Hi all,

I am moving down from Brisbane to Sydney in about 1 month's time, and will be taking my 32gtst down with me, to help transport all my gear.

I believe my line is in good nick and driving it 1000ks shouldnt be a prob going the speed limit, carrying extra baggage, with regular stops. I have changed the oil and filter and will be doing the coolant and brakes (new fluid), replacing fuel filter. My suspension is fine according to the pedders check. Any other major things I should consider/check up on?

Just curious for those who have driven it for a long time, whether they had any issues, or have any tips on what to do before or during the trip. (Regular stops for myself and the car is a given).

I will be bringing a pillow to put behind my lower back - gotta love the gtst seats!

On a different note, once I settle down, down there, I'm keen to meet some enthusiasts down there, and test out the sydney roads/mountains.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/163662-driving-your-skyline-1000ks/

I did the reverse trip about 2 months ago.. took my car from sydney to surfers paradise and then back again... no problems. The car had existing electric issues which did not come into play until i got the car back but if u're car has no issues it should be ok.

She'll do it easy.

I did a Sydney to Melb to Tassie to Melb to Qld to Sydney trip couple of years ago. No probs.

Syd to Bundy to Syd 2800ks no probs a few times.

Like the guys say, if it's maintained etc, should be like any other car.

Few basic ones im sure you have already thought of : tire pressure, spare fuses (just in case), check the spare tire too (also just in case), bottle of water in case she gets a bit hot and LOTS of CD's nothing worse than a long trip with the same 2 CD's over and over and over and over again...

I will be doing the reverse soon, driving from syd - brissy then putting the car on a train from brissy to cairns (cheaper to train from brissy than to drive and saves some k's)

I love how people go on and on about how superiour Jap cars are to everything made in Aus, yet I've read so many of these 'will my car make it' threads.....Its not a race car, it will be absolutely fine, other than random shit that can happen to ANY car....

Hi all,

I am moving down from Brisbane to Sydney in about 1 month's time, and will be taking my 32gtst down with me, to help transport all my gear.

I believe my line is in good nick and driving it 1000ks shouldnt be a prob going the speed limit, carrying extra baggage, with regular stops. I have changed the oil and filter and will be doing the coolant and brakes (new fluid), replacing fuel filter. My suspension is fine according to the pedders check. Any other major things I should consider/check up on?

Just curious for those who have driven it for a long time, whether they had any issues, or have any tips on what to do before or during the trip. (Regular stops for myself and the car is a given).

I will be bringing a pillow to put behind my lower back - gotta love the gtst seats!

On a different note, once I settle down, down there, I'm keen to meet some enthusiasts down there, and test out the sydney roads/mountains.

try old pacific hwy from horsnby 2 gosford. road's really smooth and deserted at night. my mate got up 2 210kph in a old skool celica. lot's of fun

no issues if you got it services recently.... no worries at all... only thing is to cane it too hard - if you push the turbo to it's limit (which it doesn't sound like you will) then it should be fine... try to get a 10 minute break every 200 kms or something... good luck.

lol. Why would it need a 10 minute break every 200kms?

What do you think you're dealing with here? It's a car. its built to be driven. It does not need a break every 200km...its not a person running...

The turbo will pretty much be inactive for the entire trip once on the highway, unless you choose to use it, or are unable to control your speed (ie can't drive properly)

Petrol will be the only killer. Bought mine in Melbourne and had to drive it back to Canberra (600km). When i bought it i didnt know the aircon unit was stuck on all the time so it was absolutly guzzling (300km a tank), other then that though was a fun drive, nothing better then driving your new car on an open dual lane highway for 600km on a work day