The answer is no.

Even in stock form it already exceed power to weight ratio set by Vicroads. cops may not be aware of it, but if you ever got into an accident on your P's, and someone finds out about it, you may not be covered by any insurers and you'll be on under the knife from police and vicroads.

Only R33 GTS (non-turbo) are eligible for P platers. However you can have a GTS-t registered under your name, but you're just not allowed to drive it. Strange rule, I know, but I'm not the one who write the law.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-287448

while it is true that they are over the power to weight ratio, i do not know of anyone who has had a problem with police / insurance in any case. I am also sure companies like Just Cars who insure all the P platers are fully aware of the rules, yet they still seem to pay out

The problem is, there are no official power figures recorded for the car in Australia. If it came down to it, the 184kw nissan claims could be proven wrong, as that would have been using their 100ron fuel.

just my 2 cents :)

dave

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-287488

184kw...

the rule is 115kw per tonne.. my gtst is 1420kg which is 130kw per tonne.

Im on my P's btw, and over summer I was caught speeding while overtaking a car. I also got done for not having p plates (which I did) and crossing double lines which i didnt do... so these guys were pretty big ****wits, and they didnt say anything about power to weight.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-287494

in my opinion, cops don't care about jap cars much in terms of P plates power to weight ratio, they care more about trying to find defective parts to give you a canary

I've seen p platers driving an evo, and gtr in front of cops and they don't seem to care

I don't know about aussie cars as the cops may know more about the power to weight ratio about them, but for non aussie cars, they seem to know nothing about them unless it's a porsche or ferrari, which they often look (in case it's stolen etc) to see how old the driver is

and for me, I find that I get less hassle from cops when I don't have my P plates on, althought I got a fine for no p plates after I cut in front of a cop once, so now I put them back up on one car, and then got pulled over the next day for no reasons as cops loves to pick on P platers somehow

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-287503

by the way its 125kw per tonne as the legal limit for P platers in Victoria. I had to do extensive searching before i bought my car as i drive approx. 90 km per day along major roads and have been pulled over 3 times for 'random liscence checks' in the 2 years i have had my liscense.

the r32gtst is the best skyline for P platers as its 124.1 kw per tonne. It goes by tare weight not the actual weight and also by the engine's rated power, not the power its putting out.

its all in the book you have to learn to pass the test.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-287763

... i didnt reaise there was such a restriction in Vic for P platers, that sucks.

My experience with friends is people have bigger accidents in less powerful cars because they overdrive them and dont respect that it doesnt take that much power to get into trouble.

How long you on Ps for in Vic, in syd its soemthing like 2 or 3 years these days.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-287961

well said 007

just getting back to the tare weight thing, so do u mean if you were pulled over, questioned about power to weight, but u had a full car plus luggage, and roof racks with ski's for good measure :P u couldn't say that u were under the power to weight ratio?

Well from what i've read, GTS-t 187kw, at like 1370kg? Making it 187kw's at 1.37 tonnes = 136.5kw/tonne

R34 GT-T, 206kw at 1410kg = 146.1kw/tonne (whoops!!:D)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-288145

Thanks Gohan :P

Yep, its calculated by the known tare and power, so no matter how much crap you have on it, it makes no difference. Maybe it means you can have a fully blown 500hp hyundai excel and its fine, but not a 250hp GTSt?? hehe

And yeah the hooning thing, its funny because I notice that of all the cars driving along side me, I tend to accelerate the most smoothly and actually keep to the speedlimit. Yet I am the "dangerous" P plater in the powerful car. What a crock of SH1T

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-288162

Guest 91nismotrx

police do hassle p platers more... for instance, i went to meet up with nismor34 in prahran and i dashed down chapel st to get to this carpark & a police officer pulled me over to inspect my car, he told me that he only pulled me over because i had p plates on my car. pricks.

another thing, i've had my p's for 4 years now. i got them when i was 17 (i lived in brisbane) when i moved to melbourne, i was told i couldnt get my opens until i was 21. which i figured, fair enough, i've chosen to live here, i'll stick it out the extra few months... 2 weeks before i was supposed to get my opens, this cop in an undercover subaru forrester pulls me up & took 8 points off me (i had 8 points left) he reckons that i was doing 36km over the limit & i was on the wrong side of the road. he was wrong on both accounts, but i couldnt fight it :P

and now i also have a passenger ban on my licence, because they reckon i lost my licence within 1 year of getting it. fools. people are annoying me today. thats the end of my rant.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-288197

for P platers, we only have 6 demerit points to play with, and yeah if you're pulled over doing over 30km/h over the limit, it's automatically suspension, and 6 months extention on your p's + the period you've lost it for

I'm gonna be on my p's for 4 years too, but at least not as bad as my friend who's probably gonna be on his p's till he's a grandpa

most a lot of the road laws suck, ie having the car too low is illegal, as if some rabbits are gonna get killed coz of that

and exhaust too loud when motorbikes (engine) are heaps louder... but we don't make the laws so what can we do

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-288690

I am on my P's and have 12 points... so your getting ripped of SIKCAR :D

Re tare weight - if thats the case, there is no way in hell that they could ever prove that a r33 gtst was over the power limit - cos if u rego'd your car yourself, u would have found that vicroads have no information on the car, which means I had to go get a weigh bridge ticket before i could register. It also shows that weight (1420) on my rego.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-288695

Guest 91nismotrx

ah, my point (about having my p's forever) was that stupid vicroads wouldnt let me have my opens when i was 20 even though i had already had my p's for 3 years. i asked them how long you have to have your p's for before you can get your opens here, they told me 3 years, and so i said, yeah, had them for 3 years already, and the guy stuttered a little and said.... ah... no, you have to be 21.

oh, and my other point was, cops do pick on p platers. grrr... :P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/14255-gtst-r33-on-ps/#findComment-288965