A big thanks to the team from the WRX club for organising their inaugral DECA day. There was a few of us from the SAU contingent who entered but weren't WRX club members. Mav, Sam and myself off the top of my head and also Scott with the TME competed.

If any of the Rex guys or girls can post pics from the day it would be appreciated as they will most likely be in a members only section of the other forums. There were quite a few people taking pics so hopefully some good ones will come out of it.

Rain on the skid pan in the afternoon was a lot of fun and really tested the skills of the drivers and a small amount of free time for pairs to go out was a good touch at the end of the day.

Age, Budge and Lynn appeared to be the main ones organising so big thanks to you guys. As always, thank you to the marshalls who make the days possible especially during the torrential rain on the skid pan.

I took someone out each time and tried to ensure most marshalls got a passenger spin on the skid pan with me. Met some great new people as well so hopefully this event is the first of many for the WRX club.

:):)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/

well it was a lot of fun :) thanks wrx club

the 2 full skidpan runs were great

my highlights were making dan the marshall run away

-smokey power oversteer on the last little stint of the long wang

-360s

-rb20 not blowing up after being up high in the revs all day

not really a fan of the wet skidpan though. very patchy and frustrating

pics should be goood

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130409

Sam - A few of us were watching you and trying to decide whether it was fun or plain scary in RWD on that skid pan in the arvo. What was the verdict?

One of the funniest things, you wiping out about 3 of the central cones in a nice drift sending them flying into the other battle! Funny, funny, they took off like match sticks! :)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130420

the afternoon was frustrating for both hte battles and the free runs for i. but not scary.

battles - couldn't launch and kept f**king up and spinning

free runs - couldn't hold a decent slide at all. need teins

but i'm glad it rained so the rex guys could get sideways

how about the ~5 times a few people without ABS locked em up and got within a meter from the grass :) facing all diff ways

haha yeah i remember slapping that cone hard. it was good

here are a few of budge's pictures from the wrx forum:

mav.jpg

dan1.jpg

crash.jpg

sam.jpg

barrie.jpg

mvo.jpg

scottw.jpg

and TBOMUM's son's pics:

http://ajphotography.fotopic.net/c1282948.html

some purty reflection off the water in these

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130489

Huge thanx to the SAU boys for helping out and attending. Big shout out to the Snowman for use of his tracks and the help with the event shedule. Thanx Snowy :P

Oh and the quality of Shep rice stepped up a gear. This was in the Maccas carpark!!! (we saw 2 sets of these on the weekend!!)

ricespinnerssz6.gif

Oh and that skidpan when wet is fun....except when trying to stop.

wrxdecaday1168yh7.jpg

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130764

Firstly i have to say a HUGE thanx to Dan for letting me drive his car!!! I think we tested it out quite well and it handled it no worries at all :P

Learn t heaps about the difference an AWD makes compared to a RWD and its insane..

Thanx to the WRX club for running the event well done guys.

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130814

Firstly i have to say a HUGE thanx to Dan for letting me drive his car!!! I think we tested it out quite well and it handled it no worries at all :)

Learn t heaps about the difference an AWD makes compared to a RWD and its insane..

Thanx to the WRX club for running the event well done guys.

A couple of solid 21s Mini Wangs proves you were loving teh AWD :)

That only makes me more determined for August :D

Just glad I din't kill you on teh Long Wang :teehee:

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3132140

What happened Mav? You were telling us all Sat night that if you didnt win you would be near the top! To think i was giving you congrats on such a good result :)

hahaha yea i know... i won one event that was all that mattered.... Had to fire u up somehow about the AWD factor mate :D

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3133703

Hmm, slippery. But check out my 'late' braking....

I still can't belive i beat ya Mav.... and i had 2 DNF's on the wet skidpans :laugh::P

Yes, something doesnt quite add up. I think bribes were exchanged to place as many WRX's up the scoreboard as possible! :happy::)

https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3136550