which do you guys prefer (i know its biased), but im after educated answers as i am after an s15 but am also considering the r34gtt

the only thing i see in the r34's advantage is its size. i assume the s15 would have better fuel economy, the interior looks alot nicer, and having never driven an r34 before i assume the s15 is alot easier to drive.

the only downside to the s15 in my eyes is how dam small it is, but its a sexy car no?

help!

p.s what kinda mileage can i expect on an r34 gtt with exhaust and air filter only?

thanks in advanced, constructive answers please

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/

If your worried about resale value I'd go the s15 as not many are imported unlike the r34, which will become almost as common as r33's in a few years time (not quite that common but you get my point). I personally think the r34 looks heaps better all round especially the interior as the s15's have those dickey air vents.

My r33 hardly uses any petrol when I'm not boosting it. Both the current sr and rb are very efficient at burning fuel, the only factor influencing fuel consumption is the weight difference, as the r34 has more weight to get up to speed. I think you find both cars will give you similar mileage; you may even get better mileage with the r34 on the highway.

If you’re tall like me go the 34, so much space, comparable to that of a commodore. But it’s all preference I guess. I think you’ll be happy whatever way you go, as they are both great cars, reliable, stylish and more than anything Nissan which instantly makes them good haha, but seriously go the 34.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2773636

hmm, id have to say id go for a jap spec s15....they are sex on wheels. id only get a 34 if it was a GTR.

edit: my mate is lookin at s15's, we chekd one out in a car yard...he got into his comfy driving position, and his drivers seat was touching the bak seat. so basically, he'd have room for one peron in the bak. they are small...if u are really goin to need the room taxing ppl around then 34 is probably the wiser choice. but if ur short, it should be fine, hehe. personally, i dont care about who i can fit in the car, id just get the car that i wanted. :D

Edited by 32line
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2773669

If your worried about resale value I'd go the s15 as not many are imported unlike the r34, which will become almost as common as r33's in a few years time (not quite that common but you get my point). I personally think the r34 looks heaps better all round especially the interior as the s15's have those dickey air vents.

My r33 hardly uses any petrol when I'm not boosting it. Both the current sr and rb are very efficient at burning fuel, the only factor influencing fuel consumption is the weight difference, as the r34 has more weight to get up to speed. I think you find both cars will give you similar mileage; you may even get better mileage with the r34 on the highway.

If you’re tall like me go the 34, so much space, comparable to that of a commodore. But it’s all preference I guess. I think you’ll be happy whatever way you go, as they are both great cars, reliable, stylish and more than anything Nissan which instantly makes them good haha, but seriously go the 34.

not necessarly, i see s15's way way more than R34s. Plus the s15s ive seen for sale have ridiculous amounts of milage.

saying that, they are both very sexy cars, my choice would be the r34 GTT though, hands down.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2773686

which do you guys prefer (i know its biased), but im after educated answers as i am after an s15 but am also considering the r34gtt

the only thing i see in the r34's advantage is its size. i assume the s15 would have better fuel economy, the interior looks alot nicer, and having never driven an r34 before i assume the s15 is alot easier to drive.

the only downside to the s15 in my eyes is how dam small it is, but its a sexy car no?

help!

p.s what kinda mileage can i expect on an r34 gtt with exhaust and air filter only?

thanks in advanced, constructive answers please

50-100 thousand kilometers roughly

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2773688

hey bud i was in your position a few weeks ago i had my heart set on a blue s15 GT spec . had 43,000 ks asking price was 39,000, mind you i loved it when i saw it .. but then wondering around i saw some 2000 model 34's i was blown away with performance and comfort wise.. im pretty tall and even in the 34 like the s15 you wont have much room for people .. although 34 has more head room !, fuel economy on my 34 is aroun 450ish average wit zorst pod and front mount , now that ive got the 34 i wouldnt worry about going back to a s15.. much better car to drive and power differance is huge ! 144kw as opposed to 206kw

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2773696

the 34 is a faster car and the interior is better then the s-15 i ve drive both cars and i own an r34 and the s-15 unles modded canot compare to the 34 in the end its realy what kind of a look u like the boxy 34 look or the sleek s-15 look, as for handeling they similar there.

R34 GTT 280hp, 206kw, 150 RWKW with exhost and pod 171.5rwkw

S15 Spec R/S : 164 kw at fly around 120 atw

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2773848

S15s are as popular as R34s will be as they are Aus delivered

Everyone says "OMG 206kw vs 160kw the R34 has more power blah blah" but no-one has mentioned the S15 is 200kg lighter.

Give me a small car anyday - low weight, easier to park and find parking spots for.

However, the S15 is only 15cm shorter than a R34 coupe.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2773869

this topic has been coverd a fair bit, its very hard to compare the 2. the only thing they got in common is the fact that they are turbo nissan coupes and the simlarities end there. Having said that though, their both great cars.it really comes down to what you like looks wise and also which car feels better to drive. def throughly drive both of them to get a good idea on what you really want cos either way the resale value is crap with most imports now days..and also consider the superior torque of a straight 6. and i guess it would be fair to say that stock for stock brand new from the factory the R34's would have cost a bit more, i dont know if that really means anything, but i guess what im trying to say is that the skylines are the 'premium' sports coupe to come out of japan at the time. anyways what does it for me is that, its hard to go past the sound of an RB With a nice exhuast and a cold air intake...i could just sit there and listen to it 24/7.

PS: whats wrong with your xr6T? thats a pretty sweet ride, why dont you just upgrade to a Typhoon instead? :D more power + more room then both the 34 and s15 and u prob would even get a factory warrenty!

Edited by dineth
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2773967

It really depends on what type of car you want, and the stuff you're looking to do with it.

IMHO, S15s have better handling and better fuel economy, but R34s are more comfortable. For track days, if you're looking to pick up drifting, the S15 is an excellent car for that.

Why not test drive both cars and see which you prefer?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2774009

I was in the same situation, & obviously went for the '34 in the end. I'm sure if you go to a silvia forum & asked the same question you'd find people considering both cars & gone with the s15. It's all up to personal choice & situations.

S15's are the 'truer' sports cars from the nissan lineup at the time, whereas the r34 was GT-T is the grand tourer.

Both cars look sexy, go hard when pushed, & handle very well on the road & at high speeds, although the 34 feels a lot more rigid & stable when turning corners compared to the s15.

I don't even consider fuel milage when it comes to me buying a car, as the only cars that I'm interested in are generally gas guzzlers anyway compared to the daily driven fleet mobiles.

I like the fact that I can fit my gf/mates in the car & carry a lot of crap in the boot when I need to & still fly past a falcodore :D

It's a great choice whichever one you choose, good luck with your search mate! :P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2774013

thanks for the replies guys, yea the xr6 turbo is a great little car, and responds to ecu mods like crazy, the gt35/40 helps as well. however usually its only me driving the car and because i do alot of city driving the fuel economy on it isnt as good as id like it to be. if i did highway k's on teh other hand i could probably get close to 600kms out of a tank

another reason is im looking at getting into more track work, and a lighter manual seems the way to go, no?

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2774204

s15s are lighter, the jap spec is more powerful. But i see the prices for modifications are higher than skylines - in most cases anyway. R34 is rarer, more powerful, but heavier.

Both cars modded, look good and go good and both are around the same price i think. I wouldnt know what to go for if I was you. I suppose the jap spec s15 might have more parts as the 200sx was sold here...

Edit: didnt read the track work part - the silvia maybe better suited for the track too - depends on how you mod it. Im sure a lot of people here have skylines for the track. Im trying to make mine perfect for the track too - who knows how much that will set me back - but its fun anyway :(

Edited by emsta2003
https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2774220

S15 would be my pick if your looking to do some track work.

Every KG helps and that aids braking/tyres etc.

The S15 is a well balanced car, i've been driving a modded one lately and they are reasonably brisk

Nothing like a 350rwkw RB, but its quite nimble, but then this one has suspension and a diff that with some playing would be quite fast.

Definately a JDM spec though, not the crap hole AUS version

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2774227

hey champ

ive got a mates(BF&GF) that both have blue s15 spec r i think,both very nice car and one is quiet modded,pfc,injectors,pump and the usuaL and on advan dyno it made 298hp.so id say they woulkd be goods that are fast and reliable with heaps of style

but after being in them the interior i will agree is some what dull,i really dont like the hand break as its looks tacky as

but thats just my opinion

go the 34 mate better in the long run i reckon........

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2774255

Skylines are much better built cars than Silvias. They hold together better and the R34's interior is not "plasticy" like s15s. S15's panels scratch like crazy. Also theres more rattling noises in s15s.

Fuel economy might be slightly better in s15... maybe by 2-3 litres on average but not anymore.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/148667-s15-vs-r34-gtt/#findComment-2775542