is their web site

http://www.transport.qld.gov.au/

Im sure if you have queeries about your mods and registering, you could ask someone here how they went about getting their highly modded r33 registered.

Cops are fine if you act sensibly. When you get here, Sam (baysidebluer34) might be able to point you in the right directions with the sunny coast.

There are posts somewhere in the QLD section about Mechanics etc etc and where they are.

Petrol ATM (for 98) on a tuesday night can go around 110c to 115c.

Well enjoy

http://www.shell.com/home/Framework?siteId...ut_ga_1602.html

bam, V power Racing. is the ethonol one. heck i havent been to a petrol pump in 2 months andyet i know.. Look harder John you will find it

Yeah, V-power Racing replaced the Shell Optimax Extreme and is still 100 octane. But, the pumps that dispense it are prone to problems as they aren't used to the ethanol yet and are often broken. It goes well in our cars!!

Are you sure Dave, i was told by a number of members on here not to use it, as pre 2000 nissans cant use it for some reason...

but i guess if you been using with no problmesn must be alright

skid pan at gympie about 40mins north of noosa area.

cops can be a pain buut they usually have blitz's on every now and again bust a whole lot of ppl, then calm down for a bit.

fuel, there is plenty to choose from,

and alot of ppl use a guy name marty from round here , he runs his own business from his house, there isnt much in the eway of tuning shops outside brisbane/goldy area, especially up here, ppl have tried and failed before. ive seen them come and ive seen them go.

but yeah marty would be your best bet

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...howtopic=138704

try this thread it will give u all the info you need.

cheers daz.

good luck with you new job, its a good life up here :P

Thanks for the replies guys, pretty helpful and I think I'm on the right track to go about it now :D

I will also be based in Coolum by the way, an hour and a half to Brisbane isn't all that bad.

ps Where's the nearest Casino? I need my poker fix :rofl:

Hey sau'ers, today I was offered a job on the Sunshine Coast and I accepted it, so in a few weeks time I will be based over there, and of course I will be joining the SAU Qld chapter :rofl:

So I have a few questions to ask first off that might be able to help me out, and some are long-term, so hopefully a few of you can help me out!

Queensland rego - How hard is it to obtain? How hard is it to obtain with a very modifed import? Also if I could get some helpful links that would be great ;) Also, what are the police like over there? (keep it clean!) In Perth I have been pulled over twice in a year and a half, and have never had any dramas at all. I've had a couple follow me but they would have ran the plates & seen I've only ever had one fine, are they similar there?

Workshops/Tuners - Who is recommended & used by people on here? Are there any suitable ones north of Brisbane? I will be about an hour and a half drive from Brissie so obivously something closer (Noosa region) would be better off. (Long term)

Also, what's the cost of petrol there & what is available? Here is only BP Ultimate, I know over east there are 4 to pick from so do Queensland have all 4?? I also enjoy the occasional trip to the skidpan, what's around?? :D

Looking forward to getting there, setting myself up & then joining up as soon as I'm settled, any help with these questions will be appreciated!!

a) Depends on how modified your car as, if you cant get a roadworthy than it should be a simple case of transfering rego over. Expect to get pilled over by the cops here, there are quite a few cops on the coast who have personal vandetta's against car enthusiasts. Some people might dissagree but i and other sunnt coasters will tell you what realy goes on. They do have blitzes every now and then usualy on a sunday.. Just make sure your name and rego stays out of the little note pads they carry around..

b) We have PB Ultimate 98, Shell (whatever it is 98) And caltex Vortex 98, they're the best ones. As said gimpie has some skid pans ect and isn't to far away. We can show you some realy realy realy good hills (touge) roads to ' cruise ' along aswell that are pretty easy to get to aswell..

c) MW Performance & Mechanical (Martin Wasley) 0407403378 [email protected] Martys is the _only_ mechanic i would trust to work on my import on the coast, the _only_..

What job did you get btw? Seems like a pretty big move! Lets us know when you arrive.. Welcome to the sunshine state.

Mat. :)

Congratulations on the job and welcome to QLD!

I look forward to meeting you when you make it over. You will love it here, the Sunny Coast is a really nice laid back place with plenty of nice roads off away from the heat of the fuzz.

Like any place, the fuzz have their hotspots which they frequent so when you first come over I highly recommend you catch up with the locals and go for a cruise and work out how it all works to avoid trouble.

To the best of my knowledge, for QLD rego transfer you will need to get a Road Worthy Certificate which is now called a Safety Certificate. These are easy to get and if you have any troubles please ask a fellow member in person and some 'assistance' may be possible in relation to obtaining one. Check the rules/laws, but you can run around for a while with rego from out of state.

I wish you well with the new job and I hope you find somewhere good to shack up.

Ben.

Thanks for the replies guys, pretty helpful and I think I'm on the right track to go about it now :rant:

I will also be based in Coolum by the way, an hour and a half to Brisbane isn't all that bad.

ps Where's the nearest Casino? I need my poker fix :whistling:

I know theres Poker at Jupiters at the Gold Coast, not sure about the Tresuary but there should be. thats in the Brisbane CBD, there are tons of free poker tournments every night around Queensland... dont win much but its free

hi mate,

i lived in perth for 5 years, i can tell u few things about qld differences.

there is no PITS here. just 'queensland transport', and that normally means, get a RWC done, go to the office, take ur rego papers and RWC papers. wait in the queue, pay ur rego, and ur done. no car mandatory car inspections, or anything.

the only time they check up on ur car, if u tell them its highly modified at teh trans department or they dont like the look of you. lol

cops same as everywhere i guess. although the road rules here are a bit over the top. but if u keep ur nose clean u wont have an issue.

ill leave the rest for the everyone else :(

Edited by silverbulletR33
Thanks for the replies guys, pretty helpful and I think I'm on the right track to go about it now :)

ps Where's the nearest Casino? I need my poker fix :)

coolum is good, nearest casino would be brisbane treasury.

but they play pub and club tournaments for fun all around the coast and u dont have to loose any money while u are practicing lol