mmm... old technology here so don't bite... but mine has the stock T04E still on it. (R31GTS-R)

excellent economy as it's a bit laggy on my RB25DET as opposed to RB30... It makes boost around 4100 and hits full at around 4500 and hold till 7000 no worries, very hard and sudden boost even on the lowly 9psi that mine has and i'm very happy.

Just the t04's can be found for $1300 in box as they use them on VL's so they are common.

i would expect that at 14psi mine will run sweet, have to get that fuel pump and up boost!

• Replies 55

This is Son of Sydneykid

The high flow is great, and we run it at about 16psi to memory, with if i remember rightly, around 220rwhp...but i'll let dad confirm these numbers...We run it with a Power FC

Its definately something i recomend, and have to a few mates. It's definately great value for money

Son of Sydneykid

I am running the GCG Hi Flow (500HP Jobbie) and am getting 235rwkw [non-shootout mode DMX dyno] (18PSI) and nice flat torque curve. The spool up sound is awsome - Boost starts at about 2100RPM and full boost by 3500 RPM.

Sydneykid is right about the 2540 - this is backed up by tests on the rb25/26 - more top end at the sacrifice of mid range.

For driveability the 2530 is good or a flowed stock rb25det. The merits of flowed stock turbos is acknowledge in other threads - do well to search.

T.

i had a gt28 garrett on my last engine and i was accompanied with other mods, yes, it was a beast and very responsive, also the noise, oh son of rajab the noise. and wheels spin almost to an unacceptable rate at speeds. remember this is an exteranl wastegated one so there are additional cost as to a simple bolt on one.

Well the GT28 I was referring to is internally wastegated and supposedly rated at 400hp? I would be dissappointed at the GCG hiflow only making 235rwkw at a wopping 18psi, most people are getting close to if not 200rwkw out of the stock turbo at 13psi or less? Doesn't add up to me.

I spoke to GCG the other day and;

their r33 stage 1 hiflow is a bit over $2200, and is rated at 450hp.

They say to make this power at the engine, you need to run about 22psi or 1.5 bar!!

seems like a lot of boost!

I have 200rwkw at 12psi with stock turbo, so i agree Turbomad, seems like heaps more boost for anly a bit more power.

The GT2530's are only rated at 320ps, but should produce 230+rwkw on an RB25 im told, but still require 1.2bar plus for this.

How about whatisnames turbo? 257rwkw on just 13psi!!!! thats awesome. Unfortunately exact specs not known...

yer..seems too much boost for too little power.. if you're whacking on a bigger turbo and spending the cash, you want something that would at least give you 240rwkw+ with not silly boost (maybe 16psi or so)

While you may get some broader across the range performance from a different turbo, you'd want some higher peak i'd imagine??

I've heard with the stock turbo after about 10psi you don't get much increase in power even if you wind up the boost?? Is this right? So I assume a highflow would solve the problem of power tapering off at higher boost?

I'm getting 183rkw or so from the stock turbo at 13psi. When/if i upgrade i'd at least want a 30% increase from $2000 or whatever a highflow or other costs.

Anbody got a before and after dyno curve of a stockie at high boost (12psi or so) compared to whatever new turbo they went to?

Guest MFX_R33

I don't see the point in spending all that money on a turbo if it is only going to give you maybe 40rwkw over what a stockie can give... my opinion. I have a high flowed turbo on my car from precision turbos (my turbo was dead so I high flowed it), and I have 205rwkw. I would aim for something a little larger. I went for a drive in an R33 at Hills Motorsport which had 295ish rwkw and it made full boost by 3250 and pulled all the way. You would have to talk to Mark about the specs (it did req an external w/gate).

At least aim for something that can get you around 250rwkw (roughly safe limit for the standard internals), cause after a week or 2 with it, you will still be wanting more ;).

Jeff.

indeedy... why skimp when you will regret it later...

250rwkw should get you into the 12's easy enough as well..put a scare into some GTR boys occassionally too and you would have still spent $20k less than they have (me gonna regret this comment ;) )

Geeze im running 186rwkw @ 7psi and -never- even use high boost - 12psi, 203rwkw. I myself can't notice the difference and for my type of driving and roads that I drive on having the extra power just isn't needed, or will only get me into trouble.

No point having 200+ rwkw if you can't put it to the ground, which I think is something that -alot- of people forget and also something that rev210 is making alot of the big powerful cars pee their pants with.

This is Son of Sydneykid

To you all running 200+rwkw, good luck with the ceramic turbo, let us all know when it craps itself.....puts dends and cracks in your engine bay and bonnet....real world experience, R33 with 210rwkw, standard turbo, 4 months.....

And Benm, with half decent suspension and half decent tyres, why is 200+rwKW a problem.....or is it to do with someone's driving??

And anyone who has a problem wih spending the money for a high flow now, whats the problem with selling the high flow when you decide you do want a total replacement turbo....It won't lose any value

And what Rev210 is saying is that by doing stuff differently, and not following the trends, you achieve different results...he has achieved very good results, and is making a point of it... how many of you have flightweight flywheels???? prolly why i see so many posts with the signatures with high 13 1/4s... the choice of tyre may have helped with a tenthor two too. My other theory is that a lot of people can't drive... Rev210 also has quarter experience aswaell, that is BEFORE he owned a skyline...

agreed son of sydney kid.

it's all about driving.

yeh i have a phat turb's that hits around 4500 but it's only got 190 on 9psi... which is not a lot more power than most others... and i 'should' pull a low 13. but i didn't.

Simply cause i didn't know how to drive, and i know that and will at least admit it.

since then i've learnt to shift 150% quicker (thankx to a good mate) and can't wait to get more strip time.

250rwkw is perfectly safe if you know how to drive the car.

don't just get it and got straight for 200+ learn to drive it first.

and i'm following rev210 closely as i'm looking at other things as oppsed to the obvious boost and stuff to get mt times lower with out going higher than 9 psi.

And on the issue of standard hi-flow turbs running crazily hi psi (22) if you have to run that much to get so little... can't you see that the turbo is miles out of it's efficiency range ??

for $2200... (selling your old turbo for say $300) you've got $2500 to play with.

and that's plenty and you won't need 22 psi to get 450hp.

well i know the rb25 are in need of a larger turbo, but how much modificaion is required to fit the gtr twin turbo turbos no, which will still give u low rpm boost,

but what i am not sure of is, what sort of psi are they capible of running on a rb25 efficently.

also will the grt exhust manafold bolt up

Not everyone wants a GReddy T88-34D, or to have their turbo high flowed...kinda need to know what he wants and how much he's go and for what goals and for what purpose... amazingly, everyone has a different opinion

No he specifically asked us what is the best all round turbo to his described power band...

In that case if he wants to save the money Hiflow his T28 with steel wheels and bush bearings

Or a bit more money will get you a hiflowed BB Turb..

Both have the advantage of internal wastegate and is a straight bolt on

Or spend double and the rest and go for a GT25 or 30 with a .63 housing..or HKS equivelent if more $$ again in pocket ;)

Those options will give you great response and lag will be minimal and power band is broadened somewhat with the ability to run high boost as well..