im in the same boat as you. i haven't driven either of them yet tho. i love the 34, just looks so tough when you have the right kit on it, only thing holding me back tho is the interior of it, its so plain compared to the s15.

im going down to parra road this weekend to test drive them and get a trade in price on my car. i cant wait

you should stickey this thread, its the only thread on this subject that actually has some good info on both cars

• Replies 78

I'm nearly a full licensed driver and I have a budget of $28,000 to buy my next car

I sincerely hope that budget includes Full comp insurance every year.....

I drove 3 similarly priced R34s and 2 s15s back to back on the same day when i was looking for mine. I ended up with the R34, purely because of the quality of the individual car and the low KMs.

It was a tough decision:

- r34 looks tough, S15 looks sexy

- i'm positive the s15 was quicker around the streets - acceleration and handling wise.

- the r34 gearbox is tough as, compared to the (gimiky) 6 speed fragile thing in the s15

- r34 has slightly more rear passenger room

- aussie delivered s15 has cheaper insurance.

im in the same boat as you. i haven't driven either of them yet tho. i love the 34, just looks so tough when you have the right kit on it, only thing holding me back tho is the interior of it, its so plain compared to the s15.

im going down to parra road this weekend to test drive them and get a trade in price on my car. i cant wait

you should stickey this thread, its the only thread on this subject that actually has some good info on both cars

I would try and sell your car privately. I got offered a stupidly low price for my old car and ended up selling it for 5 grand more privately than they were willing to give me! Give it time and advertise it for a good price (not a silly price) and it will sell.

Actually, thats the difference between have taste and have NO taste.

R34 too boxy? R33 = big fat boat :worship:

That's just your taste, which was exactly my point. some think r34 is too boxy, some think r33 is a big fat boat some think r32 looks too old. Everybody has different taste. There are good and bad points about all models, it just depends what appeals to you.

I would try and sell your car privately. I got offered a stupidly low price for my old car and ended up selling it for 5 grand more privately than they were willing to give me! Give it time and advertise it for a good price (not a silly price) and it will sell.

I would prefer to do that, but my rego runs out at the end of june and i would rather not put any more on it. if they dont give me a fair trade in price ill be selling it privately. its a 98 model gsi integra in immaculate condition, i was thinking of putting around 12 grand on it if i was to sell it privately.

thanx for the tip tho

whats so good about the 6 speed? heard the gearbox is the shittest of the whole nissan family

they are not the strongest, but the ratio is great

perfect 3 & 4 gear, power is always there whenever you want it

you don't even have to drive the car hard to realize the embrassment of skyline's 5 speed box

exit from a 90 degree bend: 2 gear is too short, 3 gear is too tall

Hey mate.. Abit of interior work and a $10 spray can will fix up the boring interior I now ride with red and black interior and silver centre panels .. pm me if you want a pik .. ill get some :cheers:

R33 GTR's

for under 30k

see the link

http://www.prestigemotorsport.com.au/searc...e&andor=AND

my choice:

R33 GTR

R34 GTT

S15

R33 GT

May I also point you to:

Toyota Chaser

Ford XR6 Turbo might be an more family friendly car

or a WRX

My 2c

spot on. what can i say.

nothing, imo, nothing looks tougher and has the balls than a R33 GT-R. nothing.

spot on. what can i say.

nothing, imo, nothing looks tougher and has the balls than a R33 GT-R. nothing.

Yes there is apparently called R34 GT-R (IMO). The one that superseded R33 GT-R (In Nissan's Opinion). :P

I love democracy BTW :P

NISMO_Skyline_GT-R_Z-tune_2005_1.jpg

Nissan%20Nismo%20Skyline%20GT-R%20Z%20Tune%203%20-%201024x768.jpg

both are good cars....either one you go for you are bound to have fun in it. If you are keen on the r34, then test drive heaps to make sure. Same thing with the s15. In the end its what appeals to you.

If I was to choose one...hmmmm...r34. However, for the same price Id probably cheat by telling everyone I am going for the r34 and end up hookin up with an r33 gtr :P

Why didnt they just release the S15 with a 2.5L Straight 6 Turbo??

Because they built the S15 to be agile and handle.

They didn't want a crapload of engine hanging forward of the front struts, or create a bigger car to fit an engine that long without ruining the weight distribution.

Edited by scathing

You want a sports coupe, buy the Silvia. You want a grand tourer, buy the Skyline.

It boils down to your aims. If every day is race day, the Silvia's more nimble. If you want something that is comfortable to drive around on the street, sounds mean, and lets you carry more than 1 passenger without having knees pushed into your back, buy the Skyline.

Actually, thats the difference between have taste and have NO taste.

R34 too boxy? R33 = big fat boat :P

Where does the "fat boat" come from? I always read that 80kgs was the only difference between 32 and 33? And if the 34 is 50kg more than the 33.. then whos the boat? lol

Go out, drive a few examples of each car and decide from there. You cant buy a car based on what other people tell you. It has to be what YOU like in the end.

But seeing as we are here, if it was me, i couldnt bring myself to listen to that horrible 4cyl sound all day long if i had the option of getting a 34 :D :puts on flame suit: :P