hey all me and a mate are thinking of moving to qld. just wondering what are the cops like up there on imports and whats the go with mods what cant u do ect im in vic and you cant do nething down here or u will get an unroadworthy its bullshit. also whats a good area to live like somewhere close to city i guess but i dunno advise would be great thanks all

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/149362-thinking-of-moving-to-qld/

better then victoria id say, but the police up here have there priorities all f**ked up. There more concerned with defecting cars then catching criminals.

That being said, I have never been defected and I drove a highly defectable car around for 9 months. Don't be silly and you will be fine.

The liscening up here is better too if your a young bloke. Best be getting a QLD lisence ASAP however as thats all about to change.

you can drive imports up here, thats no problem

illegal shit happens, but the cops find out about it pretty quick and they can set up anything from defect stations to raids (and completely losing your car and license)

the legal stuff is restricted to a raceway out in the sticks, occasional events out there

showing off, you're welcome to do that once a week at surfers paradise with the rest of the nads at broadwater carpark

but honestly you're not going to get away with much more up here, the cops are on the ball usually and i'd like it to stay that way. The amount of stupid dickheads in imports up here, then add the tens of thousands of f**kheads in commodores, we need all the cops we can get kthx

i mean im not dickhead hoon but my car is bearly modded but i have had 3 unroadworthys in 3 months and its doing my head it i always get done for 2 low and cooler and pod and just lame shit like that. what is defectable up there like can u have a high mount turbo and so on without engineers and stuff

You can have a high-mount turbo, pods are ok if they are secured (but thats debateable) intercoolers are ok if the front bar is not cut too much and they will still get you for being too low. But when changing to QLD regestration you will need to have a safety certificate so it will need to be roadworthy to pass that.

Don't move up just to escape the cops, but all in all I think QLD is a more progressive place and there is many other good reasons to live here.

The people that get defected here mainly are out racing on the highway or cruising the known "cruise" spots or hanging out at a few of the known maccas. Stay clear of them and you won't have trouble. Because of the amount of idiot drivers in general, doing minor stupid stuff seems to be ignored.

Honestly mate, they truly aren't that bad. After talking to a mate from NSW about their licensing and fines and defects etc, we truly have it quite easy by comparison. Most of the time, if you're being sus, doing 10kmh + UNDER the speed limit, they're going to think you've got something to hide. The whole time bunts & I have had the skylines, we have not been defected, even when pulled over, they have hardly really cared. Christ, I got pulled over driving the 33, only had my learners, was driving alone. He could have ass raped me good and proper. Didn't even lift the bonnet.

It depends on who you get, and what you (and more importantly, others around you) are doing at the time. Also think about rego and insurance. Another thing that QLD beats NSW on :laugh:

Anna

QLD is getting too over populated. u knw how hard it is to get a park at any shopping center these days. not to mention the roads.

Have a sook.. Come on, the state is one of the largest, plenty of room. I think it will be a good thing with more people - wider experiences, differences in restaurants, cultures, new ideas, growth, jobs. That's good for lots of reasons.

See, one day.. the shopping centre becomes too crowded.. they see the demand, and they build another one.. or they build a bigger car-park to cope with the extra demand. It's how things, like, change... in a growing city.

That's what I like about QLD.. everything is always growing, changing..

After being down in Melb, you're far better off in Brisbane with an import. You guys have so many crazy things going on... especially with the police and hidden speed cameras (I didn't personally drive there thankfully).

Your laws are far harsher with the roadies etc... In QLD as long as you follow the directions as pointed out by the transport department, you get away with plenty.

Exhaust under 100db, secured pod filters, fmic, no emission tests, must have a cat, must be at least 100mm off the ground at the lowest point, road worthy tires, not blowing mass amounts of smoke, what ever turbo you like, most rims are allowed, etc... etc...

Recently had 4 girls move up here from Adel, they love it up here, say there is so much more to do etc... Plus living near the Gold coast is a plus, I doubt I'd live down there though haha.

No the real solution is that everybody doesn't goto work and leave work at the same time... but that's a crazy idea.

Problem with the other cities is they just don't have the support that Brisbane city has. I'm cool with all the people moving here, I was born here and bought up here (well mostly), so I can see the appeal to many others.

Though the crime rate has risen lately, but I personally think it has more to do with police spending too much time and effort on traffic fines then drug related offenses (yes, there are many), but then again, traffic offenses are easily proven, while the justice system is weak against drug dealers etc...

With the overcrowding, I think people just need to move away from brisbane and towards other cities. Brisbanes full, one just need to look at the ICB in peak hour to understand this.

yeah. i heard rocky and mackay has some imports up ther. guarenteed no cop trouble.