saff_cossie Posted May 20, 2007 Share Posted May 20, 2007 A big thanks to the team from the WRX club for organising their inaugral DECA day. There was a few of us from the SAU contingent who entered but weren't WRX club members. Mav, Sam and myself off the top of my head and also Scott with the TME competed. If any of the Rex guys or girls can post pics from the day it would be appreciated as they will most likely be in a members only section of the other forums. There were quite a few people taking pics so hopefully some good ones will come out of it. Rain on the skid pan in the afternoon was a lot of fun and really tested the skills of the drivers and a small amount of free time for pairs to go out was a good touch at the end of the day. Age, Budge and Lynn appeared to be the main ones organising so big thanks to you guys. As always, thank you to the marshalls who make the days possible especially during the torrential rain on the skid pan. I took someone out each time and tried to ensure most marshalls got a passenger spin on the skid pan with me. Met some great new people as well so hopefully this event is the first of many for the WRX club. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
sammus Posted May 20, 2007 Share Posted May 20, 2007 well it was a lot of fun thanks wrx club the 2 full skidpan runs were great my highlights were making dan the marshall run away -smokey power oversteer on the last little stint of the long wang -360s -rb20 not blowing up after being up high in the revs all day not really a fan of the wet skidpan though. very patchy and frustrating pics should be goood Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130409 Share on other sites More sharing options...
saff_cossie Posted May 20, 2007 Author Share Posted May 20, 2007 Sam - A few of us were watching you and trying to decide whether it was fun or plain scary in RWD on that skid pan in the arvo. What was the verdict? One of the funniest things, you wiping out about 3 of the central cones in a nice drift sending them flying into the other battle! Funny, funny, they took off like match sticks! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130420 Share on other sites More sharing options...
sammus Posted May 20, 2007 Share Posted May 20, 2007 the afternoon was frustrating for both hte battles and the free runs for i. but not scary. battles - couldn't launch and kept f**king up and spinning free runs - couldn't hold a decent slide at all. need teins but i'm glad it rained so the rex guys could get sideways how about the ~5 times a few people without ABS locked em up and got within a meter from the grass facing all diff ways haha yeah i remember slapping that cone hard. it was good here are a few of budge's pictures from the wrx forum: and TBOMUM's son's pics: http://ajphotography.fotopic.net/c1282948.html some purty reflection off the water in these Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130489 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Budge Posted May 20, 2007 Share Posted May 20, 2007 Thanks guys, pleasure to have you along as always! Full results are here: Save As We have heaps of pics etc in the general discussion area of our forum http://www2.wrx.com.au/forum/viewforum.php?f=46 Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130553 Share on other sites More sharing options...
AGE Posted May 20, 2007 Share Posted May 20, 2007 Huge thanx to the SAU boys for helping out and attending. Big shout out to the Snowman for use of his tracks and the help with the event shedule. Thanx Snowy Oh and the quality of Shep rice stepped up a gear. This was in the Maccas carpark!!! (we saw 2 sets of these on the weekend!!) Oh and that skidpan when wet is fun....except when trying to stop. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130764 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavric Posted May 20, 2007 Share Posted May 20, 2007 Firstly i have to say a HUGE thanx to Dan for letting me drive his car!!! I think we tested it out quite well and it handled it no worries at all Learn t heaps about the difference an AWD makes compared to a RWD and its insane.. Thanx to the WRX club for running the event well done guys. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3130814 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Snowman Posted May 20, 2007 Share Posted May 20, 2007 the 2 full skidpan runs were great The 2 full skidpan events were "adapted" from the layouts used at DECA in the 2006 Dutton Rally. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3131329 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Budge Posted May 21, 2007 Share Posted May 21, 2007 Budge's DECA pics :thumbs: email michael at hunteng dot com dot au if you would like the big version. Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3131474 Share on other sites More sharing options...
saff_cossie Posted May 21, 2007 Author Share Posted May 21, 2007 Thanks Budge, some ace pics of my car in there. Good work Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3131482 Share on other sites More sharing options...
navdan Posted May 21, 2007 Share Posted May 21, 2007 Firstly i have to say a HUGE thanx to Dan for letting me drive his car!!! I think we tested it out quite well and it handled it no worries at all Learn t heaps about the difference an AWD makes compared to a RWD and its insane.. Thanx to the WRX club for running the event well done guys. A couple of solid 21s Mini Wangs proves you were loving teh AWD That only makes me more determined for August Just glad I din't kill you on teh Long Wang Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3132140 Share on other sites More sharing options...
adznight Posted May 21, 2007 Share Posted May 21, 2007 Bah cheaters! I'm coming next time so show you some RWD style! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3132717 Share on other sites More sharing options...
AGE Posted May 21, 2007 Share Posted May 21, 2007 You would have struggled Adz.... that skidpan is wayyyyyy slippery when wet! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3132907 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roy Posted May 21, 2007 Share Posted May 21, 2007 What happened Mav? You were telling us all Sat night that if you didnt win you would be near the top! To think i was giving you congrats on such a good result Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3133450 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavric Posted May 21, 2007 Share Posted May 21, 2007 What happened Mav? You were telling us all Sat night that if you didnt win you would be near the top! To think i was giving you congrats on such a good result hahaha yea i know... i won one event that was all that mattered.... Had to fire u up somehow about the AWD factor mate Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3133703 Share on other sites More sharing options...
adznight Posted May 22, 2007 Share Posted May 22, 2007 You would have struggled Adz.... that skidpan is wayyyyyy slippery when wet! Fear not my friend, experience and practice make - Skiiiidy! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3135418 Share on other sites More sharing options...
AGE Posted May 22, 2007 Share Posted May 22, 2007 Hmm, slippery. But check out my 'late' braking.... I still can't belive i beat ya Mav.... and i had 2 DNF's on the wet skidpans Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3136489 Share on other sites More sharing options...
saff_cossie Posted May 22, 2007 Author Share Posted May 22, 2007 Hmm, slippery. But check out my 'late' braking.... I still can't belive i beat ya Mav.... and i had 2 DNF's on the wet skidpans Yes, something doesnt quite add up. I think bribes were exchanged to place as many WRX's up the scoreboard as possible! Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3136550 Share on other sites More sharing options...
AGE Posted May 22, 2007 Share Posted May 22, 2007 Bribes?!!!!! Always Link to comment https://www.sau.com.au/forums/topic/169361-wrx-deca/#findComment-3136570 Share on other sites More sharing options...