FYI

These are the latest auction prices paid for Autechs at auction in Japan.

1998 2600 F5 112kms black WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$9000 grade 3 24/4/07 About $24,000 on road

1998 2600 F5 37,0 kms black WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$13000 grade3 21/4/07 About $28,000 on road

1998 2600 F5 83 kms pearl WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$8300 3.5 19/4/07 About $21,000 on road

1998 2600 F5 105 kms blue black WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$8600 3.5 19/4/07 About $21,500 on road

So all the above cars could be complied in Aus for about $25,000 or less, it's all competition for you!!

Hope this helps.

John

So John, how do the numbers pan out for grade 4 - 4.5 under 70,000kms? Interested to see collated prices landed (I know what compliance costs) on the East coast Oz if you have it available.

Cheers :blink:

Edit: 1998

Edited by 260tech

More importantly I was never trying to compare my car to a standard one, so not sure where John was going with that. I just did the numbers on the 8.3k US vehicle based on the costs for the last car I bought in (JZX100 TRD Chaser) and it works out to be around 25kaud assuming there are no brake pads to replace.

Thanks everyone for the balanced view on the subject.

So John, how do the numbers pan out for grade 4 - 4.5 under 70,000kms? Interested to see collated prices landed (I know what compliance costs) on the East coast Oz if you have it available.

Cheers :P

Edit: 1998

This black one would have been quite outstanding, at 29,000km for a 2000 Car, no wonder it went for US$27,000, bet it didn't come to Aus though, not with our import fees.

2000 2600 F5 29,000 black WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$27000 4.5 Auction date 19.04.2007

2000 2600 F5 87 silver WGNC34 260RS US$10200 4 05.04.2007

1998 2600 F5 71 pearl WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$6000 3 30.03.2007

1998 2600 F5 141 pearl WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$5000 3.5 30.03.2007

It is VERY HARD to find a 98 that still rates grade 4 - 4.5, if you could I have no doubt it would still fetch good money.

Please remember that I have No Info on these cars other than the price paid. I haven't been watching them.

Now you all the Autechs though auction in the last month

OK approximate spend on importing............... US$8500 = A$10385

Freight & Agents fees $2000

Compliance $4000

Tyres $700

Alarm $150

Stamp duty $900

Rego etc (6 months) $500

Total $21300

Allow another 1000 for insurance & Maybe $1000 for brokers $23300

Stilll under $25,000

Cheers John

Usual FOB charge: $1100

Usual ship charge: $1400

+ Car cost.

Then add 15%

Then add 10% GST

Cleaning of vehicle, can vary greatly. Have paid $800 previously

Clearance of vehicle. Varies again. Can be $1000.00

Storage of vehicle if required (usually happens)

Movement of vehicle on docks $350

Movement of vehicle to comp. Depends.

Then we move to compliance.

This is a very dark area. For a 260 base cost is $4500 + tyres. If there are things wrong they are on top as are the brake pads (people may be wondering why i keep going about this?? They can be very expensive for factory pads on the brembos)

Then you pay stamp, rego, and insurance.

Ive been doing this for a while, this is a realistic approach, this is the reason that your 8.3kUS car ends up being a $25k+ AUD car. On top of this figure I would usually add 10% for safety prior to pricing a customer.

This is another reason to find the right car and work the budget around it, not to have a strict budget and find a car to suit it.

Once again thanks for your input.

yea man tell me about the brake pads. almost got caught with it when complying.

lucky for me they were willing to swap a gtr orginal pads at a cost to me. I agreed to give them. yea mine cost me 4.5ks with tyres. not bad.

take into consideration that mine was stock std so if its got a lot of mods be prepared to allow extra $$ in the budget.

I also agree that it is wise to keep an extra 10% in mind for other "unforseen" things, like local Japanese freight.

Most yards in Japan will hold the cars for 30 days, or even more, at no (extra) charge, and that way it should make the next ship easily.

Import duty is 10% not 15%, and this is based on the price of the car FOB. GST (10%) is based on the car + cost of freight.

The shipping of my car to compliance was $140, (return).

Full shipping cost was $1633

Full amount of compliance $4188

Full amount of import duty and misc was $5370

Anyway it is definately wise to overbudget on all of it. I was actually pleasantly surprised, that mine didn't reach $25,000 which was my budgeted amount.

As we all know it wouldn't take much to add another $1000 or so.

My car was 1,244,500 YEN FOB.

I looked at quite a few other cars, (including a few autechs) most had some sort of problem, and woudl have been more expensive in the long run. This one didn't and was graded 4B. This probably has a lot to do with not needing to spend any extra money. The car sailed through compliance.

It did need new tyres, however, hence the extra $688 on the top of the normal $3500.

It's true Autech's are in a different league, my original point was for a quick sale. Lots of poeple will take the "punt" on a $30000 import, over one that has had a rebuild. Not necessarily the wisest way to go. But I know from experience how many people will buy a cheaper car and then spend a fortune on it!!! Crazy me thinks, but it happens all the time.

So personally I think that at $45K you will be waiting a long time for your buyer. But as they say, you can always come down, very difficult to go up!!

Good luck with it, hopefully someone in WA will buy it and we can get a good look at it then!

This black one would have been quite outstanding, at 29,000km for a 2000 Car, no wonder it went for US$27,000, bet it didn't come to Aus though, not with our import fees.

2000 2600 F5 29,000 black WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$27000 4.5 Auction date 19.04.2007

2000 2600 F5 87 silver WGNC34 260RS US$10200 4 05.04.2007

1998 2600 F5 71 pearl WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$6000 3 30.03.2007

1998 2600 F5 141 pearl WGNC34 260RS AUTECH US$5000 3.5 30.03.2007

It is VERY HARD to find a 98 that still rates grade 4 - 4.5, if you could I have no doubt it would still fetch good money.

Please remember that I have No Info on these cars other than the price paid. I haven't been watching them.

Now you all the Autechs though auction in the last month

OK approximate spend on importing............... US$8500 = A$10385

Freight & Agents fees $2000

Compliance $4000

Tyres $700

Alarm $150

Stamp duty $900

Rego etc (6 months) $500

Total $21300

Allow another 1000 for insurance & Maybe $1000 for brokers $23300

Stilll under $25,000

Cheers John

Hey John, thanks for the info there on the Stagea auctions, good Autechs are still around but they ain't cheap. End of story. Off topic a bit (sorry) but something else peaked my interest, you mention alarm for $150. Is that supplied & fitted, insurer approved etc., if so who is doing that in the Perth area? I am assuming WA price because you are located in Coogee. Way of topic but a plug for the "WA Club", were you on the second Stagea cruise to Mundaring from South Street? You could have seen a white grade 4 1998 O-te-teku right there. Right now it is in issue 272 Unique Cars mag., page 145 SVI add. Me & the Grandkids went to pick it up.

Cheers GW :thumbsup:

Hey John, thanks for the info there on the Stagea auctions, good Autechs are still around but they ain't cheap. End of story. Off topic a bit (sorry) but something else peaked my interest, you mention alarm for $150. Is that supplied & fitted, insurer approved etc., if so who is doing that in the Perth area? I am assuming WA price because you are located in Coogee. Way of topic but a plug for the "WA Club", were you on the second Stagea cruise to Mundaring from South Street? You could have seen a white grade 4 1998 O-te-teku right there. Right now it is in issue 272 Unique Cars mag., page 145 SVI add. Me & the Grandkids went to pick it up.

Cheers GW :D

Hi Graham

yeah you were following me most of the way until you peeled off in Midland.

No the price of the alarm in the quoted pricing, is very general. You won't get much for $150.00!!

I think that I paid a bit over $300 for mine. But the guy did a stirling job, they are a bit of a pig to fit, cos of the central locking. He talked me into having it linked up to the alarm then wished he hadn't!! haha.

It took him about 3 hours to fit. But I thoroughly recommend him, He even did the job at very short notice.his name Darren Farquhar - 0412 224 650. Neu-Tech Auto Electrical. Now if I did loose my key i can still get into the car. I recommend this for any Stagea owner. The ignition key, is only about $25 for a spare. So now I have the original key, an alarm remote with central locking AND a spare remote and ordinary key. Cheap when you take into account that a Nissan central locking remote key is about $120.00. (my car was supposed to have a spare key..... never found it though).

See you on the next run..... next week ..... I hope.

i think anyone who has built a rb26 will understand the expenditure if u want it done correctly and with decent parts and its more than a rs four stagea i can say that much alone.

ken i think 45k is very reasonable for the mods, and how recent the motor has been built and the quality of the parts u have used.

i have gone off stageas or i would think about it for sure, i think u just need to not rush the sale, take it to some carshows/cruises etc and take people for a spin and they will be gobsmacked because 99% of regular skyline drivers think 200awkw is alot.

if u have trouble selling then rip the motor sell it seperate and replace with a stock front cut rb26 and sell it stock :D or advertise your motor on the for sale section and swap for a stock 26, and cash difference. they can test drive yours and u can do the same with the stock engine. worth a try if all else fails.

and if u other guys think 260rs rb26s are gonna be any better than gtr ones u are dreamin, once they do 100 clicks they are on the way out and only a matter of time before u spend big bucks fixing them im afraid. these random japanese auction ones mean bugger all till u do a compression test on the motor and see it in person. they all look good on paper but real inspections show the true colours of these cars history.

Ken theres only a few percentage of people who have done up there cars to the degree u have and they think 10k oh thats gonna be 450awkw, rims, brakes, etc, etc ,etc easy done. i reckon ive spent 10k minimum on parts that i wouldnt even list on a build up spec sheet and they just dont see it.

anyway mate good luck with it all, ill keep an ear out for anyone interested

Brad

Edited by overpowered
Thanks Brad. I will put it on the market in around 6 months. Then its Audi time.

Ken tell you frankly if i got $$ i would love to buy your car. Its bang for my buck i think. Good luck with it.

BTW which audi you gonna get? And why Audi?

Edited by stasis

Thanks Yudy.

I will probably pick up an A4 S-Line. 2lt turbo 4wd 6 speed manual. I drove an A6 around for week in Sydney and liked the power of, the handling and it had fantastic fuel economy. We just had the Audi roadshow up here so I took out a Q7 for the weekend. They are just great quality vehicles as a whole.

Thanks Yudy.

I will probably pick up an A4 S-Line. 2lt turbo 4wd 6 speed manual. I drove an A6 around for week in Sydney and liked the power of, the handling and it had fantastic fuel economy. We just had the Audi roadshow up here so I took out a Q7 for the weekend. They are just great quality vehicles as a whole.

get the A4 rs it had a really good review with topgear.