Recent Street Racing Hoons.. Us Getting The Blame.. :(

and ive done better lap times than modified GTRs in a shitbox S13 with coilovers

at the end of the day, comparing cars is a waste of time.

It never ceases to amaze me that people who own their "Dream rides" can still get so upset about what everyone else is driving and how fast theyre driving it

so ur saying that.. i drive my dream ride.. and im getting upset because everyone is faster than me.. haha

good one.. sorry if i miss interpreted but i guess that comment was directed at me.

frankly i dnt realy care what people are driving. i enjoy comparing my car. i paid just over 23k a year ago and it holds its own to the latest subaru technica international has to offer. holds its own against 100k and over exotics. so i might go sit in my 16 year old GTR and have a cry :devil:

• Replies 66

and ive done better lap times than modified GTRs in a shitbox S13 with coilovers

at the end of the day, comparing cars is a waste of time.

It never ceases to amaze me that people who own their "Dream rides" can still get so upset about what everyone else is driving and how fast theyre driving it

You saying you could post a better time then a Modified GTR ? Maybe if it was driven by

a beginner driver. When it comes to LAPS of a track its 50% the Car and 50 % the driver.

Lets see your little S13 keep up with a Modified GTR on the open road :devil:

Whos going to get to 100 first ? who is going to get of the line faster ? whos tail lights you going to be seeing ? Thats right the GTR's

As for owning a dream car and having people being wankers next to that dream car yeah

sure we can get upset about these clowns who could put there little shit box into your DREAM CAR.

Infact thats happening to a Member of this forum currently. When his dream car was t boned

by some shitbox who thought it was a good time to race.

You saying you could post a better time then a Modified GTR ? Maybe if it was driven by

a beginner driver. When it comes to LAPS of a track its 50% the Car and 50 % the driver.

Lets see your little S13 keep up with a Modified GTR on the open road :devil:

Whos going to get to 100 first ? who is going to get of the line faster ? whos tail lights you going to be seeing ? Thats right the GTR's

i think thats the point hes trying to make, because obviously a gtr is the more powerful and capable car, just like the fezza is the more powerful and capable car vs a gtr

if the guy is driving the fezza because he noticed he is losing his hair hes not going to drive as hard in his $200,000 car as the guy in his $20,000 gtr, just like the kid in s13 is going to drive like a madman until his grip, engine or skill runs out.

a gtr is a great car no doubt, but its not that far beyond everything else that its untouchable

Ahhh. I fail to see the point of this comment. Thats if there even is any. Unless you could elaborate and explain how you figure an adapted sedan chassis is a compromise ?

That is the point right there the chassis is a compromise it isn't designed specifically for performance applications and bandaids such as ATTESSA have to be used. The GT3 is is not compromised and the one I rode in put its 400rwkw down better than any GTR I have been in.

There is nothing wrong with GTRs I just wish some people were realists about them

funny strories..heheh.. i killed 2 wrx's done up!! stickers everywere!!. this was on the palm beach bridge, and i waited for them to race again at my window, let him slide by and cought him and killed.. the guy told me he was runnining more boost, yet he could not do a thing against me. THIS WAS ON FRIDAY NIGHT AT 7-8pm , if you know who you are...

also i stayed even with the 32gtr, which was a very nice looking clean great sounding car, i will give him that... dunno if anyone has said this but!... all this RWKW talk, it depends to much on the condtion of your car, transmision, gear box, other things that are warn, were im getting with this is, that 32gtr may of has more hp/kw from the fly, but when he hit the street, he was slow due to other things coming into play.. just wanted to add this in.. :(

if that sonic silver 32gtr guy is on here.. nice car.. so clean!!.. but why were you hanging with 2 wrx's the hole way?, they had to many stickers and wanna be sponsors for me to come up and win (me moding the car my self, smart mods.. i thought i had the lose for sure when i seen all the sexy kits and sponsors..lmao

That is the point right there the chassis is a compromise it isn't designed specifically for performance applications and bandaids such as ATTESSA have to be used. The GT3 is is not compromised and the one I rode in put its 400rwkw down better than any GTR I have been in.

There is nothing wrong with GTRs I just wish some people were realists about them

totally agree

i realise this is a skylines forum but its retarded that (some) people on here seem to think that skylines are the best car in the world at everything, when really they are just a good all round sports car thats easily affordable

^^^ true... and i can agree with this, and i have a 33... just enjoy what you do to your car.. each car normaly with have something over the other, depends on what you decide to work on.. its like some black and white racial thing.. haha. cant all the jap< cars get along.. hehe.. not uncluding v8's.. hehe dont wanna get along withem..lol

Man I dont know about GTR invinceability. Ive lost plenty of races in mine, I lost to a silvia very recently in a straight line (tho he had to back right off round the corner, while I kept it up to speed).

All in controlled conditions of course.

like ian said, there is no such thing as an invincible car. there will always be someone faster.

the main problem with a nissan is that they sacrificed reliability for power. honda on the other hand, sacrificed power for reliability. has anyone ever seen a fully tuned honda before? i mean new computer and everything, they are nuts! this is coming from someone who hates honda's with a passion, mazda FTW!

a gtr is overworked IMO. they break so frequently, and have numerous problems.

i was reading through a race report the other day from a tuning shop that was building an mx5 race car. turbo stock engine running 140rwkw. it was beating a gtr around wakefield, no problems. only place the gtr could get ahead of it was on the straights due to its larger power. so much for awd. the car weighed 900kg, only 50 less than stock and only had mild suspension upgrades along with the engine work. the gtr was built for racing with bigger brakes, increased boost all those things, yet it still got beaten.

gtr is just another car. if people think that they will win coz they own one, then bye bye. you'll prob end up crying by the end of the night. there are n13 pulsars with more power than some gtr's, and almost as quick around the corners. but they were half the price :(

thats my opinion, good to see i'm not the only one who agrees with me

end rant :)

using an STI with exhaust as a benchmark...lolz

dont mock the subaru andy. the stock ones have the same power as a stock gtr 206kw from the factory. i'd say its a perfect benchmark.

Oh I will mock, I used to think they were great but when I was on the track with them I can confirm they are heaps of crap. When at wakie there was a group of them and a group of skylines, they were going off the track and being generally slow all over the place. Both groups of drivers were average people so you would assume that the level of talent was equal in the two groups yet the STI/WRX group was FAR slower than the GTR/GTST group

Hell even my lowly GTST belted them down the straight

And I really doubt that the GTR and the STI have the same power everyone knows the GTR power figure is a lie as shown by the fact that they are similar weights yet when new the GTR was faster

And a 0-100 of 5.5 sec from the STI is hardly world beating either

the main problem with a nissan is that they sacrificed reliability for power.

i think this is the funniest thing i have ever read, from someone who is talking about putting a rotary into a mx5.

what i find funny is that so many people are comparing a car that sells for over 20k-25k after 15 years with a car that cost that brand new.

try taking into account the cost of buying the car, doing it up and how fast it goes then. i know a guy that had a dirty old exa that ran low 13's and the car cost him about 10k all up. that was on stock internals, stock ecu.

another of my mates had a GH sigma that had a stock sr20 in it with just a front mount, exhaust and more boost that ran a 12.56 at the 2005 jamboree. the car cost him $5000 to buy the car, motor and do the conversion.

wrx's are a completely different car to the GTR. they are aimed at 2 different markets. the GTR was aimed at the supercar type of racing, so it has taller gears, etc and makes a better track car. the WRX is more rally based, so its not such a good track car.

i know if i had the option of either a 25k, 100% stock gtr or a 10k, 100% stock silvia and then spending the other 15k on making it go fast i know which way i'd go. sure the gtr would get a better launch, but once you get moving the silvia would soon flex its muscles.

but you guys keep having fun comparing your cars that cost well over 50k new to cars that cost 20k and cost about half as much to run.

based on 1996 STOCK SETUP just to keep the post going..haha

Torque

GTR r33: 360Nm @ 4400rpm = 265.49ft

GTST R33: 296Nm @ 4800rpm = 218.29ft

based 2005

STI: 406.28nm @ 4000rpm = 300ft

WRX: 293.88nm @ 4000rpm = 217ft

is this right stats?, the gtst only has a little over the basic wrx..

different, and thats just one thing.

to the comment up the top about gtr's thinking they always win.. they dont always win.. haha... have beatin a gtr. not of the mark, but rolling in 3rd and kept going..

hey, i said earlier, cant all the jap cars get along.. :(

what was the topic again..haha

if your going to race, make sure there is no cops, and a road that can be raced on, away from traffic, or get a police scanner :down:

back on topic

Edited by seriesII

i have learned that:

i am

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

PHULLI SIK because 'I flogged a GTR' OMFG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

what is the f**ken deal with GTRs any way????????????????????????? why every peter brock or drift king has to compare their fulli sik worked car to a GTR to prove they are fast and have a bigger e-penis?

so tell me instead of comparing everything to a GTR, why dont u try to prove your fuli sickness to a supra or rotary?

its because people think that the GTRs are super quick because they can beat a supra off the line because off the 4WD.

we need more rolling start races to see that once you take the massive traction advantage out off the equation that GTRs aren't that much faster.

its because people think that the GTRs are super quick because they can beat a supra off the line because off the 4WD.

we need more rolling start races to see that once you take the massive traction advantage out off the equation that GTRs aren't that much faster.

lol, i dont know how many of us bought our cars to prove some points against others...

the most often heard statement on the internet or aspley maccas car park is that ' i beat a GTR the other day in my second gear OMG im so cool'.

ppl like that dont even know what GTRs are good for.

i have learned that:

i am

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

what is the f**ken deal with GTRs any way????????????????????????? why every peter brock or drift king has to compare their fulli sik worked car to a GTR to prove they are fast and have a bigger e-penis?

so tell me instead of comparing everything to a GTR, why dont u try to prove your fuli sickness to a supra or rotary?

It is probably because so many others (Not pointing fingers at anyone in particular) have carried on about how unbeatable GTRs are...so people see them as the benchmark...and in most groups I suppose they probably are

hehe, i hope that was not aimed at me..haha. i would not say i can beat a supra yet, there a awesome car!!!, my childhood dreamcar, and still would get one!!.. and i agree on this, i would rather say i beat a supra to car ppl, but to the average joe, yeah gtr has a big rep to the average guy/girl, blame fast and furious and those types of movie.. :rant:

It is probably because so many others (Not pointing fingers at anyone in particular) have carried on about how unbeatable GTRs are...so people see them as the benchmark...and in most groups I suppose they probably are

hey, pritty much what i said above!!.. very true about the benchmark, but, they are a more expensive car then most can afford, well young guys mostly, maby. :rant: . but i do think because of the rep, yes ppl do like to beat them due to the fact of this, and because they have bought a car which is cheaper, and managed to have a fun hobby of playing with this cheaper car to make it go faster then this car they could not afford before hand.. gtr/sti/supra/v8sss/evo/mr2, there is more, all come out pritty fast stock, so this could be why people do enjoy to say they have beatin' one of these... but..... they do like to say when they are next to you - look i have a gtr bagde..hehehe... not disrepecting any gtr drivers out there.. the badge is nice..

hey, you can put all the power in the engine you want, if the car is to old and has been thrashed before import, you will loose kw at the wheels :)(

oh, unless you replace everything, might to expensice tho ...

has any one replaced everything before. know of the cost?, would be nice to have mint condition transmision/gear box, tailshaft, everything going from the fly.. ?

Edited by seriesII

the other thing is that there is a huge difference between a stock car and one that has a bit of work done. its not that much of a huge achievement to beat a car that is stock if you have spent 5k doing up your car.

then you also have to take into account how good of a driver the other person is, how good the tyres are on both your car and their car, and strong the motor is (it might only have good compression in 1 or 2 cylinders and be about to croak, or the turbo may be dead), etc, etc, etc.

if you know the car, and the driver and then beat them you can brag.