I read through quite abit of the '$22 boost controller' topic, anyway I went ahead and bought one off ebay.

Unfortunetly alot of the pics in that topic no longer work due to its age, and the few that do work mostly show the stock boost solenoid (which I don't have as the previous owner I think had a bleed valve but later removed it)

Anyway I just want to confirm how it connects. I took a pic of the lines where my solenoid USED to be. I have one line that leads no where and has a screw in the end (highlighted red). From reading, it used to be connected to the solenoid yes? And is no longer needed?

Do I cut the line I highlighted green and fit one end each to the 2 joins of the turbotech? Or am I an idiot and have the wrong line completely?

lines.jpg

okay its simple.

See how you got the screw ? and it screws in ? the hose from your boost pipe goes to the one that will push air against it and the other one goes back to the wastegate actuator.

if you cant work it out PM me and give me your phone number and il call you and explain it to you

okay its simple.

See how you got the screw ? and it screws in ? the hose from your boost pipe goes to the one that will push air against it and the other one goes back to the wastegate actuator.

if you cant work it out PM me and give me your phone number and il call you and explain it to you

:worship: sorry dude but I didn't understand any of that haha.

I guess its more complicated than I assumed :banana:

I dunno, if someone would care to draw a diagram or something might help explain it better.

EDIT: Just saw your diagram.

Okay so the green line in my pic is the one from the intercooler pipe and the red one with the screw in it, i remove the screw and attach it the other bit on the turbotech?

Edited by Lachlan33

:laughing-smiley-014:

Enjoy mate.

:worship: sorry dude but I didn't understand any of that haha.

I guess its more complicated than I assumed :banana:

I dunno, if someone would care to draw a diagram or something might help explain it better.

okay

check where the red one goes.. if its on the old boost solonoid then leave it blocked.

Also dont unscrew it at all. leave it. the green one with the clamp you can see is the intercooler pipe. cut that hose and put it inbetween the one hose.

if you get what i mean.. that hose you got going to the intercooler pipe (green) should be going to the wastegate actuator. double check that first. if it is then CUT the green hose and put the turbo tech so they kinda join up again but using my diagram to make sure the right one goes to the boost pipe.

ive confused you? ok here is a better set of instructions.

Forget the red one exists. Leave it there and forget it..

Cut the green line with cutters 4 cm's down the line. Put the hose thats been cut commin from the boost pipe onto the turbotech diagram side that says "intercooler pipe" put the other hose thats been cut on the other side of the controller.

Thats it :worship:

Ok.

The red one (with the screw) im pretty sure USED to goto the boost solenoid which is gone. (Previous owner removed it)

If the green one runs from the IC pipe to the actuator, I simply cut it in half and fit the turbotech inbetween so its rejoined. Yes? Just gotta follow your diagram and make sure I attach the right ends to the turbotech. Got it. If im understanding you correctly.

EXACTLY!!

Let ne know how you go.. REMEMBER...

You turn it in to run more boost and out to run less.. you only have to turn it less then a quarter of a turn each time to get a 3 - 5 psi boost increase. its very touchy

Edited by Guilt-Toy

Okay I fitted the controller this arvo, few things:

Ive got the bolt wound out as far as it can go without falling out, yet even with like half throttle the stock guage goes PAST +7 (which is FAR more boost than I want)

Ive tripple checked that ive got it round the right way (it is)

I took it out again and played around by blowing through the end and winding the bolt to see if it was making a difference and it is. With the ball bearing and spring removed it runs stock boost no worries, spring and ball in = massive boost.

Couple questions:

1: Does it matter what way round the spring goes? like Flat end against bearing or curvy end?

2: For those who fit it, did you notice a very audible change in the noise your turbo made? Mine sounded quite different and I reached +7 so im wondering if the wastegate is opening at all or im just making infinite boost

I havent dont a full plant and held it on boost, because it goes so high I get scared and back off for fear of destroying the turbo.

Any sugestions?

i have a question that may or may not be appropriate here so don't shoot me -

if you have a controller that has the tee-piece that goes to the 'in cabin/remote' controller (the tubing supplied wasn't long enough to go in cabin that's for sure) do you connect the tube that most people block off with a screw to the 'exhaust' outlet on the boost controller?

made_guy - No idea mate

But I solved my own problem, pulled the whole thing off and refitted it. I think when I put it on I put the tube coming from the IC on then twisted the whole thing to get it in a position to fit the actuator hose, but by doing so im pretty sure i must have twisted the line from the IC without noticing meaning very little air was getting through.

Holds great now, car def has more go. Just waiting for my boost guage to find out exactly what boost im at.