SAU Community

Getting Into Spraying

fr0st

Hey all,

I'm looking at getting into automotive spray painting just as a hobby and am looking for advice on how to best get into it.

First thing is equipment...

I was thinking of just going second hand for the compressor. Is there a certain CFM or pressure I need? Is there a minimum size tank I need?

From what I've seen, entry level spray guns aren't that expensive. Will a cheapy do to begin with?

Is it worth doing a short coarse or just get some cheap paint and practice?

I'm not looking at doing an entire car, just some side skirts and possibly my front bar as a start. Can I spray the same color/type of paint as stock?

I've read before that OEM paints are 2 pack which you can't spray at home due to nasty chemicals in them. Could I get the same thing in acrylic?

Thanks

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Im no spray painter by trade but iv done some cars in the past(acrylic). Iv learnt you need a gravity gun, good compressor that keeps a good flow of air and time, prep is the main key of a good paint job. hope that helps. Good luck

Hey budy done a bit aswell and one helpfull tip is that you should spend sixty to seventy percent of time in prep sand back, Undercoat sand back undercoat then top coat basicaly. Remember to not go for a full coat first (meaning) dont try to cover the whole area in one hit do an even coat same speed along each panel then you will avoid runners and "orange peeling" effect!!

Cheers for the advice

Can anyone give any insight into what colors/paint-types you can spray?

Since you not supposed to spray 2-pack paint does that mean you can't do any metallic colors or does it just affect how long the paint will last?

I think u cant spray 2pac unless ur on a approved premises, the stuff is toxic.

I thin ku can do acrylic at home as long as ur neighbours dont complain lol.