Taken from the ANDRA Website:

Drag Racing Seeks Inclusion In S A Strategic Plan

Posted on www.andra.com.au

Following the release of the State Level Sporting Facilities Strategic Plan 2007-2017 in draft form late last year, the Adelaide based Australian National Drag Racing Association (ANDRA) has proposed amendments to the document that could deliver a national standard drag racing facility to the South Australian capital.

The ten year vision intends to enable all sports to have access to facilities capable of hosting State level competitions, enhance opportunities to conduct major sports events and enable and encourage opportunities for participation in sport at all levels.

Apart from regional activities, no significant drag racing has been conducted in South Australia since the late nineties, due mainly to the lack of a suitable venue servicing the Adelaide area. The Association did attempt to purchase the existing venue in 2001 but the property was withdrawn from sale by the owner before being offered to a local consortium 2002. The possible sale has remained the subject of a legal dispute since 2003.

Drag racing has gone from strength to strength in capital cities such as Perth and Sydney, where world class venues have been delivered by the respective State Governments, at a collective investment of nearly $50 million over the past eight years.

The SA vision also intends that facilities are developed and managed to enhance their long term financial sustainability. Neither the Western Sydney International Dragway nor the Perth Motorplex present ongoing costs to their respective State Governments.

ANDRA currently has nearly 3,700 members nationally, with another 5,000 participating annually at the off-street level on an amateur basis. Collectively, the value of drag racing vehicles and equipment across the Australia exceeds $160 million. Beyond that, the collective investment of drag racing teams at major Australian drag racing events regularly exceeds $1 million.

Perth, Sydney and Brisbane provide excellent examples of the potential of well managed, industry standard drag racing venues – in the current climate. Opportunities for South Australian competitors wishing to compete at any national level have been non –existent, and the State has missed a number of chances to develop new motor sport events of national significance.

Along with the local and wider economic impact of hosting ANDRA Championship drag racing events, the venues provide an opportunity to actively engage with young people in a safe and secure environment through the hosting of weekly street car drag racing nights. The ability to communicate positively and directly with young people enthusiastic about motor sports and drag racing would provide the South Australian Government with a targeted opportunity to influence driver attitudes and would compliment their efforts to curb “hoon” driving.

The sport of drag racing in Australia has grown into a major industry, providing spectacular entertainment for patrons, challenging and rewarding recreational opportunities for participants, and safe options for young drivers.

The position drag racing finds itself in locally requires urgent solutions. No further steps were planned until the current legal issues with the current venue were finalised, however that decision is some months overdue.

ANDRA CEO Tony Thornton said the opportunity to respond to the Draft Final Report was welcome. “Under the Motor Sports heading, the document acknowledges the situation with the current venue but it goes on to say that no gaps or deficiencies have been identified.”

“Nothing could be further from the truth where drag racing is concerned.” Thornton commented. “On the basis of the success of Western Sydney International Dragway, built by the New South Wales Government in 2002, and the Perth Motorplex, completed by the Western Australian Government in 1999, there can be no doubt that a dedicated drag racing venue in the Adelaide area, funded by the South Australian Government, will be successful.’

We can only dream!!

• Replies 6k

Track or drag day may result in breakages. :(

At least if I break something at Mallala I can grab the Landcruiser, hire a car trailer and tow the car back.

It would be awesome though and I still may look in to it in the future. I'd love to hoon around the track sitting up Brisby's (Troy alias Roy) arse to zip past on the straights. :D

lol Brisby (Roy) has some good experience under his belt; I doubt I'd keep up with him. :P

Troys car is sex :wub: luv the external wastegate....

Yes I know this but us NSW'ers make a trip down to Shepparton to do DECA!

Now this happen every three months at Shepparton put on by the SAU VIC's :)

You guys would be travelling the same amount of km's as us I reckon to get there......

It's an idea that maybe some of you might wanna look in too ;)

It's not that hard on the cars it's mostly done in 1st and 2nd gear around the cones doing the time trial, but the long and short wang race track is a bit different I think you only just hit the top of 3rd gear...

It's a great weekend away and loads of fun and you meet the best people

I mean we do it, maybe you guys should too.. :D

Just a thought :)

p.s we had 8 cars go down to deca and 2 were GTR's and we had no breakages only a dodgy alarm on one car that cut all his power and a bit of a burnt out clutch on one of the GTR's and we all made it home....It really depend's on how hard you push your car...there was a 600kw GTR out there and it ran all day :)

Just got back from Marksmans firing range, was rad! Highly recommend going there, was a huge buzz. My heart was racing by the time i finished using the 44 magnum. Definatley go Steve, well worth the cash, and anyone else. We should organise a group shoot!

why are people so worried about driving their cars any great distances? it's a freaking car they do 100's of thousands of kays in testing. I'm sure its no problem for them to drive on a highway.

I used to take my R34 heaps to the yorke to see my cousins.

Kralster.. Yours was near stock. :D

When they are modified they have a habbit of munching third gear without warning, breaking ring lands etc etc.

S3girl (Darrens) R31 470rwkw monster, interstate at the drags, alternator failed, fuel pump received low voltage as a result big lean out and BANG no ring lands.

The joys.

Mine for example.. Slowly cruising, changed in to third started to accelerate at a normal pace and BANG. clunk clunk clunk. :)

Yes it was my fault for running a gearbox that couldn't handle the torque. lol

All though that was the only major failure thats caused problems getting home within almost 6 years and ~170,000km's travelled.

You SA peeps are pussey! :)

Should try differnt things, Shouldn't assume your car will break....

Ok there is a possibilty that it might break, but how do you know that unless you go out and try different events?

SA is very limited on what it can offer the motor enthusist...Why not try something different and venture outside the norm?

I just think you guys are so resticted on what is on offer and it's sad and unfair to you all...If there are other events what is the harm in trying it once, even if it is in another state.... :)

anything good happen while i was gone??

omg i hate tv in Mildura, so good to be back in Adelaide with normal programs hehe

oh i didn't get homesick this time hehe :)

Yeah dam mexican's and there bad TV lol

I'm gald you had a good time :)

It takes a bit of getting use to another state ,that is!!!!

Yeah dam mexican's and there bad TV lol

I'm gald you had a good time :)

It takes a bit of getting use to another state ,that is!!!!

haha yeah 3rd time lucky :huh:

it was pretty funny there, my friends sister got lost

and she wasn't listening to the directions i gave her, but yeah i kinda

know my way around there now.

i just find it funny coz they use to live there and i've only been there 3times now.

oh Renmarks worse, had to stay there Friday night, they don't get ch7, 9 or 10

how crap is that.

it was kinda crap, i didn't get to see this guy down there coz he was stuck at

some place, i only really went down there to see him haha :)

You SA peeps are pussey! :)

Should try differnt things, Shouldn't assume your car will break....

Ok there is a possibilty that it might break, but how do you know that unless you go out and try different events?

SA is very limited on what it can offer the motor enthusist...Why not try something different and venture outside the norm?

I just think you guys are so resticted on what is on offer and it's sad and unfair to you all...If there are other events what is the harm in trying it once, even if it is in another state.... :)

do i hear jess picking up the fuel bill im luck to get 400kms of a tank with syndey being correct me if im wrong 1200km away thats lots of juice