Anzac Day

The STiG

Hey all.

Have been considering for the past 48hrs to HTFU and go to the Dawn Service in ST Kilda. I think it would be a great way to reflect and shown the fallen and the diggers still here and on service our great support.

Just curious who may be keen in attending, then going for breakfast maybe at McDonalds at StKilda before rolling down to Sandown.

Here are the details ppl.

Thinking of meeting around the 0530 mark, will advise where as soon as we have found a suitable place.

Melbourne

Event:

Anzac Day Dawn Service

Date: Wednesday, 25 April 2007

Time: 6.00 am

Venue: Shrine of Remembrance Forecourt, Melbourne

Details:

Please be in position by 5.45 am

Tel (03) 9655 5555 ,or email [email protected]

Just trying at the moment to work out a much better venue than McDonalds for bfast (but may be the only thing open on the Public Holiday).

Will keep you posted.

As a Australian Turk, I will be posting pictures of the town Gallipoli and the war zone in the " Photography " section of the forums tommorow to commemorate our grandfathers who have shed their lifes for our freedom and give some people an idea of what kind of a war this was.

"Those heroes that shed their blood and lost their lives...

you are now lying in the soil of a friendly country.

Therefore rest in peace. There is no difference between

the Johnnies and the Mehmets where they lie side by side

here in this country of ours... You, the mothers who sent

their sons from far away countries, wipe away your tears.

Your sons are now lying in our bosom, and are in peace.

Having lost their lives on this land they have become our

sons as well." - Mustafa Kemal Ataturk (Commander/President of The land of goat sphincter rings Repulic 1925)

I'll be keen to come along.

We can meet somewhere near my place, being im only 5-10mins away (windsor)

After the dawn service there will be a few places open along Chapel St if people wanted soem food.

I wont be coming to Sandown till the arvo at this stage though, but i'll come along for b'fast :thumbsup:

Thanks to the stig for this (as im a serving member with the army),i wouldrecermend tho you get in very early even camp there as there is apx 50.000 people considering the same thing. i wont be marching in the pariade this year as im up north doing some other stuff. but you will see my unit, we have emu feathers in our hats.

I'll also be paying respects at the G, but it is the Pies that will be smashing the dons!!

come on mate no disrepect to our fallen soldiers but there is gonna be a killing at there and it'll be in the magpie form :)

I'll be going to the dawn service here in my town before heading down to Sandown.

"They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old;

Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.

At the going down of the sun and in the morning

We will remember them."

Lest we forget.

http://www.awm.gov.au/commemoration/anzac/...c_tradition.htm

I'll be payin my respects at the MCG also there to watch the bombers smash the pies
Will be paying my respects at the MCG also, and i will also be there to watch the Dons smash the pies :(
come on mate no disrepect to our fallen soldiers but there is gonna be a killing at there and it'll be in the magpie form :(

lol

:(

I'll also be paying respects at the G, but it is the Pies that will be smashing the dons!!

:ninja:

ANZAC DAY IS NOT ABOUT WHO WILL WIN THE FOOTY BUT ABOUT THE MEN WHO CHARGED GALLIPOLI IN 1915 AND THE MEN TO THIS DAY WHO CARRY IT ON. :mellow:

DONT FORGET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FROM ONE CURRENT SOLDER :worship:

MODS PLEASE CLEAN UP THREAD

ANZAC DAY IS NOT ABOUT WHO WILL WIN THE FOOTY BUT ABOUT THE MEN WHO CHARGED GALLIPOLI IN 1915 AND THE MEN TO THIS DAY WHO CARRY IT ON. :)

DONT FORGET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

FROM ONE CURRENT SOLDER :mellow:

MODS PLEASE CLEAN UP THREAD

We know its not all about the footy i went to the dawn service and the football and im sure every1 did think about the soldiers we lost and remembered them for the heros they are.The game attracted 90,000 people of which im sure every1 was proud to be Australian.The footy is a side attraction on Anzac Day as im sure we all know but were still allowed to hav a little fun :worship:

• 11 months later...

Anzac Day is a time fo all of us to remember those who have given their lives in battle to keep this great country free.

It is simply a precious day. I realise that the football is a sensitive topic but as a born & bred Vic girl I feel it is an integral & historical part of the days proceedings. I do think that it perpetuates the importance of the day rather than detracts from it so please can we just respect each other today & ensure that in whichever way we choose to do it we stop & reflect.

I for one will be meeting with friends & enjoying an ale together whilst watching the game. This day is about remembrence.

Lest we forget & god bless those of our soldiers who are still serving.

ANZAC day is a very important day to everyone and that goes for rememberance day as well. i watch the march on tv every year also. its great to see all the kids showing respect and understanding what our veterans did for our country. its a great day and will last forever.

"lest we forget".