Question About Turbo!

this may sound like a very noob question but looking at turbo in cars eg: a 1996 R33 Series 2 M-Spec pic here seen from another thread http://img187.imageshack.us/img187/6976/rbdetfi6.jpg and a 1997 Series 2 gtst pic here http://users.bigpond.net.au/vel83/s2.jpg . Where is the turbo located in the 1997 skyline? I can see the 1996 turbo in the front but it cannot be seen in the 1997 one?

BWAHAHAHA

i've said this before and i'll say it again, anyone that doesnt know the BASICS about how/what a turbo does/is and the same for a motor go to www.howstuffworks.com and look it up. "Theres no such thing a stupid question, just stupid people"

the stock turbo is just on the left under the engine. if you look hard enough , you can see the ceramic bearings.

no offence mate but what the hell are you on?? Facing the front of the car the turbo is on the right hand side of the engine and ceramic bearings?? Show me how to look that hard that i will see ceramic bearings you've totally lost me...

The turbo is hidden by a heatshield, unless its been removed.

To see your turbo you can put your head under the car and look at it from there. Pretty easy to find, just follow your exhaust :unsure:

Edited by ProphetR33

no offence mate but what the hell are you on?? Facing the front of the car the turbo is on the right hand side of the engine and ceramic bearings?? Show me how to look that hard that i will see ceramic bearings you've totally lost me...

He is not on anything he is Superman! :sorcerer:

BWAHAHAHA

i've said this before and i'll say it again, anyone that doesnt know the BASICS about how/what a turbo does/is and the same for a motor go to www.howstuffworks.com and look it up. "Theres no such thing a stupid question, just stupid people"

ppl got to start from somewhere, if u dont ask, you dont know

im pretty sure u were a noob when u first started as well

ppl got to start from somewhere, if u dont ask, you dont know

im pretty sure u were a noob when u first started as well

theres a difference between someone that doesnt know alot about cars and asking a simple questions to someone whos strong point obviously doesnt include engines/turbos and trying to answer a question with no knowledge.

I'm all for people asking simple questions, but theres no point someone replying to a question if they dont know the basics, thats how stupidity is spread...

Buy magazines like Fast fours/HPI/Speed etc and learn, they will have heaps of stuff showing you turbo's and FMIC's etc then you will know. Don't worry about ppl dissing you, they all get/got it in the neck when they started out as well. They just forget how hard it can be. The import/turbo car is a world of difference to the domestic V8, sometimes you'd think we are talking a new language when topics with lag, spikes, boost, ebc, fmic, hks, jun, hicas, etc etc are happening. But we all look and listen.

I mean look what happened here with your question, other ppl answered [trying to be helpful] and they got it wrong as well, so your not alone. In fact I'd reckon 95% of Australia has SFA of an idea about imports so your just part of the vast majority BUT at least your willing to learn and change that.

PS Sometimes - if the question is a bit simple or embarassing - its better to PM somebody and get a private message back with an answer, that way you find out and nobody else knows you asked.

By the way, there is a really good section on the turbobygarrett web site 101, 102 and 103. They will tell you heaps about turbo's and how they work etc.

Buy magazines like Fast fours/HPI/Speed etc and learn, they will have heaps of stuff showing you turbo's and FMIC's etc then you will know. Don't worry about ppl dissing you, they all get/got it in the neck when they started out as well. They just forget how hard it can be. The import/turbo car is a world of difference to the domestic V8, sometimes you'd think we are talking a new language when topics with lag, spikes, boost, ebc, fmic, hks, jun, hicas, etc etc are happening. But we all look and listen.

I mean look what happened here with your question, other ppl answered [trying to be helpful] and they got it wrong as well, so your not alone. In fact I'd reckon 95% of Australia has SFA of an idea about imports so your just part of the vast majority BUT at least your willing to learn and change that.

PS Sometimes - if the question is a bit simple or embarassing - its better to PM somebody and get a private message back with an answer, that way you find out and nobody else knows you asked.

By the way, there is a really good section on the turbobygarrett web site 101, 102 and 103. They will tell you heaps about turbo's and how they work etc.

nice and sexy reply

but i think your carbra is sexier, i'd love one of that when i travelled interstate and cruises

chips FTL!

Stupidity spreading is true though.

When i FIRST had my car, someone popped the hood (who knew squat) and pointed to the charcoal filter thingy near the air box and went WOW! you;ve got an aftermarket BOV !

I believed him cause i thought he knew more than me, said it to another 'line owner and they sure gave me a funny look !

Hahaha at myself :domokun:

But yes you have to learn.

I've since looked up how to do an oil change and done it. (so stupid thinking back, but hey i didn't know and someone was kind enough to post a thread)

And soon afterwards was the sparkies.

and zen, installed my own FMIC, injectors, EBC, Z32 and i think these are worthy successes :)

Yeh, I can remember seeing my first ABS and thinking what a dumb place to locate the injector pump [ah la deisel].

Since then I've got a shed full of tools, spanners, welders, air compressors, and do everything I can myself - in the middle of a turbo upgrade atm, only problem is juggling life, bikes, and cars, but I'll get it finished soon now.

But like ^^^^Birnie, done heaps of my own mods and still doing them - but we all started somewhere!!!