No worries Dennis, all the slagging going on in this thread is not merely enough to get on my sensitive side, ;) but I do agree with you on your point about people making statements without backing them up.

Yes I did say bleed valves are crap, based on personal experience, and relatively speaking of course with my current setup. Although my current setup does consist of a bleed valve (pressure regulating valve), it is in my opinion a bleed valve on its own is crap. I don’t think I am wrong in making that assertion, as I am sure many who have gone onto better setups would agree with me. And I'm sure that people who have a decent EBC would think that my setup is crap, and if they did say that, it wouldn't bother me, because relatively speaking, they're right!

As for my other post (in re to wastegate creep), I had a spelling mistake, so it should read: "It is a plain and simple fact that bleed valves don’t bring it on MUCH (not my) quicker", which is true (again my basis for this assertion is relative), but I can see how that comment got misinterpreted (my bad).

I hope people take my opinions seriously (as I do for those who have good reasoning and logic), as it serves as a good basis for forming your own opinions and conclusions. If we didn’t listen to other voices, and stuck with only what we know, how can you move forward???

Anyway enough of me trying to be philosophical, what will our next argument be on people??? :D

• Replies 58

Nah man, VN's a crap...

Get a VQ statesman... My mate's got one and it handles HEAPS better than an R34 GTR. I seen his statesman outlap the R34 at calder, no sh1t!!!

BTW Squizz, it doesn't look too good mate when you have the word spank in your sig, and your crying out: "make him stop mummy, make him stop!" hehehehehehehehe

Na man, my mate has a 253 powered (not sure if 253 and power should be used together) HX Premier. He has spent more on his engine than what my whole car is worth and I can toast him with ease. (sadly this story is true)

I sware that electronic BOV gave me that performance edge.

zahos,

re earlier (pre-going off the topic) post, u said u bought check valve for $10 from enzed... is this the 'pressure relief' valve as described in the autospeed article? if yes, then why wasn;t the pressure regulator valve also $10 from enzed?

i might have to check out enzed on the way home from uni tomorrow...

Originally posted by WazR32GTSt

zahos,

re earlier (pre-going off the topic) post, u said u bought check valve for $10 from enzed... is this the 'pressure relief' valve as described in the autospeed article? if yes, then why wasn;t the pressure regulator valve also $10 from enzed?

i might have to check out enzed on the way home from uni tomorrow...

Nsh, the check valve is the one way valve. All it does is help remove any boost left in the hose between the pressure relief valve, and the wastegate on gear changes.

good morning all.

Update for you lot.

I had the RB25 turbo and TurboXS HPBC fitted on friday.

I am currently running about 13 psi boost through the boost controller and turbo.

I haven't yet experienced any ridiculous boost spikes. it went up to about 14psi when underload on 4th gear and dropped down to just under 13 when comming close to red line.

I am very happy with the RB25 turbo and my turboXS boost controller.

then again this is going from standard 11 year old turbo and NO controller and a leaking manifold gasket so I guess it is understandable that I would like this more..

PS don't let anyone tell you it is easy to change the turbo... even if it is a direct bolt on.. (NOTE: not everything bolts right on)

how mush difference do you think the upgrades have made, GTST?

particularly the boost controller which apparently the one you have chosen is the one that has 2 valves to keep the wasegate closed a little longer and pobably one of the better ones...

Waz.

well I haven't got dyno numbers before and after.

but to drive it is alot better in everyway.

boost actually comes on at the same time and comes on alot stronger and holds boost till red line.

compared to the standard setup which was all good till like 5500 - 6000rpm then it would feel flat.

I don't get any spiking yet.. I say yet because I have only been able to fang it around for like half a day and not really open it up much due to traffic and rain...

I will get the car on a dyno in the next couple of weeks, mainly to get a tune with the new goodies, and from that I will get a figure.

I will post it then.

cool

can u also let us know how if feels after a god fang in the dry and if it spikes at all

thanks

btw....the setup for how it went in... was it simply inserted into the hose between the turbo oulet and wastegate? or was there a tricky set-up for it? if u have a camera then a pic or three would be awesome! i plan on doing this with that exact boost controller by the end of the year.

Waz.

it's exactly as you described it.

but I had to use hoses a little longer cause I wanted to mount the boost controller behind the heat chield I have around my pod filter.

the boost controller comes with step by step instructionn and pictures.

if you can read english, you can do it yourself.

basically, the hose from the wastegate acutator goes to the bottom of the bleed valve, then you get a hose from the side of the bleed valve to the turbo.

then wind away to get the boost you want.

Oh by the way, increasing boost with the bleed valve has allowed boost to come on earlier and stronger when compared to no bleed vlave.

Obviously the rate at which it comes on can be better with an EBC but for those that were saying that a bleed valve will NOT bring on boost earlier at all, you are wrong.

LIKE I SAID.. it comes on quicker when compared to a standard setup with no boost controller.

if I was to use an EBC, I'm sure that I could bring on boost even earlier (as in reduce wastegate creep to next to none)

I am happy for now. I might make the autospeed valve in the future if I want to play with it some more..

oh. If anyone wants an EBC, I can get a BRAND NEW, top of the range MRT controller with LED screen and things like water spray controller, boost gauge, turbo timer, a/f ratios... and other goodies for $600.

they retail for over $900.

• 1 year later...