as far as 10 k rpm going to take a lot of internal work and balencing to get it there if it can make it. look around a few gtrs have high revs up to around 9000 but i duno about 10000, as for the supercharger you will need the charger with the clutch attached and the pully, wiring for it if its electromagnitic with a switch any electro switch would do, custom mounts, a longer custom size belt somewhere easy to measure and buy, then the supercharger outlet manifold could be supplied mabye have to be custom to get it into a standard round intake size, then you would need a cooler, all the piping work, some sort of pressure releace valve, fuel pump and injectors and ecu to support it

• Replies 56

to have a charger and a high rev limiter without a cooler is not a good idea

street commodores had there vp commo drag car that ran high 12's with a no-intercooled turbo'd 3.8 v6, and as it got to high rpms, the inlet charge temp got sooo high that it was leaning out too much and losing power (and this is with a full replacement ecu that was dumping mass fuel at high rpms)

to enable a rb to rev to 10k rpm, u would need to shit loads of work.

you would need a rb26 block for the internal strengthening that its got, lightweight pistons, lightweight conrods, tightest clearances ever (to help it rev as it wont wiggle around much, and to retain combustion pressure), lightweight crankshaft, heavily ported and polished head, light cams, and everything would need to be balanced to an inch of its life, ATI harmonic balancer, no aircon (cant sacrifice power steering :ninja: ), and it goes on

its far too much work for a conventional street engine and too xpensive to warrant it.

ohh, and the reason that the AE86 in initial D can rev to 11k rpm is because its a 4 cyl. 4cyls and all variants (ie v8's) have a 90 degree firing sequence and are harmonically stable allowing it to rev high without shaking itself apart, unlike v6, I6's and v12's, that have a 33.3 degree firing sequence which is not harmonically stable and the higher revs it gets to, the higher the chance of it shaking itself apart

hey check out this old post for like a year ago got a pic of someone who supercharged his na but its a way overbord set-up looks like its got a water-air intercooler and lots of crazy pipes

http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/in...hl=supercharger

i promised twincharging info

new one for me i found out vw twincharged car they thinking of bringing out

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/08/27/vol...en-super-turbo/

and nissans MA09ERT engine

in the 1989 Nissan March Superturbo

http://www.carfolio.com/specifications/models/id/?id=132715

thats the base info on where to find info you want to do more you all know how to use google lol or as a certain user always says use the search button

Dear all skyliners,

Its me again the due with lots of questions..... does anybody know how what mods 2 get a n/a skyline to rev past 10k rpm... if anione is familiar with the cartoon or movie Initial D inside the legendary AE86 did 11k rpm mod..?

cheers guys :D

The 86 wasn't a 'mod' as such, the engine was replaced with a Group A race motor. So yes, a group a engine ftw!

tto enable a rb to rev to 10k rpm, u would need to shit loads of work.

you would need a rb26 block for the internal strengthening that its got, lightweight pistons, lightweight conrods, tightest clearances ever (to help it rev as it wont wiggle around much, and to retain combustion pressure), lightweight crankshaft, heavily ported and polished head, light cams, and everything would need to be balanced to an inch of its life, ATI harmonic balancer, no aircon (cant sacrifice power steering :D ), and it goes on

its far too much work for a conventional street engine and too xpensive to warrant it.

ohh, and the reason that the AE86 in initial D can rev to 11k rpm is because its a 4 cyl. 4cyls and all variants (ie v8's) have a 90 degree firing sequence and are harmonically stable allowing it to rev high without shaking itself apart, unlike v6, I6's and v12's, that have a 33.3 degree firing sequence which is not harmonically stable and the higher revs it gets to, the higher the chance of it shaking itself apart

spot on buddy.

i've had a quick look into revs before. as most of you would know the best way to make power from NA is with revs. it costs a bucketload!!

even with an ATI balancer (which isnt really that cheap) - it still is a "bandaid" type fix. with all the knifeblading the crank and balancing, hypereuretic pistons, re-enforced block, etc etc... you are better off starting with a more solid base.

you will be pretty much replicating what manufacturers do over a period of years - R&D. and it's not going to be cheap.

also by having a car that makes power in revs, it's not going to be practical on the street - you'd pretty much end up with a dedicated track monster.

u'd burn through a clutch in no time, as ud have to keep riding it in stop start traffic as ur engine would have nothing below 3 - 4.5k rpm

DirtGarage sat in the HKS drag skyline, and took photos of it - it runs an ATI balancer, but even that wouldnt get to 10krpm

hey guys.

http://www.performanceforums.com/forums/sh...ght=contraption

any specific questions not answered in that thread, let me know. it's a ripper of an engine. waiting for a stronger gearbox before upping the boost.

p.s. the biggest drama with the RB25's is that the harmonic balancer doesn't run any wide belts, and has no threads in the end face for mounting a billet drive pulley. so it is not easy to bolt a pulley onto the end like you can with the RB30 balancer. the only other easy option is to run an extended belt off the 4?PK drive for the p/s pump to drive the blower, but you're in for a bit of belt slip there unless you can get the wrap up near 100%

Edited by StockyMcStock

unarmed skyline thanks for all the info mate.. having a look at the supercharge skyline i'm getting a headache too many lines and pips... does it have to be like that.? i was thinking of a much cleaner look possibly out of sight if possible you know the cops they dun know much but they pretend to... and try to do u for things like that. if u get wat i mean.?

tom 9999 your question is never stupid mate duno just ask i'm sure ppl will help a fellow skyliner, yes its doable sumfin i'm looking at and from the threads there has been a few examples.

Unarmed skyline, is there a certain procedure on which app you have 2 install 1st 4 it 2 work ie turbo first or sc first or its personal preference.. knowing that the sc is goin 2 be hell of alot of work i was think turbo then detailed plannin then sc.. wat u think.? :sorcerer:

i think in that pic he was running a water to air intercooler, which adds to the pipework over teh engine a bit

also with the sc is that (usually) the entrance is at the back of the sc, which means, often, really tricky pipework anyway

stupid question, but my mate said you can have a supercharger and a turbocharger on together is this possible.

yes its possible, not easy, not cheap, and hard to tune, but possible...

and if done correctly, the outcome is insane...

ill get some pics of the juggernaut (supercharged/turbocharged supra) in progress when i go to the shop tomorrow...

please note, thats my nickname for it...

its running this turbo, and the supercharger will be doing about 10-12 pounds of boost... the little one is the old one...

WORLDS FASTEST HAT?! :nyaanyaa:

img0523yg4.jpg

hey best way to run a twin charger system is with the charger then into the turbo, but if your going about doing it over time you could get the turbo all set up then upgrade to twin charger l8er

^^^ cant you go to a RB30 harmonic balancer then? i thought all rb balances were essentially the same, and any balancer from any engine would fit?

i am absolutely unsure on that. i wouldn't take the decision lightly either because the different balancers are designed for different capacity engines.

ps i guess nobody clicked on the link in my first post so here you go:

SV100562.jpg

IMG_1109.jpg

SV100533.jpg

SV100571.jpg

yes 303rwhp on 9psi :O

Edited by StockyMcStock

Hey DRD-00F that is one big turbo but does that thing really goin 2 fit in the supra.? but look forward 2 seeing your pics on that supra, just wondering does the supra have more engine space or does the skyline have more.?

StockyMcStock thats just supercharge rite.? no turbo yeah.. that sc looks like a sc-14 but it also looks like the kompressor supercharge i saw on ebay... thats pretty impressive power for an sc tho but duno how much mods he had 2 do 2 get to this power...

paulr33 just thought maybe reving harder could catch up a bit on the shifting on turbo cars, but u r rite rev hard doesnt mean more power but unless u reali mod it out properli but i just thought sometimes thinking of the normal way of power is a change might find some kewl ideas..

Anyone trust e-sc..? i'm thinkin of giving it a ago imagine e-sc + sc + T man i think i'm starting to go mad here........ :laugh:

yeah it fits... the bottom end was in on the weekend, along with the turbo and the custom exhaust manifold... ill get some pics of it for you when i go home this arvo...

we werent sure if it was gunna fit... we thought it was gunna need a power bulge in the bonnet, giving away its secret... but it seems to fit... barely...

I have to be scarce about the details on this car, cause its supposed to be a secret of sorts :( but its taking so damn long i cant help it! i cant wait til we get it dyno'd :laugh:

Do you mean electric supercharger?

Hey Traditimeour, yeah thats it electric supercharger give around "3-4psi boost" some state on the website but its quite cheap for that type of price i think.. ani sugguestions or anione have tried these kinda products.? oh if anione was looking at the "turbonator" dun bother i got it its just a metal fin like the spool on the turbo that just sits after you air filter meter that makes this kinda swirl to make more wind at first it did work but i dun think its worth while.....