• Replies 701

Anyone got pics of the slow white r33 gts series 2? (lol i know there was like 4 of them on the day) but the one with Black rims and white hks sticker across the windscreen?

Man you where not that slow I reckon you over took Stephen in the R32 GTST and also SAM in the White R33 GTST and I would of been the guy spining at every turn in the Grey R32 GTR

But sorry No pics of the day

SLIM should have some

HAhah i wish Andrew.. Stephen hand timed me.. and i was going SLOWER then i usually am and slower then STEPHEN as well.. think i should stick to the drag strip, me think i'm getting too pussy for corners.

Everytime i go back to wakefield i get slower and slower <sigh>

As long as fun was had by all that is all that matters

Exactly,

And you have to remember for at least the first half of the day the track was damp aswell, so if your going as fast as you have before and not faster you have still improved.. I know I for one was having major traction issues, I think the rear wheels were spinning out of almost every corner all day long (until I was forced to retire anyway)!

Well I'm finally home.

Thanks for the thanks everyone. I couldn't have done it without all my helpers though. Kel, Duncan, Neil, Steve, Anna, Corinne, (this space left blank for the person I will have inevitably forgotten).

Cheers also to Greg for the loan of the jack and Snap-On penis polisher. Thanks Shaun for giving my mate a lift home. Thanks Andrew(?) for helping me bleed my brakes for the second time and the japanese translation service. ;)

I had brake problems most of the day which culminated in a rotor cracked to the hub. Also found out what happens if you run semi slicks for 3 more track days than advised by pretty much everyone. Bits come off them and it's kind of like driving on butter. Even so, I'm told I was timed doing 1:11's several times so that's a pb for me. I was short shifting all day as well so with a bit more practice driving a manual around the track of those speeds and I should get where I want.

I still have a few track day shirts left over if anyone missed out.

Very funny and scary for us organisers how many people spun out in the first sessions but thankfully no problems created there.

3 of my 4 tyres are holding up. the other one.... not soo good...

That's what an open wheeling diff will do to you. I wrecked a semi slick at Eastern Creek the same way.

I'm a bit worried about the contents of that video Anna. Brad, very sorry for the megaphone at midnight routine. The others made me do it. :dry:

My only problem with the cold temps was that by the time my tyres were up to temp my brakes were overheating, (dam standard brakes!)

Those tyres are a very soft compound Raul so your brakes must have been really bad. What pads are you using?

What happened to you Adam towards the end not much track time?

Delaminated tyres and cracked rotor. Glad you enjoyed.

My car had no intercooler pipe problems on the track but on the way down I blew one off. I was lying on the ground seeing what the problem was when I see some guy walking across the highway towards me. Turned out to be 2rismo who just happened to be driving the other way and his help was greatly appreciated in getting the car back together. It's quite a big bang and a little scary first time it happens to you. I remember Anthony's face when we got up to him after his did it. Without words it said something like "holy crap I just killed my R34 GTR". haha. But we were all pretty sure what had happened.

Awesome day, thanx to all the organisers ! Special one to the Wakie guy that told us to Shut Up and scared the f$%k out of us noobies before the start !

Yeah apparently he was in a good mood that day too. :w00t::P

grey GTR

The Grey GTR is actually mine =)

Check out Greg's face in that pic. hahah.

Finally, thanks to all the participants. I'm glad you had a good time. I think we are on to a winner with regards to format. It was a fun and relaxing day. Heaps of laps available to all. I am personally happy with hand timed laps as we're not in it for sheep stations. With official lap timing comes more regulations and no passengers. All of you who took out an experienced driver now know the benefits of instruction. All in all, a good social SAU event and to my mind a total winner!

shaun - did a pair of jumper leads finally disappear or do we need to take a trailer back down there next weekend?

the site maintenence dude had a battery booster pack

everyone else- your help was unvaluable :D

• Similar Content

• Which manifold mate? Meanwhile......Mark is wondering how bonnet vents would look on the NC 🤣
    • Actually,  just remembered there should be info in the threads (somewhere) about swapping to a manual steering rack and deleting power steering all together. 
    • Also had a look at the Nissan JP website looks like the 400r has a slightly shorter ratio than than the regular V37 3.133 VS 2.937 which from a guy who has driven both 3.69 vs 4.11 ratios in the S15 is bugger all. Seems that the AUTO Z runs the same ratio as the 400R but can't find any info as to if its an open or LSD? More often than not the auto LSD is open
    • Do not replace the power steering lines with this stuff. If it's anything like the Chase Bays stuff it will leak and be worse than stock. The reason why the reservoir is on the LH/passenger side of the car is because that's just where the reservoir was most convenient to fit. Don't overthink this stuff. The intake/cold side of the engine is pretty busy on these cars. And again, the hardpipe is designed to be a janky power steering cooler. In theory you can replace it with a real power steering cooler but that's really only for track use where boiling the fluid is a distinct possibility. Start with the low pressure lines feeding the pump from the reservoir. Make sure there isn't a bunch of junk in the reservoir filter. Be careful to not get ATF all over the engine bay. I hate dealing with ATF spills, you can clean it up and the slightest crevice will still release more oil that can still drip over time. You also want to inspect for leaks before you make a mess and can't tell what happened. Most likely you have a leak somewhere that is allowing fluid out and air in. Failing that it's allowing air in but not fluid out. Only place I can really see that happening is on the low pressure side because the pump will pull a slight vacuum to draw fluid in. Everything after the pump is high pressure or lower pressure, approaching atmospheric by the time it returns to the reservoir.
    • I did a skidpan night at SMSP this week, it was much cheaper than $350. But yeah, you need to slap an LSD in that thing.  I put an OS Giken in the 370Z and it's f**king MARVELOUS even compared to Nissan's viscous LSD. So you're saying it's free now that it's a housing estate? 😂