Most of the comments incouraging you are frrom gt-st or gt-tt owners.

I drive a gtr so really it depends on what power you are use to.

If you love the look and the way it drives....go for it..

But for me it is only 911 turbo that will make me happy.Unless I can't afford one...then GTR34 :ninja: .

SO MUCH RE-FINEMENT compared to theGTR33.....

Anyway good luck with your choice.

• Replies 163

But for me it is only 911 turbo that will make me happy.

Ignorant comments like that really get me and my workmates, have u even driven any stock 993, 996 or 997 Porsche? I can comfortably say I have driven the range from boxster 2.5 to GT3 RS, 996 Turbos and the 997 range and they are all brilliant cars. 280kw from a 3.8 naturally aspirated flat 6 isnt anything to sneeze at. sure it'd be fun to own a GT2, its got the power the looks the handling, but i have seen so many down at the panel shop getting repaired for the 3rd or 4th time because the power got the better of the driver on the road.

All you guys should know buy now its not the figure that the dyno spits out that matters, its the tune that does. sure Porsche dont make the figures of Jap cars, but its the torque tune that makes them special, all th modified porsches ive had experience with have all been buckets and the stock cars handled and accelerated much better.

/rant

Did you all know that despite how quick porsches are they still meet LEV requirements for california?

Edited by RB_n00b

I'd say that the choice of car depends on what you want to do with it.

If it's a convertible you're after, the only good options that I can think of at the moment are an MX-5, an S2000 and a boxster.

I don't mind the mx-5, several friends have them (co-incidentally 3 girls and a frenchman.) they're fun.

The S2000 is the car I'd pick, but that's a style and budget decision. Easier to tinker with and service than a porsche.

But the boxster... it's a porsche. Porsche don't make shit cars. The only problem is cost. Maintaining a prestige car is expensive, and if you're intending on putting the occasional go-fast bit in, even more so.

There is always the range of merc convertibles, or the beamer Z series, or aussie convertibles (shudder) but the above three seem to be the best for their roles.

If you bought the mx-5, you'd always be thinking "But what if I bought the porsche or the S2000"

If you bought the S2000, you'd probably be happy, but you'd always wonder.

If you bought the porsche, you'd never give the other cars a thought unless something went pear shaped with it.

Ignorant comments like that really get me and my workmates, have u even driven any stock 993, 996 or 997 Porsche? I can comfortably say I have driven the range from boxster 2.5 to GT3 RS, 996 Turbos and the 997 range and they are all brilliant cars. 280kw from a 3.8 naturally aspirated flat 6 isnt anything to sneeze at. sure it'd be fun to own a GT2, its got the power the looks the handling, but i have seen so many down at the panel shop getting repaired for the 3rd or 4th time because the power got the better of the driver on the road.

All you guys should know buy now its not the figure that the dyno spits out that matters, its the tune that does. sure Porsche dont make the figures of Jap cars, but its the torque tune that makes them special, all th modified porsches ive had experience with have all been buckets and the stock cars handled and accelerated much better.

/rant

Did you all know that despite how quick porsches are they still meet LEV requirements for california?

Have you driven a worked GTR34......tuned for fun....

I am sure not one of the Porsches....except 911 turbo will keep up with it. :ninja:

My friend owns a 997...NA and he is looking at upgrading to a Ferrari...

My car is 500kw's(4WD) at the motor and can deliver to the ground.......

I know what your going on about....not ignorant.....just the point...When push comes to shove 4WD turbo's win hands down.

I am sure not one of the Porsches....except 911 turbo will keep up with it. :ninja:

I know what your going on about....not ignorant.....just the point...When push comes to shove 4WD turbo's win hands down.

yes i do see where you are coming from.

I hope he has a wide wallet, porsches are much cheaper to maintain than the fez. GT2 arent awd they are RWD however u can get the X50 upgrade to a turbo and have GT2 power with awd traction and stability.

For some the power isnt important, its the driving experience and the engineering that goes into the porsche.

FYI: Porsche isnt a car company, they are an engineering company - the cars are a by-product of their engineering

Edited by RB_n00b

The Porsche is getting old, looks outdated, and things WILL break, and when they do it's going to cost you a fortune.

If you've got a large enough wallet to accept this, then it's all good.

But to be honest, all these opinions should be taken as a grain of salt - go and drive a few different things in your price range (Boxter included) and decide what's going to make you happiest.

I could replace the word "Boxster" with "Skyline", and the above statement would be just as true.

Exactly mate.

I said the same thing to my friend who was in the market for an S14, but bought himself an R33. He at first wouldn't listen to my suggestion af a 33 simply because so many wankers drive them, but I told him there's a reason for this: They're a good car!

He had a drive of one example and the rest is history.

For some the power isnt important, its the driving experience and the engineering that goes into the porsche.

Spot on mate.

My 180 would out accelerate most 911's I come across, except the Turbo's, GT3's, GT2's. A friends dad has just bought himself a 964 RS replica and took me for a spin around Sandown a few weeks back, and what an awesome car it is! The sound, the feel, the whole thing just seemed like this is what it was built to do. Now, once my car is back on the road I think I could comfortably beat this car around the track, but which car would I rather own?? The 964 for sure.

I respect their engineering, racing heritage, and their rich history. To some that's more important than outright speed.

But to each their own.

Exactly mate.

I said the same thing to my friend who was in the market for an S14, but bought himself an R33. He at first wouldn't listen to my suggestion af a 33 simply because so many wankers drive them, but I told him there's a reason for this: They're a good car!

this is exactly what happened to me! I was dead keen on an RX7 but mate let me drive his 33 on the way home from testing some cars... I went looking for 33's the next day!

bottomline, drive as many boxters as you can and decide whether you like the way they drive... if you do, forget what other people think because you will be having fun behind the wheel no matter what! you can always be typecast for the type of car you drive but it only becomes a problem if you care what people think... but if you need to start a thread on the topic then you obviously DO care what others think... you hairdresser :)

Obviously paying too much for your haircuts if they can afford Boxsters.... The main negative points about the Boxster origionally came from 911 owners who were upset about driving a car that they had paid an extra 30% for but looked identical in the rear view mirror.

This is the same reason why the Monaro was fitted with bonnet ducts to differentiate it from SS Commodes and Utes. (and also why Holden main dealers were asked not to sell the bonnets except for Monaros)

The Boxster is a fantastic car, one of my mates in the UK has had three and only sold his last one because his new son needs somewhere to sit. They are increadibly reliable, can easily be used as a daily drive and bring a smile to your face everytime you start it. They are also very, very safe should you have the misfortune to crash it. The above friend was involved in an accident where he was hit by some guy who was on the wrong side of the road. The Boxster was destroyed and my mate walked away from the accident covered in talc powder from the multiple airbags. He then went over to the other car and called an ambulance for the idiot driving who was trapped in his car with two broken legs....

Big difference in the UK, is that due to realistic depretiation, I can find 50 Boxters under AUD 50,000 within 100km of my UK head office.

Look here

Geez this thread has attracted some pretty heated debates....

At the end of the day you should buy a car you are happy with as you have to drive it. Personally spending $50k on a boxster doesn't give me enough bang for my buck.....sure it handles great and has great build quality but doesn't have what *I* would expect from my cash.

And just to correct nickcorr above but the monaros were not fitted with bonnet ducts to differentiate it from commo's but were fitted to accomodate the US tastes when it was sold there....it was just cheaper to fit them across the board rather than just the ones headed to the US.

Hi Ant, I stand partially corrected...

the fitment of the Pontiac GTO bonnet (GTO has always had bonnet ducts) was partly for simplicity of fitment across the board, but was also a differential point due to negative comments from upset Monaro owners who wanted more recognition for spending the extra cash.

yeah i did the same, drove a sil and a r33... but decided on the sil :D :D

I am sure not one of the Porsches....except 911 turbo will keep up with it. :P

A tuned 997 GT3RS will eat your worked R34 GTR around most race tracks. Do you know GT3 is faster than 911 turbo? except on the straight.

Porsche makes a lot more great cars than just 911 turbo, try GT3s, GT2s, RSs, etc.

1.jpg

http://www.j-spec.com.au/list/index.php?ID=8654

The answer to this debate: A hot pink 930 911! Just $48,000...

More seriously, there is no absolute definitive quantifiable measure of whether car A is better than car B. I reckon my Toyota Yaris is a fantastic car. I reckon my Skyline is a fantastic car. Do I judge both these cars against the same criteria? No, of course not. A boxster is better than a GTR in some ways, a GTR is better than a 911 in some ways, a 911 is better than a boxter in some ways... Just pick your priorities, pick your car and go have fun!