hey im 18 i got a perfect record on my insurance and i was quoted by just cars $2800 for my completly stock r32 and i got a 2nd quote from famious for $2600 for full comp with around a $1800-$2000 excess

i found only famious and just cars will insure me as im only 18 and a skyline is a 2 door sports car and turbo

i came to the conclusion not to even bother with comp

u pay $2800 for insurance a year then if u hit a car u need to pay $2000 so strait off u racked up $4800 then u lose ur no claim bonus which sucks big time so pretty much u need ur car to have done around the $6000-$7000 damage to your car before its even worth claiming.

you may have a different opinion i understand but like u got all these violations ur self so ur prices will have gone up alot for that any way so i personally woulent bother getting full comp unless u plan on driven like a idiot and drifting around corners and stuff constantly

get 3rd party with fire and theft and that will atlest cover ur self if u hit some 1 and if u do hit a tree and its ur fault just think of it as a learning experience :P but then again... why would u thrash like a 10k skyline when ur 17 ? :)

• Replies 130

shite thread... a fair bit of sensible advise mixed in with a whole lot of tuff-internet-advice.

what i'd tell you if you asked me the question:

- if you buy the 34 be prepared to spend heaps more than you should and when people ask about the car you'll still have to tell them its only NA. you'll have an ok car at a young age, but more than likely you'll be in debt

- if you wait then you will save yourself hassles and money, and your life will be so much better in your early 20's in all aspects. you'll have the same level of car as most others at a young age and more than likely you'll be ahead financially in the future

its up to you

that sounds strangly expensive.

im insured with justcars comprehensive, lost my liscence once, not the best history, 21 yrs old

and for my 33 turbs it was only $1250 for 12 months.

i dont see how being in the same boat and only a few years younger can attract X3 $$$$

infact my insurance sounds strangly cheap looking at the other posts

that sounds strangly expensive.

im insured with justcars comprehensive, lost my liscence once, not the best history, 21 yrs old

and for my 33 turbs it was only $1250 for 12 months.

i dont see how being in the same boat and only a few years younger can attract X3 $$$$

infact my insurance sounds strangly cheap looking at the other posts

Err wtf...Turbo 33 full comp for $1,250?

Thats insane! I paid $3,400, 19, turbo 33 and perfect driving history.

I guess the 16-21 bracket really is far more likely to crash... Wish I was paying what you are.

Sorry guys!

But read his opening post, he's 17, had a license since March 06 and he get's it back on December 23. That means he has the grand total of 4 months driving experience and already he has had his license cancelled for 6 months.

He says he has learnt by his error and HE IS BUYING AN R34????

HE IS A DICKHEAD, WILL ALWAYS BE A DICKHEAD and nobody here will convince him he's not.

I just got back from Queensland, I went up to see a mate and chat to the Qld Stagea guys. They met in the Broadwater Carpark opposite Australia Fair. On the ground was fresh evidence of dickhead hoon drivers from the nights before.

After a few discreet enquiries I found that THE MOST HATED VEHICLE IN QLD was a turbo Nissan and in particular S13/14's as they can be bought for $7/8000.00 and all the P platers buy them and become INSTANT idiots behind the wheel.

IF this person has learnt his lesson and changed from the DICKHEAD label he put on himself, why is he buying an R34 and staying in the eyes of the law. Why isn't he buying something a little less conspicuous until he has some good experience and gets past his P's.

If he bought something smaller & cheaper he wouldn't be asking the question about insurance because he would get coverage by the biggies at a fair price.

He comes across as being a typical 17 yo P license of today, knows everything and has a bag full of dollars to prove it.

Cheers, D

He comes across as being a typical 17 yo P license of today, knows everything and has a bag full of dollars to prove it.

Cheers, D

Sensational quote mate, harsh but most likely true id say :)

cars depreciate

houses dont.

Have you bought a house in the past 5 years???????

I have and it's worth less today than the day I bought it, so in today's economic climate, you don't know what your talking about.

Cheers, D

Have you bought a house in the past 5 years???????

I have and it's worth less today than the day I bought it, so in today's economic climate, you don't know what your talking about.

Cheers, D

ease up!

what you have typed above tells me that your not as smart as you think you are and you payed way to much for a property that has since dropped in value. Surprise surprise you live in NSW may i guess somewhere near sydney?

in the last 5 years my house in adelaide has doubled it's value.

Has your car doubled its value?

has your car held the same value?

or has your car decreased in value?

Just because you purchased a overpriced house at the wrong time doesnt class it as a bad idea!

well mate, theres a lot of good advice in this thread.

but you still seem to be ignoring it, or simply reading what you want to read.

so, if youre not going to listen to someone whos been there, and done that,

how bout listenin to someone whos about the same age?

i got my L's in september of '04, 6 months after i turned 16, i learned in a TP magna and Lancer coupe, i learnt pretty quick (which isnt really much considering how easy it is to get your licence in this country), i was one lesson a week for 6 weeks, then i was cut down to one lesson a fortnight, so of course, i thought i was pretty damn good. got my P's 6 months later without any trouble.

as soon as i started driving by myself, i was just like you, wanted the fastest car i could, wanted a skyline, told myself id buy one when id been on the road for 6 months. nearly 2 years later, and im still driving the magna (god, 2 years, ive only just realised its been that long...), probably the smartest decision ive made. as much as id like to tell myself otherwise, i dont have enough experience under my belt to drive a skyline.

ive made alot of stupid decisions in the magna, had a lot of close calls, i would've paid an incredible price if i had made these mistakes in a skyline. my next car will probably (well, definitely) be another non-turbo, low displacement Fwd'er, and thats another 12 months away, minimum. so thats near enough to 3 years experience on my p's and full licence in a clapped out, automatic mitsi. just over 3 years experience if you count the time on my l's, and i'll be moving onto another a Fwd car, maybe after a year or 3 driving and tinkering with that, ill move onto a skyline.

turbo or non turbo, a skyline is a performance car. period.

youve got four months experience in a VL, and you think youre ready for a skyline.

what you need to is take a step back, look at your driving history, and ask yourself if its really worth it.

is it worth the $40,000 over 4 years to own it?

is it worth risking your life?

is it worth risking the life of you friends?

is it worth risking the life of the kids across the street?

is it worth risking the life of the kids waiting to cross at the lights when you lose control?

i know thats looking at worst case, but thats the way you have to look at it sometimes.

youve got more than enough money to buy a decent 4 banger (much better than a magna :mellow: ), and have some fun with the rest.

sorry for the long winded post, and it probably doesnt make much sense, but yeah, its early mornin :O

so yeah, thats my $0.02 and then some.

take it easy.

dave.

is it worth risking your life?

is it worth risking the life of you friends?

is it worth risking the life of the kids across the street?

is it worth risking the life of the kids waiting to cross at the lights when you lose control?

good on you dave, well put.

hay im a p plater to, f**k my first car was a non turbo little lancer done up as a fevo an that got way too much attention plus i was a hoon ( cant be anymore only got 1 point left and it gotta last me a whole yr)

if u really must have a nissan with power ( and yes i know us p platers want what we want when we want it a nothing anyone else will change our minds) i reconmend the stagea! still got the power, a little bit more weight yes, but a LOT LESS ATTENTION!!! i used to get picked up every week in my fevo, now ive got a stagea i dont even get glanced at accepted for the occasion WTF is that look. :domokun: ps this doesnt mean stageas are any less dangerous than skylines they are still turbo and fast, but it mite just mean u get less attention from the po po and still get roughly what u want..but with ur history dont bet on getting low insurance your too much of a risk for them to insure for less

Edited by Cheeky_Nympho

There are 2 P platers, let’s call one SOSK (son of Sydneykid) and the other DOSK (daughter of Sydneykid). This is not a gender thing, just one family’s experiences.

Now SOSK had been racing karts from when he was 10 until he was 17. So he knew how to steer using the steering wheel and the accelerator, how to brake, how to survive with 30 other teenagers driving a few mm away, how to anticipate, the difference between a wet and a dry road etc etc. Hence SOSK was actually very easy to teach how to actually drive a car. But road rules were a bit tougher, he figured that he already knew everything that he needed to know. That’s why he had 2 goes at passing the licence test.

DOSK had none of that experience, so it was start from scratch with her. She had no idea how to steer using the steering wheel, let alone the accelerator. She hadn’t a clue how to brake and she would have no chance surviving with 3 other teenagers driving a few metres away, let alone 30. She had no anticipation and no idea of the difference between a wet and a dry road etc etc. DOSK was actually much easier to teach the road rules, she knew that she knew nothing. She passed the licence test first time.

Some years later and SOSK has a Skyline and I never fear for his car control, he is most unlikely to get himself into trouble in that regard. DOSK on the other hand is not ready for a high powered car, the finesse simply isn’t there yet. Although I have no doubt it will come, given time.

SOSK has had a couple of speeding tickets and took 2 goes to pass his licence. DOSK passed first time and has never even had a parking ticket. The law/govt/court/police/media would judge DOSK to be a better driver. When I know that SOSK is the better driver, right now anyway. They are two very different people, with totally different skill sets, but both governed by the same set of rules. And that’s in one family, let alone the rest of the state/country/world.

How do you make one set of rules that covers all people? The simple answer is you cant’. The problem we have is that socialism is starting to take over, the lowest common denominator is being used to judge all others. Driver A (red P’s) is not capable of driving a Skyline, therefore ALL drivers on red P’s are not allowed to drive Skylines. Driver B (full licence) may also not be capable of driving a Skyline, but he is allowed to.

Until we have a graduated licence system based on actual advanced driving skills, not a parrot fashion learning of road rules or a video game test, this will always be wrong.

:teehee: cheers :laugh:

i see that this thread has completely gone off track. u were originally asking for advice about insurance and now it seems to be advice about owning a skyline. None of what we say here is going to change ur mind, cos ur young n ignorant. My only advice for you is if you have the money, and you really want a skyline, buy one. Jus learn some self-control. i say 'learn' cos ur a twat who got his license suspended at 17. Obviously you dont buy this car to drive like a granny. But 'when' you decide to squirt the car every now and then, just beware of the consequences. I cudnt resist the urge at 18 to buy my car, but i also learned to be smart with it. In regards to insurance, dont get 3rd party by itself, cos u will get next to nothing back in the event of something going wrong. So if ur prepared to pay several thousands each year, go ahead. its ur money, not ours.

SK,

A graduated license in NSW will NEVER happen, not whilst forever your bum points to the ground, it will never happen.

You might ask why?

Well this old fart remembers a certain liberal premier "Bob Askin" that tried talking this line in parliament, back when you could bet your life that at least 100 per month would die on NSW roads.

The graded or graduated license was forgotten for 1 major reason, all the old biddies that owned RR's, Bentley's, Mercs etc etc etc could not qualify for the grade needed to drive them and it's those people that finance governments & elections.

The present debate over P licenses dying on our roads is something I know not how to fix, but the young driver's attitudes and mind sets have to change first.

And Cheeky,

It can't happen!

In NSW P license driver's cannot drive or own a turbo vehicle, so the Stagea idea, is out the door.

Cheers, D

hey im 18 i got a perfect record on my insurance and i was quoted by just cars $2800 for my completly stock r32 and i got a 2nd quote from famious for $2600 for full comp with around a $1800-$2000 excess

i found only famious and just cars will insure me as im only 18 and a skyline is a 2 door sports car and turbo

i came to the conclusion not to even bother with comp

u pay $2800 for insurance a year then if u hit a car u need to pay $2000 so strait off u racked up $4800 then u lose ur no claim bonus which sucks big time so pretty much u need ur car to have done around the $6000-$7000 damage to your car before its even worth claiming.

you may have a different opinion i understand but like u got all these violations ur self so ur prices will have gone up alot for that any way so i personally woulent bother getting full comp unless u plan on driven like a idiot and drifting around corners and stuff constantly

get 3rd party with fire and theft and that will atlest cover ur self if u hit some 1 and if u do hit a tree and its ur fault just think of it as a learning experience :laugh: but then again... why would u thrash like a 10k skyline when ur 17 ? :geek:

You say, if you hit someone, it's gonig to cost you $4800 straight up, this is perfectly correct.

If someone hits you, you basically pay NOTHING.

Now, take a look at that, you DIDN'T get full comp insurance, because you are worried how much you have to pay WHEN you hit someone. Notice the when YOU hit someone, not when they hit you. Hence, you were scared basically, you were the one going to be causing the accident.

Hence, you probably shouldn't be driving if you think you'll be the causer.

Oh, and when you DO hit another car, have you priced up panels for your car?

Try bumpers and bonnets, yet alone straightening the chassis.

Get a small tap in the rear end, and the other guy drives off, you'll be left needing a cut and shut if he gets the rear guard at all. You can't unbolt alot of panels off a skyline.

If you're worried how much it'll cost you when you hit someone, you don't deserve to be driving, Take more care, be more alert, get full comp for the day someone uninsured hits you.

LISTEN JUINIOR U NEED INSURANCE.

+ YOUR 17 WITH A SKYLINE

$4300 is a lot but im still on my ps with 3 suspensions and i have a gtr i pay $3400

its a lot of money but u want to play the game get insurance or get a car that is not as expensive like a laser or lancer even a f**ken vl who cares just learn to drive first