Hi All Skyliners,

I've been thinking of an idea of supercharging my rb25de for a year now, any one has done this or thought about it i wonder..? please let me know your ideas of a supercharged skyline.... RB25DES sounds kwel...... :P

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/158295-supercharged-skyline/

• Replies 56

hey thers a couple of people on here who've done it before, theres a bit thread about it a little while ago too, i was looking into doing it and was going to go with either that turboing or building a 3lt bottom end, ended up going the turbo route cause its way easier, but the supercharger was going to be a really good idea. im driving a supercharged rolla atm whilst my skyline is off the road, lol its great cruise around then at the push of a button 14 psi,

I would be a really fun car to drive instant boost and the ability to turn the boost of and cruise, if you bought the right ecu you could even have the car set-up with 2 diff maps one for fuel econ and one with the charger, the hardest part of building it all up will be fabricating the mounts and lining it up perfectly with the belt system, its best to use the biggest most belted pully so the supercharger belt doesnt slip, only prob is that belt runs the alternator i think cars not outside so i cant check, and if the belt slips then you could damage the coil on the alternator,

i think when i was planning it out the best side to mount it looked like the passenger side up around infont of where the turbo would normally sit, this would give the shortest piping as well.

What sort of information are you looking at??

people have said the 4agze blowers would be shit to use but thats what i got and its got 200 odd thousand k's on it and its still boosting perfectly i guess its the cheepest blower on the market and would be afectivly the same as like the stock turbo, otherwise you could go all out and get a new blower at like 2000+ then you look into diff types centrifugal (ie like a turbo) roots (standard like a commodore or 4agze) type or the other one i forget lol.

its been done but its different and would def be an individual car would love to go threw more with you and see how it turns out if you go threw with it.

from the picture looks like the exact way i was looking at setting it up on my rb25 when i was looking into it so it could quite possibly be moddifyed, if not the blower looks identical to the 4age blower so you might be able to use it as a reference or mabye gets some of the mounts

only prob is that looks like it doesnt use an intercooler which i wouldnt advise on a rb25 but it wouldnt be hard to adapt the piping anywayz

from the picture looks like the exact way i was looking at setting it up on my rb25 when i was looking into it so it could quite possibly be moddifyed, if not the blower looks identical to the 4age blower so you might be able to use it as a reference or mabye gets some of the mounts

only prob is that looks like it doesn't use an inter cooler which i wouldn't advise on a rb25 but it wouldn't be hard to adapt the piping anyways

as much as i hate to say it... check out "calais turbo" forums, theres a guy on there that makes kits for the RB30, including brackets, piping, cooler etc, for cheaper than the Castlemaine ones.

but i would assume you'd need a custom bracket for the RB25 made up.

A supercharged 25 would be nice, very torquey, something like a Toyota SC14 would be good, i think the reason shy people say they're shit as they say they would run out of boost in higher rpm, which i dont whether that would be true or not, maybe wit a 10psi pulley, i doubt it with the stock 5psi one though.

anyway, talk to him about it, im pretty sure he make vacuum lines etc for it aswell, so it only comes on when you get a certain low pressure... like under heavy load or WOT etc, kind of like the stock setups on the supercharged AW11 (4agze)

someone down here in tassie put one on his rb30 (made his own kit) and got 165kw the otherday, and a truck load of torque, dunno what boost, would assume 10psi

I would be a really fun car to drive instant boost and the ability to turn the boost of and cruise, if you bought the right ecu you could even have the car set-up with 2 diff maps one for fuel econ and one with the charger,

i think when i was planning it out the best side to mount it looked like the passenger side up around infont of where the turbo would normally sit, this would give the shortest piping as well.

if I'm not wrong you are refering to V500? the dual map system is designed only to tune 2 differrent fuel types, not exactly seperate tune for different horses...

i think the sc14 is for a four banger right there is one for a 6 i think its a sc16 that would be better suited for the rb, i've qutoed one up at a wrecker before only $400 but hard to find them, the standard boost on the 2 4agze's ive been in were both 14 psi, i dont know what models had 5 psi, and they dont run out of steem at high revs but might do in the bigger engine, you can also get a 16 psi pully kit for those ones too, but thats way over kill for an rb25, they do have an electro magnitic clutch so you can wire up a switch to turn them on and off, would sound awesome, if it was done properly

sky 34, i dont even know if the technology was out there to tune dual maps but you could wire a trigger switch and run the stock ecu and an aftermarket unit and have a flip switch between them but it would take a lot of knowledge and a lot of wiring to make it work properly,

Hey guys thanks 4 the info, 342four thanks 4 the info i've actually contacted them awhile ago i was so dedicated to put that charger they had but they wer outa stock n didnt know wen they get more in so the money i saved went to a sound system instead damn..... makes d car so heavy now....

SKiT R31 cheers i will definately check out the forum, i did also wen to cappa to quote but it was just way 2 much 4 me at the time.... ur looking 7k+ which is just the start of it then gotta go breaks n ecu, gearbox numbers just keep adding up...

Unarmed skyline cheers for that info, u know after reading the n/a forums and how 2 turbo a na skyline millions of times i just got my mind 2 do the turbo way, but then just still cant decide....

My orginal plan was 2 build a car that will rap those v6 -v8 utes and big fat commodore and falcons.. sorry my apologize if i affend anione here... but i just hate the way they rock up n take u one and think they got the best cars in d world cuz they have so much power....

So that brings my plan 2 building a RB25DEST... anione in 4 a guess on what that is..? :(

mmmmmmm i love love a peice of that pie, but if your going all out like that why not a rb25destt LOL or even a rb30destt THINK OF THE POWER POSSIBILITYS, building a supercharged turbo can be a tricky design although there is one jap car make about 10-15 years ago that was a standard supercharged turbo so it can be done effectivly, twin charging is great for massive torque and a big top end would slaughter anything but the costs would be massive so if you not up for the 7k for a capa supercharger then might not be possible, If you uming and arring about which to do, think more about how long do you want the process to take and how long can you afford to have the car off the road because affectivly you could do either a standard turbo or a sc14 for around the same costs supercharger might be a little more if oyu cant do a lot of fabrication yourself but it will defonatly take longer to do not a couple of day job, but its individual and it would be a mad car to drive, sorry everyone for hoggin the post just love the idea of the supercharging the skyline i think my next car im going to try build a custom supercharger, or if i fry my pistons and need a re-build i could de-comp my motor and look into twin charging

unarmed skyline you are rite about twin chargin so wat about that twin charge you wer talkin about 10 -15 yrs ago.? that sounds interesting..... well about spending that 7k not that i dun want just i want the hav my facts rite, wat are th pros n cons on superchargin vs turbochargin is der enough engine room for this type of setup....? i've spend more that wat i got the car 4 up 2 this stage but havent touched the engine big mistake... :rofl:

ill look up what car it was tonight i cant remember what it was,

and about room yeh theres plenty of room for a charger, would be less room than a turbo cause you dont need the manifold space as well, theres a thread a while ago with a pic of one thats way over board, and then there the supercharged v8 going round soo yeh room isnt a problem, its manifacturing mounts which would take the most time, piping is just piping, then figuring out where to attach the belt depends on how much you want to stuff around with the belting system, and if theres anything you wouldnt mind getting rid of ie aircon it would be a lot easier but it is still doable without loosing any accosories

hey unarmed skyline, thanks 4 d info mate well looks like i decided to be abit different and supercharge my car.... but i've dun some research n i dun seem to be able to find wat i need besides sc belt and pully and bracks or custom mounts..?? maybe intercooler but duno wat else... anione with ideas would be greatfull of.... thanks again~!

Dear all skyliners,

Its me again the due with lots of questions..... does anybody know how what mods 2 get a n/a skyline to rev past 10k rpm... if anione is familiar with the cartoon or movie Initial D inside the legendary AE86 did 11k rpm mod..?

cheers guys :P

Dear all skyliners,

Its me again the due with lots of questions..... does anybody know how what mods 2 get a n/a skyline to rev past 10k rpm... if anione is familiar with the cartoon or movie Initial D inside the legendary AE86 did 11k rpm mod..?

cheers guys :P

I have a mate, hes having his 2JZ supercharged and turbo charged... the workshop that is doing it has done it before, with VERY good results... if your serious about this, let me know, and i know i can be of some assistance...

it will also be redlining around 10krpm...

oh yeah, and im in Sydney too...

Edited by DRD-00F