Like many have said, thanks to those who organised the event. Although I wasn't driving (no Skyline in my garage yet), I had an absoloute blast riding along with WTF-33R.

It was good to meet some of you. With any hope, I'll have my own 'line for the next track day :rant:

• Replies 701

Thanks to those who made this day possible on the day and getting it up and running.

Big thanks to those people who jump in the car with me and gave me pointers and to the guy who lent me the Jack.

No idea what i was running, was good to finaly hit the track in my car :rant:

Thanks Brad(FEAR)

Hey Brad,

No worries for the jack (it was mine) - my mate gave it to you.

BOZ22N, yes I think we timed you in at 1:20:xx something or rather as well.

Edited by JDSracing

Thanks to Adam and everyone that helped out and organised the trackday it was a blast.. all though i was babying it the whole day (didn't want to come off the track because braided hose from oil cooler hanging too low).

i still enjoyed myself, the weather was weird but good because we had some dry times in the arvo, before it started raining again when were leaving.

will definately be coming to next year's SAU trackday. (i wouldn't mind having lap timing next time around)

:rant:

JDSracing, I hope the brake fluid helped I was carrying it for the just in case scenario. So I was glad to be of assistance.

Ah that came from you, yes it got us to Pheasants Nest (closer to home) - so it did help. (I wasn't sure where that fluid had come from), but thank you for that, we had a bit of spare fluid too and we ended up using all of it.

I would have carried litres of it and a bigger reservoir if I had known I was going to destroy a caliper.

Edited by JDSracing
Hey Brad,

No worries for the jack (it was mine) - my mate gave it to you.

BOZ22N, yes I think we timed you in at 1:20:xx something or rather as well.

Arrr thanks mate

Was good fun frist time out a little wet chasing Oz around the track.

Was a bit scary later in the day when the new owner spun in front of me on the last corner tho.

Son of SK Here

Firstly - thanks to Brad and the guys for organising - was a top day

Secondly - Want to appologise to everyone in "that" 3 o'clock session where i beached it in the Kitty Litter at turn one and held everyone's track time up for atleast 20 minutes. Was a combination of sheer misreading a situation, and fatigue. Not to mention 3 months since I'd even driven my R33, let alone a car (no licence, it sucks, 4 months to go too). Fair to say learnt my lesson, in beaching it, I have broken something that holds the smoke in - now the smoke escapes....

Thrdly, one of the morning sessions, I took to the "non-black" sections of the track 4 times, not only holding people up, but dragging dirty crap onto the track - That sessions proved a half wet/half dry trck is the toughest of conditions. I think most will agree

Finally, Glad to here everyone had as much fun as I did

Son of SK

thanks heaps adam and everyone else for the great day had an absolute blast. My car went great all the work i did to it to make it run cooler not that i needed it but the car held up all that went wrong for me is my brakes a little noisy now but my mates were timing me and they said i was doing constant 1:18s untill my tires told me they had had enough but i loved it cant wait to get out on the track again.

I had an absolute blast! despite crappy 6 yr old tyres on the front and 4 yr old tyres on the back, i still had some pretty good times of 1:18.6 in my R33 Taxi (car slid arpound haps!) . Thanks to all the organisers for an awesome day! My confidence level behind the wheel has grown dramatically with these coilovers. Thanks to Corolla92 for preventing me from falling asleep on the drive home.

Next on my list: Semis for my 16's, castor Bushes.

P.S Did anybody get pics of my R33 Sedan rego WTF33R?

was a top day guys. weather was nicer on saturday when the bikes were out but never mind.

Andrew's S13 certainly was impressive.

Would have been good to get the two silvia's and the GTR out there head to head but next time.

When Greg and I were going at it the Cornering speed of the GTR was so noticable but come to the straight with the same sort of power the S15/RB26 combination is so much quicker.

Edited by Risking

quickest time was 1.24 hand timed. rather mobile timed. :dry:

pretty pleased with a first time effort. The ride held up all day . was damn pleased. Still a hangover. Felt bloody strange heading onto the streets straight from the trrack. took a good 5 mins of adjusting to the sane old life. :D

And thanks for the guy who lent me his car stands. Cheers dude.

Edited by traman18

What a great day! As my first track day I absolutely loved it, even though the damn turbo gasket did decide to blow :D

Thanks to everyone involved in both organising and running the whole day. It couldn't have run any smoother. A big thanks to Kel and Duncan who were kind enough to share their knowledge with me. It was invaluable.

Liz and Adam, you guys are nuts around the track but I learnt a lot whilst in the passenger seat and had heaps of fun at the same time!

Can't wait till the next one :dry:

Hi All,

What an awesome day yesterday was and the weather didnt dampen it at all, thank you Adam, Corrine ,Steve , Kel and Duncan Although ive had my car for almost 5 yrs it was my first event in it i dont know why I waited , Anyways all the hard work and hours of upgrading until late in the night was well worth it, I ran semi's although they were 16's they worked great and a bargain at $600 for the set new, the slotted rotor's and SRT pads worked fantastically so thanks Burko and Matt at Race Brakes, Thanks Ken at Jim Hunters Suspension. Thanks Neil for your guidance during the first session and showing me the race line.It was great to meet most of you there, i had an absolute ball and drove the pants of the car, Thanks Steve for the hand timing i got down to a 1.15 not bad for a first event,I think i can better that next time out when the clutch is disengaging properly, thanks Luke and Anna for the end of the day you guys got me home easier. Great seeing you again Liz and meeting you Andrew that car goes like the clappers well done awesome driving too. cheers

Carlo

Hi All,

That was a great day – thanks to all those that had a hand in organising and running the day. Had a great time and it was good to meet a few of you!

Managed to get a PB at Wakie of 1.14 (handtimed – but they all are!) half way through the day with a half a tank and warm tyres…

Definitely in for the next one…

And keep those photos coming… there’ll be one of me in there somewhere…

• Similar Content

• Yep, that was one of the things we learned fast in the past with our MX5. When you drive with the top down, you are effectively standing out in the sun, 100% of the time, and not getting in any shade (because roads aren't shaded generally!). Just like standing out in the middle of a field on a sunny 27C day is a bit of a bad plan, so is sitting in a MX5 without sun protection.
    • I also just ordered some Frankenstein bolts and side mounts to fit a hard top Just in case I do find one, basically so it doesn't need to be fixed to the car with only the front latch.......and then gaffa tape to keep it in place for the RTN journey from wherever I get it
    • If your temps are fine now, you probably won't have any issues with where your vents are as they don't look right up at the windscreens high pressure area, so any differences when giving it the beans for extended happy laps would be minimal, but, they should vent heaps when stuck in traffic  Much like how that reverse cowl on my SS let "visible" heat out when stationary, but, because it was basically at the windscreen my coolant temps on the Hwy actually raised because air was being fed into it at speed (110kph), to only come back down to around 90° when I got off the Hwy And your 100% correct about the NC currently not needing vents, but, if I was to add a turbo, and a oil cooler and intercooler in front of the condenserand radiator, and then take it to the track???? It is apparently a recommend requirement if I don't want to worry about coolant or oil temp issues, but, any of the above are possible scenarios, over time As it sits now, with the triple pass radiator and stock air conditioning system, I have absolutely no issues with either temps or air conditioning efficiency, I've been basically daily driving thie car for the last month, both on the Hwy, and peak hour, bumper to bumper traffic, but, that's pretty much expected from basically a standard engine  Talking about no issues daily driving, it was 39° the other day and I was sitting in bumper to bumper traffic on the M5 and then M7, with the top down, and with the air conditioning blowing nice cold air on my feet, balls, and face, well, there was one issue, my head and arms got pretty sun burnt Note to self: leave a hat and sunscreen in the car for such days 🤣
    • I would agree, unless you need something specific to the HV motor/battery side repaired or investigated, any mechanic will be able to perform normal services, but if you prefer, maybe look for a mechanic who regularly services/repairs Nissans, the VQ engines are pretty common in the Nissan lineup.  Sorry, I can't make any suggestions, I don't live in Vic.
    • Some of them keep working fine. 9 out of 10 of them end up causing an absolute misery bleeding the system and get thrown on the workshop floor in a tantrum and never thought about again because they were never really needed and just added crap to the car that we could have done without. Same-same with HICAS, A-LSD, and various other stupidities that over eager 10x engineers thought we had to have.