2007 Queensland 500 Club Enduro 2nd June 2007

This event is on again and promises to be even better than the last one.

We are looking for a driver with car (hopefully R33 GTS25T) to join us in a team entry to this event. Does not need to be super modded,in fact, enginewise ...the stocker the better. Road registered cars are fine.

Points to ponder

You will need a National AASA Race Licence or CAMS equivalent If you have AASA club licence it can be upgraded on the day or any sprint meet prior. You need to have some track experience, Sat afternoon sprints or Top Gear races. You will be on the Nat circuit with some of the cars being nearly twice as fast.

You will need to be able to drive for aprox 80 minutes (35 to 45 laps)

You will need approved drivers suit,helmet, gloves and balaclava.

Your share of the entry fee will be $416 (1 third of entry fee) entry fee is reduced by $400 because we raced last year.

Please email me for a get together if you are interested [email protected]

I don't wish to be rude but genuine enquiries only please, raceday is less than 2 months away and we don't have the time to waste..

For your info we raced last year. Our R33 ran the whole race..4 hours..with no problems .

Engine,driveline mods=added oil cooler

suspension mods=Whiteline coilovers with DMS fully adjustable shocks

brakes= stock + Red Stuff pads front and rear.

Tyres Yokohama Advan 032R (at least 12 months old with several sprint meets behind them

other mods= Quick shifter, 4 point harness, all unneeded weight removed.

cheers Jay

• Replies 40

Im not going to be stupid and put my hand up to drive. But do you guys need a hand with anything else? Not saying I can help there either, but if you put up what you need a hand with Im sure some of us might be able to help.

Thanks for the offer Dave. but I think we are on our own here. There's not much to do, but, like most of you, we have to scratch around to find the money. A roll cage would be good....maybe next year. Right now we need a new set of tyres and brake pads and about $500 for fuel if nothing breaks, the entry fee alone is $1250. Aside from the roll bar the next thing is to remove all glass except the windscreen and replace it with Lexan or perspex. If you know of a good source for this let me know'

I haven't been around the club much this year,been too busy...but I'm still a member and still interested. I'm at home at Enoggera most of the time during the week so if anyone is in the area you'r welcome to drop in...I can allways find time to talk Skylines :wub:

No worries Jay.

I've actually got a track day on Saturday with my work, so I'll talk to a few of the guys there they might be able to help out in some way with sponsorship or a driver. Worth an ask at least.

Not sure what the SAUQld coffers are like atm, but maybe they could help out in someway, fundraiser or something?

I have a r32gtr and I am interested in joining your team. The car is slightly modded and is ready for this sort of event.

So how does this work? What is next?

How much track time do you have ? Sat afternoon sprints? Top Gear series ? anything else?.

Will your GTR do 40 to 50 laps on the Nat circuit?

what is required to make a GTR do 40 - 50 laps?

After 5 laps my GTR's oil tempratures were getting intolerable. Mods include tein coilovers, PowerFC, Ruzic Engineering AWD controller, DBA Slotted + dimpled front rotors, DBA Slotted rear rotors, 6 puk NPC built brass clutch (thanks dan), 3" cat back system, R34 GTR standard turbos, Castor control arms, blitz racing wheels.

That being said, I have waiting to go on the car:

Oil Catch Can

Oil Cooler

Oil Filter Relocator

SBC-ID3 boost controller

will this be competitive? What does joining the team entitle one too? What other mods would you surgest?

IanB, Hi, I'm not well up on track prep for the GTR....but I know they are not as track friendly as the GTST.

You definately need the oil cooler,and, I believe, modifications to the sump. There is a heap of info on GTRs in the motorsports club level motorsports section of the National Skyline forum. I'd suggest you take a good look through this before you damage your car.

You havent mentioned how much track time you have. You need 5 sprint meets and some officially observed fast laps to qualify for an AASA National race licence which you need to compete in the Q500. Believe me...there is a huge difference between a 7 lap sprint and 30 or 40 laps under actual race conditions.

The Q500 is a team event, minimum is 2 drivers and one car, maximum 4 drivers 4 cars. Having more than one car is an advantage for obvious reasons.

Ideally we would like another car with 2 drivers or 2 cars each with driver. The race is 150 laps or 4 hours whichever comes first and the race finishes well after sunset.

No worries Jay.

I've actually got a track day on Saturday with my work, so I'll talk to a few of the guys there they might be able to help out in some way with sponsorship or a driver. Worth an ask at least.

Dave Did you get to talk to anyone on the weekend?

We've had a couple of enquiries.......1 with a very nice looking R33, but unfortunately, not enough track time another with plenty of track time but has not got back to me yet.

How much track time do you have ? Sat afternoon sprints? Top Gear series ? anything else?.

Will your GTR do 40 to 50 laps on the Nat circuit?

I've only been in QLD for a year so I have not had as much track time at QR as I like to. I've been to sat sprint a 2x with the GTR and 3x with the Honda.

My fastest time with the GTR is 58.11 with a sound system and I was held up by a porsche. I am planning to remove the sound system, some time in the near future.

I had a fair bit of track time at Mallala and Adelaide hill in the past :)

Is the 40-50 laps continuous?

If it is the case I think I will need a diff oil cooler and then it's a matter of pulling out a couple of timing degrees to make sure the engine doesn't blow :)

No worries Jay.

Dave Did you get to talk to anyone on the weekend?

We've had a couple of enquiries.......1 with a very nice looking R33, but unfortunately, not enough track time another with plenty of track time but has not got back to me yet.

Yeah I did a bit... One of the other guys that works there is compeating... So yeah... But feel free to beat any green cars, say wrx's :)

Without trying to get your hopes up I have just thought of another guy, who DEFINATELY has proper race experence at QR. I'll flick him an email now, see how we go.

Good Luck This weekend guys

Thanks mate, car is ready and we're itching to race. Have the entry list, should rename the event to "porsche 500" :P

Come on guys, spectators r free so fill an esky and throw the emptys at the porsche's for us :D

Definitely need a sump for the GTR if you are doing track events. Single plated clutches will not last very long too even if they are ceramic or brass clutch....

As for the brakes department, i recommend braided lines, Motul RBF600 and a set of high temp brake pads like Hawks HPS Carbon.

Definitely need a sump for the GTR if you are doing track events. Single plated clutches will not last very long too even if they are ceramic or brass clutch....

As for the brakes department, i recommend braided lines, Motul RBF600 and a set of high temp brake pads like Hawks HPS Carbon.

Ah! the advantages of racing a GTST instead of a GTR :P

We don't have oil pressure or cooling problems

The stock nissan clutch has been in the car for over 3 years now with no problems. We have rebuilt it for this race as a precaution due to it's age. Standard 1800 pound with 5 puck plate.

brakes... we now have DBA slotted rotors and are staying with the EBC Red Stuff which worked well last year with ATe Super Blue Racing fluid. Braided lines are on the to do list.

Is it Millers 430 or Tuelans?

As a sidenote also..i live at Enoggera on South Pine Rd, probably not far from yourself. Also just for you information a lexan rear windshield saves 4.5kgs from standard.

Edited by r33_racer
Is it Millers 430 or Tuelans?

As a sidenote also..i live at Enoggera on South Pine Rd, probably not far from yourself. Also just for you information a lexan rear windshield saves 4.5kgs from standard.

Don't know yet it's just listed as 2006 Ferrari 430 Red 4300cc.

Yeah just around the corner, we are in Norman Tce, backs on to the army base. If you'r passing by call in and say hello.

Lexon rear screen and side windows are on the list along with CF bonnet bootlid and wing..

There is also an 84 Porche 956C,'06 996Turbo,'68 930GT2,about 8 GT3s, an'04 MonaroGTS300, an M3 and M3R, a '78 Escort RS2000 and various others.

Should be a good day. Spectators free, Pit pass $20