1.jpg

http://www.j-spec.com.au/list/index.php?ID=8654

The answer to this debate: A hot pink 930 911! Just $48,000...

More seriously, there is no absolute definitive quantifiable measure of whether car A is better than car B. I reckon my Toyota Yaris is a fantastic car. I reckon my Skyline is a fantastic car. Do I judge both these cars against the same criteria? No, of course not. A boxster is better than a GTR in some ways, a GTR is better than a 911 in some ways, a 911 is better than a boxter in some ways... Just pick your priorities, pick your car and go have fun!

Well said mate.

I love my Clubbie and my 180, for very different reasons. Each car for it's intended purpose...

Love that 930!!

• Replies 163

my bestest mate in the whole wide world has an uncle with a 930 turbo, everything about that car is sex... especially the sssssspool and and flame throwing exhaust

unlike porsches of now 930's especially the early ones werent well known for their braking capabilities, they are downright scary.

perfect description:

downright scary

Get to a freeway on ramp and nail it... my god... the noise, the speed, the bumps, the complete and utter happiness it brings. Eveything about the car is cool. I've watched the porsche club events and it still looks far and away sexier than all the other street porsches

Have you driven a worked GTR34......tuned for fun....

I am sure not one of the Porsches....except 911 turbo will keep up with it. :P

My friend owns a 997...NA and he is looking at upgrading to a Ferrari...

My car is 500kw's(4WD) at the motor and can deliver to the ground.......

I know what your going on about....not ignorant.....just the point...When push comes to shove 4WD turbo's win hands down.

As if your car has anywhere near 500kws... :wave:

I cant get over the meat head (strong words but hey, truth hurts) mentality of some people. My R32 GTST beat a bunch of M3s recently. Would i rather the M3? Shit Yeh! A forum goer in his R33 GTR overtook an F40 and F50 recently at a track day. Would i rather the F40 or F50 ? Shit Yeh!

There is so much more to car ownshership then whats quickest in a straight line or around corners. If a car is a little vague on the straight ahead you at least hope its a sporting drive with good suspension and brakes...OR just old world cool like a 68 Camaro :ninja:

Cars like Porsches etc make you smile just walking up to them. Hell the crappy Elise i had for a weekend, man i was smiling all the way up the Hume and all the way around Winton. Ppll come up all enthusiastic and asked quesiton at the servo, its a fun car which made me and other ppl smile.

Now GTRs are nice cars. But even an R34 GTR, it doesnt make me smile or get me excited about the prospect of a drive. Very capable car for sure...but TO ME (maybe not others) its not really special. Its a Nissan :wave:

The thread starter seems to like Porsches...if it makes you smile and you look forward to driving it then get it. It happens to be a damn good drive and some ppl in the know have said that mechanically if you look for the right things they are a good thing....so do it :laugh:

PS...im more a British sports car man, some like Porches etc...it seems some are die hard Nissan ppl, which is cool. But there are more automotive flavours to be savoured then just Nissan :/

As if your car has anywhere near 500kws... :P

I cant get over the meat head (strong words but hey, truth hurts) mentality of some people. My R32 GTST beat a bunch of M3s recently. Would i rather the M3? Shit Yeh! A forum goer in his R33 GTR overtook an F40 and F50 recently at a track day. Would i rather the F40 or F50 ? Shit Yeh!

There is so much more to car ownshership then whats quickest in a straight line or around corners. If a car is a little vague on the straight ahead you at least hope its a sporting drive with good suspension and brakes...OR just old world cool like a 68 Camaro :wave:

Cars like Porsches etc make you smile just walking up to them. Hell the crappy Elise i had for a weekend, man i was smiling all the way up the Hume and all the way around Winton. Ppll come up all enthusiastic and asked quesiton at the servo, its a fun car which made me and other ppl smile.

Now GTRs are nice cars. But even an R34 GTR, it doesnt make me smile or get me excited about the prospect of a drive. Very capable car for sure...but TO ME (maybe not others) its not really special. Its a Nissan :wave:

The thread starter seems to like Porsches...if it makes you smile and you look forward to driving it then get it. It happens to be a damn good drive and some ppl in the know have said that mechanically if you look for the right things they are a good thing....so do it :ninja:

PS...im more a British sports car man, some like Porches etc...it seems some are die hard Nissan ppl, which is cool. But there are more automotive flavours to be savoured then just Nissan :laugh:

AMEN Roy

I agree with every word wholeheartedly

A forum goer in his R33 GTR overtook an F40 and F50 recently at a track day. Would i rather the F40 or F50 ? Shit Yeh!

thats interesting, what the hell is done to this GTR to overtake a F40 & F50 ? unless the ferraris had noobs behind the wheels.

Although my dream car at the moment is an optioned out Ariel Atom (including the "track pack" front and rear wing kit).

i saw that thing, it looks like an F1 car - well closest road car to it... love it ! although if a 4wd crashes into you, theres a good chance of getting mangled

for the topic, all you need to do is test drive your options, and that will decide it for you !

thats interesting, what the hell is done to this GTR to overtake a F40 & F50 ? unless the ferraris had noobs behind the wheels.

Im guessing the Ferrari guys knew what their cars are worth and were driving them accordingly. Doesnt change the fact that the GTR walked past them, telling me that even if they were trying they wouldnt have had its measure at a place like Calder (basically long straights with a few turns thrown in). It has 350awkws on a built engine with modded and optimised suspension.

The two GTRs im thinking of were the fastest two cars at a Ferrari day, full of exotic Ferraris and GT3 Carrera Cups cars on slicks etc etc. And as nice as the GTRs in question are, there were plenty of slower cars on the day that i would kill for

As if your car has anywhere near 500kws... :(

There is so much more to car ownshership then whats quickest in a straight line or around corners. If a car is a little vague on the straight ahead you at least hope its a sporting drive with good suspension and brakes...OR just old world cool like a 68 Camaro :D

Now GTRs are nice cars. But even an R34 GTR, it doesnt make me smile or get me excited about the prospect of a drive. Very capable car for sure...but TO ME (maybe not others) its not really special. Its a Nissan :)

The thread starter seems to like Porsches...if it makes you smile and you look forward to driving it then get it. It happens to be a damn good drive and some ppl in the know have said that mechanically if you look for the right things they are a good thing....so do it :(

PS...im more a British sports car man, some like Porches etc...it seems some are die hard Nissan ppl, which is cool. But there are more automotive flavours to be savoured then just Nissan :)

i want a Lotus Esprit S4S. God they look great. sexy car.

I also want an F40 (so very badly). I want the track spec version.

I also want a Maclaren F1. also very, very badly.

hmm. would love a nice M3 and also a new V10 M5 wouldn't hurt

for my daily car I'll take an F430, maybe even god forbid I might get the convertible as lots of hardtops in my list above.

please also add a 997 GT3 cup car for some track fun

and a Ford F250 to tow it behind, or should I just buy a massive pantec?

definately still need a 911 turbo of some kind. not fussy which. i am easy to please.

now I have to get back to work to afford all this, and the garage to put them in.

This has been an interesting read.

A good mate of mine recently bought a midnight blue boxter "05 model, the car feels a little funny driving around with the roof down with two guys in it if you get what i mean.

He opted for the 18 inch wheels and the manual box, the car is a demon, it grips, it turns and it stops fantasticly, when i went for a ride in it he had only had the car for 4-5 days and he was steering it like he was born in the drivers seat,

The car seems (like most porkas) very easy to drive,

i doubt you would be putting your bum into an "05 model though with the price you had in mind so perhaps put it off for a while until you can afford a newer model, it's like anything new, wait until they have released a few models before you jump on the bandwagon, mainly because it gives the builder time to iron out any creases.

happy steering.

At the end of the car a Porsche Boxster is more of a prestige and classy car than all the cars other fourm members has mentioned.

If your not into goin fast and horsepower just want a nice classy and comfortable car to drive Porsche Boxster is your pick for sure !!

Its possible. Just because you can afford a Ferrari doesn't mean you can drive one. Or, as Roy says, the cost and rarity comes into people's heads. Probably a mixture of both.

I've passed a 575M at Eastern Creek before. But then, my car doesn't cost over half a million dollars. That and I know approximately where the racing line is, unlike the Ferrari driver.

By the same token, I've been passed by an Elantra at Wakefield too. But then, his car doesn't cost $65K. And while my awareness of a racing line and braking points are approximate, his are pretty much dead on.