yeah no shit

also, we *should* get a huge price drop mid next year or so when those new oil wells in mexico start pumping

then again i wasn't sure if we were gonna see fuel from there either next year or the year after

• Replies 83

I hope fuel rises to $2/l then the lazy shits will walk instead of driving for 2-5 minutes everywhere.

Waste of resources if you ask me.

Yes. And then the cost of milk, eggs, and every bloody other thing will rise at the same rate too.

How do you think they make it to your store so you can go buy them?

Oh and lets not forget what it would do to inflation.....

Yeha.

Fuel used to be 80c a litre. It is now $1.20

Milk still cost the exact same price.

Eggs still cost the exact same price.

Chips still cost the exact same price.

I still don't care. I hope the prices rise.

EDIT: And this is in a rural area where we get surcharges on everything due to increased distance travelled.

Edited by Midol

Milk still costs the same price?

No bloody way! its gone through the roof.... Its up by about 25 c/liter at my local shoping center...

Eggs have also increased, as has bread. Bread however may have something to do with the draught. As to chips increasing in price? I dont know, dont eat many chips. I know public transport has risen in price however, a weekly used to be 20 bucks, its now $20.80. Many other things have increased in price as well.

As to your hoping the price of fule rises, well, tell that to the families who survive on the margins. Prehaps youd like to see more of your tax dollars wasted on centerlink money for these people because the price of living has gone above what they are capable of supporting?

Oh by the way?

Do you drive a skyline / preformance car? What a waste of resources... You should go buy a small modern euro 4cyl fwd desiel car right away if your so damned concerned about the waste of fule going down to the shops and back....

No bloody way! its gone through the roof.... Its up by about 25 c/liter at my local shoping center...

Eggs have also increased, as has bread. Bread however may have something to do with the draught. As to chips increasing in price? I dont know, dont eat many chips. I know public transport has risen in price however, a weekly used to be 20 bucks, its now $20.80. Many other things have increased in price as well.

As to your hoping the price of fule rises, well, tell that to the families who survive on the margins. Prehaps youd like to see more of your tax dollars wasted on centerlink money for these people because the price of living has gone above what they are capable of supporting?

Oh by the way?

Do you drive a skyline / preformance car? What a waste of resources... You should go buy a hybrid car right away if your so damned concerned about the waste of fule going down to the shops and back....

Actually the most fuel efficient cars are small modern euro 4cyl fwd desiel cars. They nail the hybrids something chronic.

And I make my own chips :)

Oh by the way?

Do you drive a skyline / preformance car? What a waste of resources... You should go buy a small modern euro 4cyl fwd desiel car right away if your so damned concerned about the waste of fule going down to the shops and back....

Milk is the same price here, though we get local milk from the Maleny Dairy... Might have something to do with it :laugh:

Eggs are the same. I actually have no idea if chips do :nyaanyaa: Couldn't think of anything.

I don't use public transport - no buses where I live and on the off chance I need to use the train I can never remember what I paid the time before.

If it means the enviroment is saved just that teeny bit and I pay an extra 1-2% in tax then I am all for it :laugh: No arguments from me here.

I don't drive a skyline/performance car and I don't drive a small modern car for a few reasons - the car I have now will last me another 10-15 years. These new cars havn't been out long enough for me to see how their parts rate and how often they will need to be replaced. Fuel isn't the only thing to consider.

For example, You have car 1, uses 11L/100km and you have car 2, uses 5L/100km. Car 2 has a useful life of 5 years where Car 1 has a useful life of 20 years. When deciding on the most enviromental car to use there are alot of factors to consider.

Though, I will be getting a stagea. Won't be driven often (maybe once every 2 weeks).

Ohhhhhh, just thought I'd add even if your car only chews 1L/100km if the shops are only a 10-30 minute walk away you should still walk it...

And people wonder why there are so many fat people :w00t:

Midol: Before reading this, please, bear in mind that I respect your views about the enviroment however I believe your looking to go about it the wrong way.

Milk is the same price here, though we get local milk from the Maleny Dairy... Might have something to do with it :laugh:

Which makes your argument about the price of milk not moving null and void.

Eggs are the same. I actually have no idea if chips do :nyaanyaa: Couldn't think of anything.

Right...

And I have it on good authority that eggs have increased in price.

I don't use public transport - no buses where I live and on the off chance I need to use the train I can never remember what I paid the time before.

I do. As do millions of others. And to be frank, id rather the money in my pocket and not old john's...

If it means the enviroment is saved just that teeny bit and I pay an extra 1-2% in tax then I am all for it :laugh: No arguments from me here.

Tops. Glad to see your so wealthy. Im not. Ill have my money thanks.

I don't drive a skyline/performance car...

Yet. Your buying a RB25DET powered car down the track… Are you sure im the evil devil for using so much fule to go get my milk and eggs in my car? By the way, one trip over nebo is about the same as 30 trips down to the local shops.

...and I don't drive a small modern car for a few reasons...

And what, exactly, do you drive? A big 4wd such as a land rover or patrol or pajero prehaps? Or maybe a falcon or commonwhore?

- the car I have now will last me another 10-15 years.

And then the metal made to use it will eventually wind up on the scrap heap, melted down and re-used, just like any other car.

These new cars havn't been out long enough for me to see how their parts rate and how often they will need to be replaced. Fuel isn't the only thing to consider.

But despite the fact that most of the material used to build them can be recycled one way or another, its best if you keep your older, non performance but im guessing not exactly fuel efficient car so your wallet smiles? But aren’t you a millionaire?

For example, You have car 1, uses 11L/100km and you have car 2, uses 5L/100km. Car 2 has a useful life of 5 years where Car 1 has a useful life of 20 years. When deciding on the most enviromental car to use there are alot of factors to consider.

So lets go over these figures again:

Car 1 uses 11L/100 km and lets go on say 20 000 km's a year, which is pretty standard for your average car.

20 000 / 100 is 200

200 * 11 is 2200

2200 * 20 is 44 000L of fule, in its working lifespan.

Now car 2 uses 5L / 100, and again, 20 000 km's to a year.

20 000 / 100 is 200

200 * 5 is 1000

1000 * 5 is 5000L of fule, in its working life time, but to get up to the same age as the other vehicle, you need to buy 3 more of them, correct?

This theory is flawed however. In 5 years, car 2 now has a newer, more efficient model out. And then again after that. And then, after that. Also, at what stage did car manufacturer's decide there cars were only going to last 5 years? 5 years is not very old, and I cant see these cars breaking. If they do however, most there parts will be striped and used elsewhere, keeping other parts of the fleet of these cars running, then there bodies melted down to raw materials and reused. Also, If there cars only last 5 years, well, that’s not going to encourage anyone to buy them again is it, so, I think, these cars, which have had millions of dollars worth of R&D carried out on them, which are not high power applications and which probably see the more gentle breed of drivers, will last more then 5 years.

Even if they do not and even if technology does not advance and even if you buy 3 more of them, your still using 24 000L less fuel then your other vehicle.

Though, I will be getting a stagea. Won't be driven often (maybe once every 2 weeks).

Lets examine this from a purely resource effective point of view then shall we?

A stagea is not a small car. Its not a light car. A RB25DET is not a fuel efficient package either. So, sir, your saying, you will purchase this car, who’s resources could of gone into more fuel efficient packages, then barley use it? How does this justify your consumption of the resources that went into the production of this car. And Yes, its a second hand car, but if you buy this it will create a void in the chain of supply until someone eventually buys a new one from a yard.

And I’m betting your buying this thing because its quick, and you want to have some fun in it. Great! But spirited driving is not fuel efficient.

(Ran out of quotes, will use this)

'Ohhhhhh, just thought I'd add even if your car only chews 1L/100km if the shops are only a 10-30 minute walk away you should still walk it...' - Midol

GoGo, GI Joe. Im perfectly fit btw, and I take my fuel guzzling RB26DETT (the second T is important, it stands for Tearing Up the Environment) the 700m down to the local shops. Cause its just so damned hot out there. Must be global warming eh?

'And people wonder why there are so many fat people :w00t:' - Midol

Probably because they eat too much...

On a final note, mate, you can stick your fingers in your ears and think you hold the moral high-ground, however, its not that black and white. What you people have a habit of doing is ignoring the social and economical impacts of what happens when your changes come into effect. So you live in a remote little hamlet in central whoop whoop and it doesn’t really effect you because your towns about a stones throw from go to woe, that’s great, sort of selfish, but great none the less. To some people however, the price of fuel determines how much food they eat.

You also can have the habit of pointing the finger at everyone else and not standing back to take a look at yourself. I’m sure you do a lot for the environment and that’s great, however, if your buying a RB25DET vehicle and then coming on here and saying we/I use too much fuel, well, its a bit hypocritical is it not?

Humanity consumes. You included. That being said, I do respect your views on saving the environment, but raising the price of fuel will do nothing but cause society to go backwards. We will still consume the same amount, but just with more debt.

-Ian

I don't drive a skyline/performance car and I don't drive a small modern car for a few reasons - the car I have now will last me another 10-15 years. These new cars havn't been out long enough for me to see how their parts rate and how often they will need to be replaced. Fuel isn't the only thing to consider.

Ohhhhhh, just thought I'd add even if your car only chews 1L/100km if the shops are only a 10-30 minute walk away you should still walk it...

And people wonder why there are so many fat people :w00t:

Maccas and people sitting on computers having arguments on the internet all day is why people are fat.

If the shops are a 30min walk away. Its a 1hour walk back with your trolly. By the time you get home in the 40* heat, your milk is off, your eggs are cooked, and your ice-cream has melted. Then you still need to walk another hour to take the empty trolly back. LOL and wtf do you do when you want to buy something big like a plasma telly, or a bbq?

i own a bike shop, and the price of fuel isn't helping me at all. i live in a hilly town, and about 60% of the population is on some form of welfare. so when the price of fuel goes up, sales go down. if the price of fuel went up to $2 or $3 a litre then sales may pick up. but at the moment the price is still at a point where people are just putting up with it.

and yes the price fo goods is affected by the price of fuel. when the price of fuel went up to over $1 the cost of freight went up. so that means shop keepers put their prices up to cover costs. then there is also the fact that the shop keepers personal bills go up so the prices may go up even more.

Midol: Before reading this, please, bear in mind that I respect your views about the enviroment however I believe your looking to go about it the wrong way.

Which makes your argument about the price of milk not moving null and void.

Right...

And I have it on good authority that eggs have increased in price.

What good authority is this? Do you live near me? Have you checked my local shop? I don't care how much people pay for their eggs. MY eggs have not gone up.

I do. As do millions of others. And to be frank, id rather the money in my pocket and not old john's...

Tops. Glad to see your so wealthy. Im not. Ill have my money thanks.

Yet. Your buying a RB25DET powered car down the track… Are you sure im the evil devil for using so much fule to go get my milk and eggs in my car? By the way, one trip over nebo is about the same as 30 trips down to the local shops.

And what, exactly, do you drive? A big 4wd such as a land rover or patrol or pajero prehaps? Or maybe a falcon or commonwhore?

And then the metal made to use it will eventually wind up on the scrap heap, melted down and re-used, just like any other car.

Name which cars use recycled parts. I only know of a few manufactuers that do.

But despite the fact that most of the material used to build them can be recycled one way or another, its best if you keep your older, non performance but im guessing not exactly fuel efficient car so your wallet smiles? But aren’t you a millionaire?

So lets go over these figures again:

Car 1 uses 11L/100 km and lets go on say 20 000 km's a year, which is pretty standard for your average car.

20 000 / 100 is 200

200 * 11 is 2200

2200 * 20 is 44 000L of fule, in its working lifespan.

Making the assumption my car runs on fuel - this was a lax example. If you were planning on replying this much I would have noted I use LPG.

Now car 2 uses 5L / 100, and again, 20 000 km's to a year.

20 000 / 100 is 200

200 * 5 is 1000

1000 * 5 is 5000L of fule, in its working life time, but to get up to the same age as the other vehicle, you need to buy 3 more of them, correct?

This theory is flawed however. In 5 years, car 2 now has a newer, more efficient model out. And then again after that. And then, after that. Also, at what stage did car manufacturer's decide there cars were only going to last 5 years? 5 years is not very old, and I cant see these cars breaking. If they do however, most there parts will be striped and used elsewhere, keeping other parts of the fleet of these cars running, then there bodies melted down to raw materials and reused. Also, If there cars only last 5 years, well, that’s not going to encourage anyone to buy them again is it, so, I think, these cars, which have had millions of dollars worth of R&D carried out on them, which are not high power applications and which probably see the more gentle breed of drivers, will last more then 5 years.

My sister bought a new Daewoo - used around 6L/100km. Engine was gone in 4 years - 100,000km is generally accepted out of these smaller cars from my research. If you can prove otherwise go ahead.

Even if they do not and even if technology does not advance and even if you buy 3 more of them, your still using 24 000L less fuel then your other vehicle.

Lets examine this from a purely resource effective point of view then shall we?

A stagea is not a small car. Its not a light car. A RB25DET is not a fuel efficient package either. So, sir, your saying, you will purchase this car, who’s resources could of gone into more fuel efficient packages, then barley use it? How does this justify your consumption of the resources that went into the production of this car. And Yes, its a second hand car, but if you buy this it will create a void in the chain of supply until someone eventually buys a new one from a yard.

Yeah, I am doing something for pure enjoyment without caring about the enviroment for once. No defence here.

And I’m betting your buying this thing because its quick, and you want to have some fun in it. Great! But spirited driving is not fuel efficient.

Nah, mostly to transport the dogs around.

GoGo, GI Joe. Im perfectly fit btw, and I take my fuel guzzling RB26DETT (the second T is important, it stands for Tearing Up the Environment) the 700m down to the local shops. Cause its just so damned hot out there. Must be global warming eh?

Nup. I don't believe we contribute that much to Global Warming - we speed it up but its going to happen anyway (I do believe we have accelerated it over 1000 x but we arn't the sole cause for it. Its going to happen eventually no matter what we do) :D

On a final note, mate, you can stick your fingers in your ears and think you hold the moral high-ground, however, its not that black and white. What you people have a habit of doing is ignoring the social and economical impacts of what happens when your changes come into effect. So you live in a remote little hamlet in central whoop whoop and it doesn’t really effect you because your towns about a stones throw from go to woe, that’s great, sort of selfish, but great none the less. To some people however, the price of fuel determines how much food they eat.

Nah, I am only just rural - mapleton isn't that far away. Its about 5 minutes from nambour and about 20 from the coast. Economics also recommends our population keeps expanding, water usage, electricity usage will all increase.

You also can have the habit of pointing the finger at everyone else and not standing back to take a look at yourself. I’m sure you do a lot for the environment and that’s great, however, if your buying a RB25DET vehicle and then coming on here and saying we/I use too much fuel, well, its a bit hypocritical is it not?

RB26. 260RS. I don't care if people own gas guzzlers, you have to get around. My main problem is with people being so friggin' lazy and driving everywhere even if it is only 700m. These new economical cars that cost 60k - no one can afford the friggin' things so why would I get angry at people for not using them.

Humanity consumes. You included. That being said, I do respect your views on saving the environment, but raising the price of fuel will do nothing but cause society to go backwards. We will still consume the same amount, but just with more debt.

Doubt it. Fuel cost rises = government must do something = money thrown at research = cleaner technology. We'll suffer at first but we will when oil runs out as well.

Just reitterating now - Global Warming and high fuel usage cars arn't my problem - its the driving short distances for no other reason that they are lazy.

Edited by Midol

What good authority is this? Do you live near me? Have you checked my local shop? I don't care how much people pay for their eggs. MY eggs have not gone up.

Ahh, so... Let me get this straight...

So long as your not adversely affected, you don’t care, but you want everyone else to change what there doing? What if I say my air is perfectly clean, so I don’t care, but I CBF wasting 20 minutes of my life walking to the shops when I can get there in 30 seconds in my car?

Name which cars use recycled parts. I only know of a few manufactuers that do.

Most cars on the road have had a part fail at some stage, and then these parts are replaced with parts from a wreckers.

Making the assumption my car runs on fuel - this was a lax example. If you were planning on replying this much I would have noted I use LPG.

Yet you still wont say exactly what car you drive, making it very difficult for me to actually make any sort of reply based on anything except the example you gave.

My sister bought a new Daewoo - used around 6L/100km. Engine was gone in 4 years - 100,000km is generally accepted out of these smaller cars from my research. If you can prove otherwise go ahead.

And how much did she service it? Did she maintain it properly? Did she drive it well? Having it break proves nothing except it is broken.

Yeah, I am doing something for pure enjoyment without caring about the enviroment for once. No defence here.

Kay, well, im driving down to get my chicken roll without caring what im doing to the environment. No defence here either...

Nah, mostly to transport the dogs around.

What a waste of a stagea

Nup. I don't believe we contribute that much to Global Warming - we speed it up but its going to happen anyway (I do believe we have accelerated it over 1000 x but we arn't the sole cause for it. Its going to happen eventually no matter what we do)

So wait, we haven’t contributed to it but we have greatly accelerated it?

Nah, I am only just rural - mapleton isn't that far away. Its about 5 minutes from nambour and about 20 from the coast. Economics also recommends our population keeps expanding, water usage, electricity usage will all increase.

Your point?

RB26. 260RS. I don't care if people own gas guzzlers, you have to get around. My main problem is with people being so friggin' lazy and driving everywhere even if it is only 700m. These new economical cars that cost 60k - no one can afford the friggin' things so why would I get angry at people for not using them.

Didn’t you say in an earlier post that you didn’t mind paying a bit more to save the planet?

Doubt it. Fuel cost rises = government must do something = money thrown at research = cleaner technology. We'll suffer at first but we will when oil runs out as well.

In your fantasy world perhaps. If the government was going to do something they would have by now. They have stated many times they are not.

Also, mate, the largest consumption of fuel in the world by far is POWER GENERATION. So the answer lies not in getting us to walk down to the shops, which would make such a piddling difference anyway, but in converting to nuclear power.

Actually the most fuel efficient cars are small modern euro 4cyl fwd desiel cars. They nail the hybrids something chronic.

And I make my own chips :)

Actually my Toyota Echo had better fuel ecconomy and went a whole heap more than toyota pruis or whatever its called.

While we're talking global warming and carbon emmissions and stuff. How many people here actually undertand it and others just go on here say and media related content? For instance do people realise CO2 occupies 0.035% of the atmosphere, and the molecular weight of air is 29, and the CO2 molecular weight is 44, thats almost twice that of air. Makes you wonder how the hell does CO2 get some 30+ km above us to get to our ozone layer? Think about this, when us humans expell air over 80% of it is CO2, when was the last time you saw a balloon be suspended in the air for any great length of time and stay up there? If anything the winds carry the balloon for a period of time before landing back down on earth. How would a CO2 fire extinguisher ever work if the gases had the ability to get up to our ozone layer? More so CO2 is easily disolved in water. Being that our planet is covered in more than 75% water. 99.9% of all the world's CO2 is at ground level or below, 71% of all CO2 at any one time will be dissolved in the oceans. So I'm still confused as this nasty CO2 affects the ozone layer. And don't even get me started on global warming :D

You guys should start harrassing your representatives. Here in WA we have Fuel Watch which tells you in advance what all the prices at every servo are today and will be tomorrow. The servos are also required by law to keep that price for 24hrs (i.e. they can't just change it half way through the day). What's happening now though is BP (effectively our only choice over here for 98RON) just has it's prices set exactly the same at every station - so for us, there really is no point in shopping around.

Also I've been reading the previous posts and FWIW, enjoy these years while you can. We're going to be hitting peak oil some time in the next couple of years, some people say we're there now. After that, it's all downhill. It's not just a matter of "oh well, we'll just get around in electric cars" either. This is the stuff of the stone heads of Easter Island on a global scale. So why do I drive around on an RB25DET? Because we're screwed whether we drive our gas guzzler sports cars or not. To switch to an econocar is to miss the point. Read this for a slightly alarmist view of the whole topic.

"Big deal. If gas prices get high, I’ll just drive less. Why should I give a damn?"

Because petrochemicals are key components to much more than just the gas in your car. As geologist Dale Allen Pfeiffer points out in his article entitled, "Eating Fossil Fuels," approximately 10 calories of fossil fuels are required to produce every 1 calorie of food eaten in the US.