Brand New Turbo Dead ( Forum Sponsor )

bbe

Hmm, not wanting to get flamed but, seeing as no one else knows Beej personally on the forums i though i would just say that he's a mate and that i have seen his car hit 9000rpm and is still running fine (well as far as i knew). Contrary to what most people think he does know his shit when it comes to engines. I just thought i would try and stick up for Beej in this seemingly one sided dispute.

Yeah the fact that his engine hits 9000rpm isn't in dispute....its whether it should be hitting 9000rpm and still be in good condition as he says.

• Replies 167

Ceffy..

I think its more so the way he went about it. Straight up he made a thread that claimed slide turbo's are in short crap etc.. Mods edited the title and the content of the initial post.

+ he doesn't answer questions and simply fly's off the handle saying well it rev's to 9500rpm fine.

He hasn't stated what he has done to his motor to ensure there actually is good oil pressure at low rpm. A motor can still run well but be low on pressure and not show knocking noises and the like for a few months.

As I think I said in a post earlier.. Has he had the oil pressure checked? He also stated at first he didn't realize the oil lines had to be drilled out... He didn't bolt it on and try by any chance and then realize his stuff up and try to get it fixed under warranty. As you can see a couple of things he has said sort of don't add up.

I hate to say it mate but have you heard of mechanical sympathy? Yeah my lawnmower will do 9500RPM and im *REALLY* sure that its a healthy tight motor. My mate rebuilt it.

wish my law mower hit 9500rpm :D i'd be happy if it hit 3500 lol

im just wondering did he actualy make the username sautool or did a mod have fun and change it to suit him

BBE or more appropriately BBQ. :laugh:

user with the name BBQ is actualy a decent bloke :P

Sooo much LoL @ this thread. :)

The post winner in this thread should go to BassJunky for this outstanding performance:

Keyboard Warrior

Definition....

1. A Person who, being unable to express his anger through physical violence (owning to their physical weakness, lack of bravery and/or conviction in real life), instead manifests said emotions through the text-based medium of the internet, usually in the form of aggressive writing that the Keyboard Warrior would not (for reasons previously mentioned) be able to give form to in real life.

2. The term is a combination of the word 'keyboard' (the main tool by which the person expresses his/her latent rage) and 'warrior' (due to the warrior-like aggression, tendency towards violence, headstrong nature and propensity towards brute force as a means of resolving conflict rather than more subtle means dependant on finesse).

3. The Keyboard Warrior seeks to use the power imbued in his 'weapon' to effect death and destruction (in a strictly-metaphorical sense) upon his foes (other virtual identities he has encountered on the internet). In essence, the keyboard (ie. text input ability) allows the keyboard warrior to manifest his true warrior nature in a safe and removed environment, from which no real-life repercussions .

4. Keyboard Warriors are generally identified by unneccessary rage in their written communications, and are regarded as 'losers' by other virtual identities on the internet.

Man, you tick all the boxes

Congrats BassJunky :(

*golf clap*

This bbe dude is a fag (sorry for the defamation) but what i have read so far he is at fault.

I think he needs a visit from Chopper and he needs to be told to "Harden The F uck Up!" Reading his posts reminds me of the days in primary school FFS.

Also i know you can ban by IP address, but how about MAC address? That will fcuk him royale style! :(

Keep ya chin up Silde!

yer well it says it all boys 800 witout failure you wont get help........Mechanics are never perfect and sure your engine does die oneday thats when you rebuild it again pump few gs in and your set up again :( i love cars :)

bbe I can't believe you could blame Slide for the problems for your car.

I just want to let people know that I also bought a Highflow turbo off slide and now I think the turbo has seized.

Bbe do you know why? Because even though I gave it to a mechanic to install it, I don't believe they didn't do it properly. Most likely modifying the oil line, even though they said they did.

Only way to findout is to remove it, but I haven't still been able to afford to remove it yet because of money problems.

I have spoken to Aaron (slide) about this and he has also told me that it will cost about $500 to repair. Now I understand that is a lot of money but in the end I believe it is my fault for leaving it in the hands of an unexperienced mechanic.

There is nothing else that I can do till I can save up to get this turbo removed and sent back to Aaron to repair. Its just the old saying as "you get what you pay for". I was offered a cheap price to get it installed now... I have a car that hasn't moved for over 2 months now.

Also if anyone near Penrith area that would be able to give me a big hand in removing this turbo out of my car, I would greatly appreciate it.

But if not... I will just save up for HITMAN to do it.

Bernard

aquariuz6,

Out of curiosity whats the going price for a decent removal/install?

Hows your low rpm idle pressure once the cars warm?

you wouldn't think it could be much. I took mine off and installed it in 4 hours total, and thats in the shed, without a hoist and doing it for the first time ever so it was really slow! Plus i was on my own.

I reckon it could be done in half that. So 2 hours x $75, as a rough kinda price. Modifying oil lines etc would be more though, no idea about that.

Yep I too do the removal/install of my own turbo's.

Doesn't take long but is a pain in the arse. :(

I'm curious if some of the turbo failures are caused by crap left over in the oil lines after drilling.

Slide: When the oil lines came back, did they have any traces of oil in them at all?

Also, to those who don't play around much with metal working, to get those sorts of colours, in the metal takes a fair bit of extreme heat. Basically, zero lube. As Slide has said. When I saw that, I though "Oh shit that's horrid!"

I couldn't get a piece of metal that blue if I wanted to by shoving it hard on a grinder! And also, all of the blue points, have been weakened, and are basically useless.

Also, 9500 RPM, on an RB20... I wouldn't like to be trying those sorts of revs! No matter what had been done to it.

Also, BBE's other thread. Car runs "fine" whilst he "drives" (Flogs the hell out of!) but the moment he gives it to his gf, who is most likely, a lot less of an insane driver (Hey, most chicks don't flog cars that hard!) a problem arises... I don't think it's the fault of his G/F, I think the car is slowly dieing.

Also, you had an issue on the 20th of september, this year. Did you end up finding the cause? Or is the engine still missing above 7PSi? Oh hang on, the turbos gone huh? Maybe you had an oil starving problem!

Slick 50 oil hey, man, I wouldn't put that shit near my car just purely because of the name of it! Sounds like a no name oil brand company. Most likely an extremely heavy weight oil also, making it take time to pump up to the turbo?

Also, after some research on "Slick 50" read this, and I bet you will know why there's no oil in that turbo.

"The basic ingredient is the same in most of these additives: 50 weight engine oil with standard additives. The magic ingredient in Slick 50, Liquid Ring, Matrix, QM1 and T-Plus from K-Mart is Polytetrafluoroethylene. Don't try to pronounce it: call it PTFE. But don't call it Teflon, which is what it is, because that is a registered trademark. Dupont, who invented Teflon, claims that "Teflon is not useful as an ingredient in oil additives or oils used for internal combustion engines." But what do they know? They haven't seen the secret studies done by Petrolon (Slick 50).

PTFE is a solid which is added to engine oil and coats the moving parts of the engine.

However, such solids seem even more inclined to coat non-moving parts, like oil passages and filters. After all, if it can build up under the pressures and friction exerted on a cylinder wall, then it stands to reason it should build up even better in places with low pressures and virtually no friction."

BBE, your oil passages are FULL of Teflon. Strip and acid dip the block is your fix!

well im a mate of bbe's and well he knows his shit seriously the most well looked after rb for sure thing goes hard day in day out you's just all baggin the f**k out off him is pointless as you could seriously learn a thing or ten of this dude much like my self id like to see any rb25 keep up with this rb20det seriously