I've convinced my mate he needs a project car whilst he's saving for an XR6T (he's a ford person :no: ). We're both interested in rebuilding/converting something and his old man has a fair bit of expertise.

The general consensus was it must be a sleeper, must be reasonably quick and be on the cheap side. If it runs a flat 14 he should be happy (currently on par with my R32 :) ) but if it manages to go quicker its a bonus.

He drives an LPG Falcon so fuel economy isn't a worry as it won't be daily driven. 4 doors is a bonus, but not a necessity. We both love the note of a V8 but it does detract from the sleeper value of the car. Turbo would also be nice. RWD is prefered

The first idea was a VL. We found one with a recond gearbox and blown head gasket for cheap. The idea was to do a RB30DET conversion using a stock bottom end and keep it looking like a shit box. Only problems would be the drivetrain isn't up to the power so it might start getting expensive and his parents hate Commodores and are refusing to have it parked outside there house :) (which is fair enough)

I suggested an aus spec R31 but he doesn't think it has the same sleeper value as a VL. I'm yet to pitch the idea of the FJ20 turbo Datsun ute (my favorite) or a supercharged 4A corolla. A torana may be an option but it's not really much of a sleeper with a V8 inside it.

Budget is probably about 4-5 grand for the whole thing. Definately wouldn't be spending any of that on aesthetics :P

Can anyone suggest any other cheap cars to do up?

If anyone can come up with some mini car (moke or lada style :D ) that you can shoehorn some kind of ridiculous engine into I'd love to hear it.

-Matt

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/149534-need-a-project-car/

• Replies 44

^Haha those things are granny mobile's to the max.. Reminds me of an AMC Gremlin

FJ20> MR30 hatchback... Engine should bolt-in with DR30 cross member

MX83 Cressida with 1JZ 1/2 cut. Can be done very cheaply if you don't mind the auto.

Edited by Drift_Limo

Nissan Patrol?

it's dirty cheap nowdays, you could turbo it and see it fly,

see this for example: http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...howtopic=148705

Buy 3l verison, drop the motor off vl turbo after these who has spent loads and see if it is faster than 32 gtst.

If 4.2ltr, you could pick 1 with lpg and use lpg mixer to fuel it no ecu needed, boost it to 10 psi and enjoy.

Post up if he decides to do the cheap sleeper project.

ea/eb falcon with turbo bolted on..

in fact there was/is? one for sale very recently for about $5k.. looked as grandpa as you could get. In fact, if anything it was too clean.

VL's are hardly 'sleeper'.. If anything the one car cops would pick on..

4 to 5 K is not enough money for a sleeper, let alone a motor for a sleeper.

All you gonna have is heart ache and worries.

By a car that is already fast and cheap..ie Q45 Infinity..around 7K

This then can be worked on slightly to increase power..ie zorst, intake,re-chip/comp.etc.

0 to 100 in around 5.5 seconds,1/4 Mile in 14....and this is in stock form

My 2c

At the last dyno day in NSW we saw a recently converted bright yellow and rust VB commodore wagon, with roofracks and all....

RB20 inside with VG30 on the side...

aparently he wanted to do it to show the "ricers" a thing or 2 about drifting on the track...

sleeper and a half

71829276.QcQjsNDV.jpg

71829275.FYHa0BVb.jpg

71829277.Q1kGk2DR.jpg

people look at you like your a bogan, untill they realise it goes like shit off a shovel

DRIFT WAGON FTW

Haysey, where are you getting all these pics from? Friggen awesome! :(

Has anyone ever done up a R31 Skyline wagon?

According to redbook they have the same kerb weight as an R32 GTS-T. A turbo on the RB30 would make it bloody quick in a straight line. You could probably drift it aswell :P

Keep em coming :D